Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
St. Louis, MO
Students enrolled: 150
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

12 reviews of this school


St Elizabeth Academy 5

Posted February 11, 2014
- a student
People ask what home is? SEA was it. The teachers were ready to teach and ready to help students with anything. They accommodated people with learning disabilities, or just needed a little extra time for a test or project. St. Elizabeth Academy was an amazing school. The neighborhood was contrary to what some people thought of it. This strong school lasted 130 years, and welcomed anyone, even the boys. Yes, the school needed improvement, but the school had no money to help improve because of the small total of 130 students at the beginning at the 2013 school year. Many students left to start a new school during the year. Most of the students received financial aid to help with tuition costs and a meal for lunch. The sweet nuns, whose home was taken from them after the closing, helped pay a small fraction of the real cost of 12,000$. With their help, the total was dropped to about 8,000$. It's sports program was not big like other schools, but the students had a great time. The sports were Softball, volleyball, basketball, soccer, and track. The music program thrived with excellence. With a concert band, string orchestra, full orchestra, and chorus. This is home.

St Elizabeth Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2012
- a parent
This is a fantastic school that is completely underrated by the private school community. It has excellent teachers who challenge each student to do her best. I recommend this school to any parents.


St Elizabeth Academy
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
A very caring and nuturing enviroment for young women. Class sizes are very small which provide substantial one on one time for each student.

St Elizabeth Academy 4

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
I was impressed by its diverse social-economic and racial mix. Students make a contract with their teachers. They are allowed to be part of the process. I believe this involvement encourages academic achievement.

St Elizabeth Academy 3

Posted July 28, 2009
- a student
i am a student and in my opinion the school is the best its surrounded by believers who know that if we try we can accomplish all our dreams


St Elizabeth Academy 5

Posted March 30, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a 2009 senior. This was not her 'First Choice' school. It is a blessing how things work out! The principal, faculty and coaches are committed and dedicated to development and education. My daughter has always felt that her opinion matters, the faculty listens and respects her. This has allowed her the opportunity to excel as a leader, student and athlete. Numerous staff members have gone above and beyond the call of duty to be available, assist and encourage her to be the best she can be. Last year a new guidance counselor was hired. She is exceptional! Her knowledge, wisdom, professionalism and open door policy is a huge asset to SEA. The Director of Cirriculum what a gem! She truly cares about the students. She gives 110% to help a student. They live their Statement:'Developing the Successful Woman inside each Girl.

St Elizabeth Academy
no rating

Posted February 21, 2009
- a student
I am a student at SEA and i would have to say that it is wonderful. i like it because the teacher work with you individually and they go the extra mile. Grades are not givin away they are earned. Being with all girls is not always easy but, after a while you get used to it. At school your expected to work very hard and the teachers make sure that you do so. overall i can say that i love this school and i am proud to be attending SEA.

St Elizabeth Academy 5

Posted March 11, 2008
- a parent
My daughter, a new student this year, chose this school over several others because of the diversity and low student teacher ratio. She has friends from several different countries. The STARS academic system lets her excel. There is a new science lab and workout room, both with state of the art equipment. This school has a full (award winning) ORCHESTRA and jazz band (She wanted an orchestra experience.) My huband and I like the internet communication system called 'edline'. It lets us know every grade and assignment as they are registered, the e-mails from her instructors are great. The parent association is strong. This very historic school is located in the trendy Tower Grove East Community. 2 blocks from Tower Grove Park and not far far from the Missouri Botanical Gardens. I would encourage you to put this school on your school visit list.


St Elizabeth Academy 3

Posted April 24, 2007
- a student
i go to sea and i feel as though our school is not challenging enough to the people who actually want to be challenged. in some of my classes i don't even have to bring a book most of the time because we never do anything. in other classes we always do the same thing. for other girls, this might work but i am seriously considering a transfer to another school.

St Elizabeth Academy 4

Posted May 07, 2005
- a parent
In the year we've spent at SEA, I find it to be a good school. My daughter has a learning disability that requires a few basic accomodations. She has been warmly welcomed; each teacher, the learning center director and the counselor have tried to understand and meet her accomodations. SEA is small which has its limitations when one considers all the technological buzzes and whistles avaiable for a price however, the size of the school makes it more flexible in meeting the needs of its sudents and in providing each of them with leadership, team sports and other opportunities. The Choir has improved tremendously in the last year, the orchestra and band are small but good as well. Parent involvement is what you make of it, lots of fund development opportunities. A new Principal is expected next year. Come join us in 'Developing the Sucessful Woman Inside Each Girl.'

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Elizabeth Academy
3401 Arsenal Street, St. Louis, MO  63118
(314) 771-5134
Last modified St Elizabeth Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Elizabeth Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top