Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Chapel Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 207 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in St. Louis

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $53,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 22, 2014

This school is terrible. The staff is very unfriendly, and the children are out of control. My child have been attending this school for years and it's getting worse. Parents are paying for money poor education. Your basically paying for your child's grade. I had to threaten to call the new station in order to have a parents teacher conference. I am very involved with my child's education , and paid for extra tutoring. Because I noticed struggling with school material. However, the school continued to tell me my child is doing fine. I couldn't understand how I seen the struggle but the teachers didn't. It's simple the teachers are inexperienced and do not care. They are truly there to collect a check and that's it. We will not be returning. There is definitely no staff and parents relationship.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2014

I'm looking for another school for my child. The teacher don't seem that interested in building a relationship with parents or the students. Some of the teachers are not that friendly and don't speak most of the time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2013

Stay away from this school! The teachers are only there to get a check! They are unwilling to have a relationship with parents. Most of the teachers zip through the lessons. In addition, the classrooms are overpacked and unable to be controlled by the teachers. This is a major downfall and causes issues in the learning environment. Some students have parents and or relatives that work at the school. Those students are given special treatment. The principal as well as the front office worker are extremely antisocial and unconcerned. The principle often has his young child at the school during school time. This is distracting and extremely unprofessional as the school is not a daycare. I've never experienced such an unwelcoming and unprofessional environment! One would think an exception would be made considering the fact that parents pay their hard earned money to provide the best possible education for their child. I am really disappointed at my decision to let my child attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2013

This school has a negative environment and poor nurturing aspect for any child. They aren t willing to teach children outside the norm; if a child doesn t fit the cookie cut they have no interest in discovering what teaching method works for that individual. They are more concern about getting through a subject than if a child understands the material. If a child has a learning disability or just need a little more assistance he/she will not get it at this school. In order for a child to success at this school they will need to show great potential. The teachers have NO PATIENCE WITH CHILDREN! So they encourages a parent to spend money on an inside tutor than to do their job. The teachers and especially principal has NO INTEREST in any student s progress. The teachers are very trivial and juvenile; shouldn t be allow work in the educational setting. Every child isn t a visual learning and they don t investigate a child learning abilities- visual, auditory and kinesthetic. Please remember, just because you have a degree to teach that you can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2012

My wife is an alumni of Grace and we have 2 children who have graduated and 2 still attending. Grace provides an outstanding education based on Christian love and values. The few problems we have encountered were worked out in a loving and respectful manner. I highly recommend Grace Chapel School and thank the Principal for his strong leadership and the staff for all their hard work and dedication. My 2 graduates were very well prepared for high school and the 2 still attending are being guided down that same path of success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

My Child has attended this school for a year and so far so Good, I feel the teachers do a great job. They tested my child and determine she is reading well above her grade level, she also does great in math. But I also work with my child when she comes home; I question her teachers about her progress and work on any concerns with my child, outside of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

I have to respectfully disagree with one of the other reviewers - my son went through 2nd grade at this school last year, and we got a lot of phonics-related homework. My son's reading level went up at this school, and the second grade teacher was very effective at working with my son lovingly, yet firmly, while having high expectations for his school success. I am not certain why this parent had such a different experience at this school, but I check with my son often, pay attention to his reading and skill levels frequently, and see no lack.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2011

STAY AWAY FROM THIS SCHOOL!!! My child attended here K-2. The 2nd grade teacher had no idea that the kids were not being taught phonics.? We moved away and discovered at a public school that my 3rd grader was reading at a 1st grade level. What were we paying for?? This school takes your money and just pushes your kid through. Good luck if your child attends this school. We were blessed with a move and found this early. Those who have childeren that attend here, I recomend you have your child tested by a third party!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2008

this is my sons second year and i am very pleased with the staff and students.he is learning at a higher level of learning than public schools.he will be well prepared for college and life after this experience
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

I am a former student. Throughout my 10 years of school there, I always felt at home. The teachers and students are great! The aspect that I loved the most is that each individual teacher has his/her own method of teaching and will alter that method in order to push each student to perform to his/her highest potential. It is a great school, and I would highly recommend sending your children there.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 63% 17%
White 28% 74%
Two or more races 6% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • ELEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10015 Lance Drive
St. Louis, MO 63137
Phone: (314) 867-6564

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Jerome School
St. Louis, MO




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT