Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Crosspoint Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 4 students

Our school is known for a strong college prep program and Christian Values

 

Living in Villa Ridge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $138,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

Sent our oldest there after home-schooling through grade 8. We were so taken with the school that our 2 youngest who were being home-schooled at the elementary level asked if they could also start attending there. We have been there for the past 7 years and couldn't be happier. The Christ-centered learning, small class sizes, the incredible teachers and the feeling of universal acceptance are all things that make CCS standout over other schools we considered. Also amazed that our "little" school competes well at the varsity level in numerous boys and girls sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2014

Our three children have been at Crosspoint since 2007 and we have only been pleased. The academics are challenging but the teachers are inspiring. Two of our 3 have gone on to college at Moody Bible Institute and Liberty University...the latter on a valedictorian scholarship and is maintaining the grade point average necessary to continue receiving his scholarship. When we first looked into Crosspoint I was thrilled that the school offered a class on Apologetics as well as a World Views class; 2 classes I felt were necessary before sending our teens off to college. Reading and reasoning skills are highly valued there; and I am very thankful for this. Our daughter played soccer and volleyball there and our sons play(ed) soccer and baseball. Our sons' coach is a godly man who truly cares about the young men he coaches and has challenged them on many fronts. Our sons have grown so much since beginning at CCS; we could not be more thankful for this excellent Christian school. We moved from IL and believe the Lord moved us as our children's education has always been at the top of our prayer list.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2014

I am a parent who is had both of my children attend Crosspoint Christian school for the past three years. I started one of my children in homeschool for the first year, and then felt the Lord lead us to the school. The school is been in existence for over 20 years. During my experience there, they continue to maintain Jesus Christ is the core of the educational process. They strive to walk in obedience out of love toward him. They also do an excellent job preparing our students for college. The AC T scores range far above the local averages. The teachers are very current encouraging and supportive. They see their jobs as a ministry to the students. I am blessed to have them walking alongside me in the raising of my children through their elementary years. Although the above states that there are only 93 students, there are over 120 students enrolled this year. I would strongly recommend the school to anyone who endeavors to raise their children in a Christian environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

We originally considered this school, but we felt they were very unprofessional during the admissions process. When we were in the process of moving to the area, they courted our family, and even said everything possible to attract our kids to their school. We bought a house nearby on a verbal agreement that they would accept our kids. Once we settled into our new home and arrived at the school to enroll our kids, they were then only willing to accept three of our kids, but not the other two. We had to scramble to find another school at the last minute, less than a month before school started. I'd avoid this school at all costs. The principal, and one teacher in particular, were very, very unprofessional. They certainly did not exhibit Christian behavior towards our family.


Posted May 25, 2012

We did not put our daughter in this supposedly nondenominational school because it became very clear to us during the pre-admission interview that they were most definitely committed to pushing a Reformed Baptist theology onto the students and expected the parents to get in line with their view of things or else they were not welcome. It is not that we are not Christians, it is simply that we are only interested in following after Jesus and the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints--we have no interest in conforming our beliefs to their Reformed, modern-day evangelical mind set in order to fit in at Crosspoint.


Posted April 13, 2008

This is our 3rd year at CCS and we plan on going all 12 years with our 2 girls. Crosspoint is just an extension of our home and church life as we try to raise our kids like scripture says: train up a child in the way they should go and when they are older they will not depart from it. We both have made sacrifices like driving older used cars, vacations, etc. to allow our kids to attend CCS as we feel it is important for them to be raised with Gods word in there school and life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2007

With several options available to us, we choose Crosspoint as the school for our son because of its high quality of academics and biblical training. We know the moral standards of the teachers who spend 30+ hours each week with him, and we have confidence in the example that they are for him. Crosspoint partners with us as we work to raise our son to honor God in all that we think, say, and do. Knowing he is in a place that gets this foundation and excellence in education, how can we not send him to CCS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2007

I started Crosspoint when I was in second grade, but I wasn't really involved until I was a seventh grader. In that time period I loved Crosspoint, the teachers are strong Christians who are very educated in their subjects, and because of such a small student:teacher ratio they know you by first name and are always willing to help and communicate. The extracurricular activities consist of Soccer, Basketball, Cheerleading, Volleyball, Choir, Art, and other clubs. The parent involvement is great, it is a parent run school so they do have a big responsibility. I was not the best student, but I didn't give up and go to another school where I could have high grades, because Crosspoint prepares you for college and I am realizing that now. So even though I wasn't a Honor Roll student in H.S. I don't struggle with college like others in my classes because of Crosspoint.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2007

We have been with Crosspoint Christian School for 13 years with three children attending. Both of our daughters have been offered academic scholarships to colleges of their choice, and I believe this is in large part due to the preparation and excellence in academics associated with the staff and leadership of the school. Our son has also been challenged and supported at the elementary and junior high level. For a smaller school, the music and sports programs have consistently improved in offerings over the years and plenty of extracurricular activities are available including Speech and Word Festivals, Community Outreach, Music Competitions, Quiz Bowls, etc. Parent involvement is high, and Christian principles are taught and practiced among the student body. Compared to other private schools in the area, costs are lower to provide a quality, Christian education to as many students as possible, and financial scholarships are awarded every year. Highly recommended!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

My son transferred to CCS this year. Originally he went to public school, which failed him drastically. We tried another private school in the area where his grades came up but he still lacked socially. However since his enrollment at CCS he has been more academically challenged and has managed to maintain a great grade average and has 'come out of his shell' socially. The curriculum is more advanced than his past schools, the school has social events that students are encouraged to attend and even being a new student my son felt very welcome. Being a student at CCS has been one of the best experiences he has had academically, spiritually, and socially. As a parent I have always felt welcome at school. The teachers are awesome at communicating with me about achievements and needs of my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2006

This is a spirit filled school which teaches from a Biblical world view. The soccer team won third in state championship play this season.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2006

My daughter who was 13 started attending this school two years ago. After this time period her moral and self-esteem had dropped dramatically. Grades were declining to D'S and F'S.It's true that the teacher student ratio is 10 to 1 but there certainly is a reason for that. After a year and a half I transferred her to another private school where she made honor roll and had the respect of all teachers and classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 74%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 5%
Black 1% 17%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Local Public Schools
Home school
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 25% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 60% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 15% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation University of Missouri
Greenville College
East Central College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Bob Templeton
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 4 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (636) 742-5917

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Drama club
  • Leadership
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our school is an interdenominational independent Christian school operating within the facilities of First Baptist Church Villa Ridge.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
133
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
142
Students typically come from these schools
Local Public Schools
Home school

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Missouri
Greenville College
East Central College
College preparation / awareness offered
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 25%
4 year college - 60%
Vocational - 15%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 100
Villa Ridge, MO 63089
Website: Click here
Phone: (636) 742-5380

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT