Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Stephen The Martyr School

Private | PK-8 | 861 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Omaha

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $160,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2014

This is an ok school. It's more about "show" than anything else. Don't apply for financial aid..you won't get it...the parish is money hungry and won't go out of it's way to help anyone in financial need. The current principal lacks the vision for the future and the current pastor is NOT a supporter of Catholic Education. There are many other private schools in the area that I'd encourage others to look at before this one. Parents here think they are entitled to everything as well! Not much of a community, but a hierarchy of "do it this way or else." Teachers are underpaid and not encouraged by professional development to better themselves! Too bad b/c this COULD be an outstanding school. Over the past few years, we've lost way too many good teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

St. Stephens is an excellent school with dedicated administration and teachers. Kids are challenged are learn to be responsible and self-motivated. There is a great deal of structure and clear and consistent discipline. The Home and School Association is outstanding, and helps to enhance learning with modern technology. This school offers a robotics program that is amazing! Great school. My kids love going to school at St. Stephens!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2011

St. Stephen's is a very good school. However, the "Boss" (Fr. Tiegs) unexpectedly got rid of our outstanding principal this summer. As of right now, we do not have a principal for the 2011-2012 school year, and school starts in less than a month. The new principal will have his/her hands full. We are the largest Catholic elementary school in the Omaha area. So we need to continue to be one of the best. But it is going to be a challenge with our current leadership (or lack of leadership).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2011

Although academics are very strong, the most important assett is the people. Most of what I hear from other parents is that there is a lot of homework, and too high of an expectation, both very appealing to us. On the Iowa test, 86% of students ranked above Percentile 80 natiowide. 50% ranked above percentile 90. Although part of the largest catholic parish, you still feel like part of a family.


Posted March 5, 2011

I started my children there, but it didn't take long to see that they weren't going to get the high quality education and opportunities available in the public schools here. If a child is average and not toward either end of the ability spectrum, then it's an ok school. There are parent cliques. Religion is emphasized, however, the church offers a wonderful religious ed program for the public school children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2009

My children love being at St. Stephen's. We have never once regretted the extra sacrifice the tuition is for our family. The teachers are outstanding! Our children are learning to be great students, but even more importantly, they are learning to be great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

We have been a memeber for 8 years. We love it. There is a lot of expectation for the kids which is good since they are pushed even harder. We would not have gotten the 'Blue Ribbon Award' for our school if it wasn't good!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

We have been part of the school for the past 12 years and love it. They expect a lot from the students academically. My daughter is sailing through public high school, taking AP college courses as a sophomore, because of her excellent preparation. Most people who don't like the school, have undisciplined kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2008

It is a daycare not at school. Especially at the middle school level, i would strongly discourage you to send you're child to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 70%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 16%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Omaha
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16701 S Street
Omaha, NE 68135
Phone: (402) 896-0754

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT