Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hitchcock Elementary School 5

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
I believe Hitchcock Elementary is the best in the Omaha area. The teachers are amazing. They are engaged with students and ensure that every student gets an opportunity to learn. The administration is equally amazing and manages the school very well. Parents get great communication and issues are timely addressed. And, family support of the school is superb. Hitchcock truly is an amazing community. What a jem! We are so lucky to get to send our children there each day knowing they will be safe and have an opportunity to learn from the best! Thank you Mrs. Hartz and your great team of teachers and staff for making that happen.

Hitchcock Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. Patterson has been a kindergarten teacher to both of my children. She is amazing. Her intelligence to handle the countless subjects that come up on the rug each day, her loving concern for the emotional needs of small children and her ability to communicate all that is happening in the classroom and keep the families organized is second to none. You always remember your kindergarten teacher. My children will always look back at their kindergarten days with joy because of Mrs. Patterson. She has started them on the road to loving school and learning. What an amazing gift!


Hitchcock Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Wow! The teachers are incredible. From the innovative ways they teach concepts to the caring concern they exhibit for their students. The teachers are the heart of Hitchcock!

Hitchcock Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Homework keeps parents involved with what their child is learning. Bring work home at reaffirms the material and makes it relevant outside of the classroom.

Hitchcock Elementary School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Students are required to work hard academically. Nightly homework is the norm. Although at this age, much of these lessons are still with parents more than schools.


Hitchcock Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted March 05, 2016
- a parent
Students are regularly taught to fill each other's "buckets" not dip from them. This concept is one that everyone can easily relate to and discuss.

Hitchcock Elementary School 1

Posted September 21, 2012
- a parent
My son went here for one year then I withdrew him. At first I was happy with the pre-k program until an incident occured that made me VERY UPSET. My son had a rough day one day and as punishment the faculty thought withholding snack from a 3 yr old was appropriate. I found this to be very wrong. It is wrong to withhold food from anyone let alone a 3 yr old child.

Hitchcock Elementary School 5

Posted October 17, 2007
- a parent
We moved from California, and my son has been at Hitchcock for three years. I cannot say enough about the dedicated staff and small class size. The art, music, and PE programs are also a fantastic complement to the strong core academic classes. Parent involvement is very high. As a Hitchcock alum myself, I am pleased that the school has gone from great to superlative since I attended. My hat is off!


Hitchcock Elementary School 5

Posted February 25, 2007
- a parent
My daughter has been attending hitchcock for 3 yrs and we love it all of the teachers and staff are very caring and with the low enrollment in the school the kids get more attention pe music and art program are great they always work some thing new in. the parent participation is unbelievable the school we came from was larger and we didn't know anyone , at this school it seems like everyone knows each other

Hitchcock Elementary School 5

Posted February 22, 2007
- a parent
Hitchcock has the most responsive and dedicated staff. Programs ensure academic success, but it's the dedication of the staff that sets it apart. Class sizes are small enough that all children get the attention they need. Programs are in place to challenge high ability learners as well as those who need more one on one time. Our media center is outstanding as is the specialist. 'Every child, every day' is exemplified here.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hitchcock Elementary School
5809 South 104th St, Omaha, NE  68127
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (402) 715-2255
Last modified Hitchcock Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top