Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bonanza High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 29, 2014

Bonanza actually isn't really that bad, better than some of the other schools in Clark County.


Posted November 16, 2013

Bonanza is an okay school. The Deans at Bonanza have favorites and its completely wrong. I've had constant problems with some staff grading me harder than other students because of my sexuality. The ccsd rules are hardly enforced except for dress code. The theatre program there is one of the best in ccsd. The JROTC program is just atrocious the teachers are very judgmental, the things they make us do, etc. All the English teachers I've had have been absolutely fabulous, but the math teacher have been undeniably horrible. I have learned nothing in any of the math classes I've been in that i don't already know. The teaching methods are extremely stupid and they act like we are mental and have no clue what they are talking about. The principal also has favorites and refuses to do stuff for some clubs because she is against what they do. The students are racist, homophobic, gang members, and drug abusers. I would never send my kid to Bonanza. Overall the school is terrible, with a few exceptions, I hate it here, I would rather pay for private school rather than send my kid here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2013

I am a former student. There are very few things I liked about my time at Bonanza High School. Most of the teachers were rude and didn't care about anything the kids learned or how they acted. Most classes, you would sit there and do nothing because the teacher "didn't feel like doing a big assignment that day." Also, most students were rowdy, distracting, and inappropriate. Any time you would try to go to an adult about bullying or anything like that, they would basically tell you to your face that they didn't care and they wouldn't do anything about it. Honestly, although there are a few great teachers, Bonanza just doesn't have a good learning environment.


Posted September 11, 2013

Horrible, all of my teachers are rude. They yell at me for the most minuscule of things. I cannot walk around without being confronted with something that is wrong. Everyone at this school is inconsiderate and just plain rude.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2013

If you try really really hard in your average joe classes, and are lucky to get a caring teacher, you should get a decent grade. (this excludes all you honors & A.P. ) I'm a current student here and I can honestly say academic success along with actual learning here is out of luck. It's hard to get a good teacher. Most these teachers tell you to read your textbook or red the board for information on your assignment. My fellow classmates and I simply do not learn that way. What kind of classroom atmosphere do you expect when you got 40 kids who are frustrated, confused, and uninterested in learning? These kids have the potential to be very successful, (I know, I've seen their true colors) we just need more involved teachers. Teachers and staff who care, rather than just sending detention and court dates would be a blessing for these lost kids. It's not easy being a minority teenager. (which by the way, is most this school now) I get more learning done with a fellow classmate than with the actual teacher.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 30, 2009

My daughter graduated from there and my son is a junior this year. I feel the school is a very safe place for students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2009

I attended Bonanza for 4 years, and I found that the teachers were competent and likable. I enjoyed my time there, and feel I got as much out my experience there as I put in. That's what education is about.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2009

My student is a junior this year and loves this school. BHS provides students with a variety of sport activities and clubs. This year the grading scale has changed; 70% test and 30% homework. Although tests can be made up of essays and projects it is still a big change from the previous years. GPA s won t be quite so high. Another thing is more extra credit. A bit tougher in the standards this year than in past years. The teachers are fine for the most part. They are email responsive. However, some teachers seem to want to collect a paycheck (not that it's that much) and be on their way. My daughter s counselor seems less than helpful when it comes to helping with student direction for h.s. or college classes. Sometimes people just lose their enthusiasm for their jobs I guess. At least my student is enjoying the h.s. years
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2009

BHS is a really good school. We have amazing sports programs and Bonanza also has a lot of preparation for students looking to attend college. This is my second year attending, and i love it. The location of the school isn't the best though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 10, 2009

I've had four students graduate from Bonanza, and found that the honors classes have been challenging and very effective in preparing my children for college. There is a distinct difference in the feel of the classrooms, the motivation of the students, and the degree of challenge when comparing the regular classes and the honors program. If students want to work hard and want a challenge, as well as be surrounded by other students with the same goals, that is available at Bonanza. I have two other children that will be attending Bonanza in the future, and with the new principle, I look forward to more positive experiences at the school. I am hoping for better coaching staffs in the basketball program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2009

I believe Bonanza is not challenging enough. The classes are dull and do not motivate you. There are some rude students as well and I feel frustrated that this is the only high school I am zoned for, I cant switch high schools due to transportation eligibilty.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 2, 2008

i attended this school and not only did i have a blast in class, but in the after school activites


Posted August 21, 2008

im a sophmore at this school and all i can say is its a pritty decent school. the teachers are pritty cool and things get pritty boring but what can you expect in school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 3, 2008

I am a former Bonanza teacher. I was a first year teacher when I arrived and found some of the staff to be extremely helpful. There are many teachers at Bonanza who care, many parents who are involved, and many students who want to succeed; unfortunately, the system in which Bonanza exists (CCSD) is so mismanaged that the resources and the leadership are missing. The discipline system (when I was there) was lacking -- 2 deans for 2000 students! I saw many students manipulating the discipline system and not enough decisive action by the deans, themselves. I fondly remember my fledgling teacher years at Bonanza, and am thankful for all that I learned (good and bad).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 6, 2008

Ive attended Bonanza since freshmen year. The teachers there are great. Of course, there's always going to be that teacher you can't stand, but overall there wounderful. The security at Bonanza is great. We have two real police officers, that ride around on bikes through out the school. These two police offers take the time to get to know the students that attend Bonanza. Ask who they are and I assure you, your student will know who they are. A few weeks ago our school came up with a new procedure, to lock the shcool doors. You can open the doors from the inside, but you cannot open them from the outside. They did this to keep the students safe, that way they can see who is coming into our school. If you want your student to get a safe education, this is the place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 6, 2008

im currently a junior at Bonanza high school and overall i find it to be a pretty good school. I jus moved in the area this year and although the administration is extremely strict, the students are really nice.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 20, 2008

My problem child son attended Bonanza in 2006-2007. He basically dropped-out and I was never notified that was flunking all but one class and skipping school regularly. I have no idea how people asre saying it is a 'strict school.' Getting any real information on my failing child was like pulling teeth.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I am currently a freshman at bonanza high school and so far i think this school is one of the best high schools in clark county al of my teachers are strict, but at the same time very responsible and lso care about every single one of us the students. I also think that the students that say bonanza is a bad school, are the ones that always get in trouble, when i hear that they have gotten in trouble most of the times they just say that that teacher hates them.At this moment bonanza has many sports and other programs and i would say we are very good at most of them specially our tennis team.Go bengals!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2007

Hello, I am also a former student from Bonanza HS. I spent four years at Bonanza and enjoyed every one of them. I had exceptional teachers, beyond caring coaches, and an orchestra director that I adored. I graduated in 2005, so i'm not sure of all the recent changes, but I do know that while I attended Bonanza, nothing but the best was excepted. I urge anyone who is debating on sending their teenager to Bonanza to please do so, because If they take advantages of all the opportunities that are presented to them there, they will have a great chance of becoming successful.


Posted October 29, 2007

The entire time I was there, only one teacher actually supported me, and that was Ms. Jeffery. The counselors give no positive reinforcement whatsoever. Security is a joke. I still visit now and then. Overall.. this school isn't really good for a decent education.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

491 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

492 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

490 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female66%
Male71%
Black/African American62%
Asian70%
Hispanic61%
Multiracial72%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price76%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiency24%
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students76%
Female77%
Male75%
Black/African American61%
Asian70%
Hispanic70%
Multiracial93%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)44%
Students without disabilities80%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%

Science

All Students68%
Female64%
Male72%
Black/African American57%
Asian61%
Hispanic54%
Multiracial76%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)38%
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant68%

Writing

All Students76%
Female83%
Male70%
Black/African American68%
Asian70%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch72%
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)30%
Students without disabilities81%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 40%
White 35% 37%
Black 10% 10%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4078

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6665 West Del Rey Ave
Las Vegas, NV 89146
Phone: (702) 799-4000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

New Horizons Academy
Las Vegas, NV



Summit School
Las Vegas, NV




Western High School
Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT