Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clyde C Cox Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 798 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 20, 2013

I find the Principal to be one who cares a great deal for the students. The teacher my son had was very much intristed in my sons potential growth. The school has improved and is doing a great job.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2010

Just look at the test scores, that speaks volumes! Deplorable! If you live in the area, and can afford it, don't have your child go to this school. Go private.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2008

I am a graduated student, and i am now in high school. Things might have changed, but the goal is still the same, to help children learn to learn. I visited the school over the summer, and there was the same bronze goal by the front entrance. As long as the goal is still there, the learning process with get better and better! GO CUBS!!!


Posted April 28, 2008

School staff is so rude and not friendly. My daughters teacher can't even make it to the line when schools out we have to get them from the classroom. And they never open the gates when they're suppose to. I'm SO GLAD that she is not going to that school next year!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2008

I don't like how clyde cox deals with us parents. After school, they keep the gates locked tight and herd us in like cattle at the last minute. Parking is terrible! I once called to ask if they were coming out to unlock a regular unlocked gate site and I was lied too. No one ever came and I was then late in picking up my child. (along with many other parents.) There were no apologies. When calling the office, phone manners are rushed and quick to hang up on us parents. This school refused to work with me on my childs track the year prior, even though my spouse was having a serious surgery. The person I spoke to told me that it wouldn't matter if there was a death in the family! I give 2 instead of 1 star because my child has a good teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

The school was a nice school until the new principle started and then they just went down hill from there. I am so glad that my daughter will be attending another school. I was never notified about any event especially not about ny daughter award ceremony. And for the amount of people trying to get thier students. They would only open two gates that everyone would have to go thru. And the staff is horrible and they think that they are their parent instead of you. One of the ladies was trying to interfer by not allowing me to talk to the nurse about what time my daughter needed to take her inhaler. Very unset. All this is just a taste of the mess we had to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

I think that Clyde cox staff is very friendly and loving to all there students and parents. My son had a wonderful year at Clyde cox. They respond quickly to safety issues that arise and that's a big plus in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

Not enough attention paid to the bright students. They are lost in the shuffle. Testing to locate these children needs to begin earlier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2004

I think the teachers there are great and they show that the realy care for the children. They have a real focus on learning at that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

I believe that the staff at this school is extremely kind and hard working. The staff does an excellent job maintaining a safe and wonderful enviorment for the kids.
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
25%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
29%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

112 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female67%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency63%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant68%

Reading

All Students56%
Female59%
Male53%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiency46%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Female55%
Male45%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)23%
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiency41%
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant49%

Reading

All Students48%
Female59%
Male41%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency32%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant48%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female57%
Male47%
Black/African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency22%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant52%

Reading

All Students48%
Female57%
Male39%
Black/African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant48%

Science

All Students55%
Female58%
Male52%
Black/African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch53%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiency20%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 68% 39%
Black 21% 10%
White 6% 39%
Two or more races 3% 4%
Asian 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 92%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-4997

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3855 Timberlake Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89115
Phone: (702) 799-4990

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Lois Craig Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


Lincoln Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV




Fay Herron Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT