Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Claude & Stella Parson Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Mrs. Kulin is an amazing teacher as well as all the staff at Parsons elementary. Although I was only in her classroom for brief moments it was enough to give her my upmost respect. Mrs. Prosen the principle was always always available and attended each and every function. I saw her every single day. The tears we all shared at my daughters kindergarten promotion just confirmed their love and care for all children. All of the staff at Parsons elementary truly invest in our children, parents just have to do their part
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2014

First year in Parson. My daughter is in Mrs. Kulin's class. The first year I was a little upset because of no volunteering involvement due to the teachers rules. However, I understand she might have her reasons why. I'm delighted with the education she has given my daughter. She has learned her abc's, sounds, reading and doing great in math. Plus, she is loving science and computers. Thank you Mrs. Kulin!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2013

My grandson is in Kindergarten at Parsons. My son received an email on Friday at 4:18 stating my grandson would not be able to attend school on Monday unless his shots were updated. Monday I brought his paperwork showing he was current. They would not accept the paper work. I went to the doctors office at 9:00 Monday morning and got an update and brought it to the school. They accepted the paperwork and I left,15 minutes later I received a call from my son saying I had to pick up my grandson or he would have to take off work to go get him because the school said my grandson still needed 1 shot. I returned to the school and told them I would take him to get the shot on Tuesday since there was no school on Tuesday. They said NO, he could not stay for the remaining of the day. On Tuesday I got his shot. On Wednesday I requested a meeting with the Principal to discuss her policy about the short notice. I told her his doctor was not open over the weekend. She said she doesn't know if my pediatrician is open over the weekend but I could take him to the Health Department Clinic. I was not impressed at all. I have never seen such uncaring and unprofessional behavior at a school.


Posted June 19, 2013

Parson used to be a school with high expectations both academically and behaviorally. The new principal at the school is awful! She has created a hostile environment where neither students nor teachers feel comfortable attending. About 16 teachers are leaving the school this year. Many strong, supportive parents/families are pulling their kids out and taking them other schools. It's a shame what the new principal has done to the school. I hope her reign is short!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 10, 2011

I am the parent of a Third grade student that has done nothing but struggle this year at Parson Emementary. She gets bullied and her grades are getting worse as the year goes on. I have tried talking to her Teacher and Principal and get no help. I was told to have my child focas on good things instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2011

This is a excellent scool. Mrs. Kuiper runs a tight ship but still keeps it fun. My Grandson has enjoyed attending K and first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2010

My daughter is in 1st grade and has been attending Parson since kindrgt. She loves it and she reads better than other children her age that attend different schools. The staff is always concerned and proffessional. Special kudos tp the office secrataries who go above and beyond the call of duty. Great job and thank u to the entire staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Because it is by far the best school in the area. The principal Mrs.Kipper is very strict and she runs the school like a very tight ship, and she never has problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2009

I've had two children here. Ever since Ms Kuiper (the principal) took over, there have been many subtle changes for the good of the kids. The only downside I would agree that the lady in the front office is rarely inspired to help you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

we love parson's. my 2 children go there. the teachers are very encouraging to the students and they really care. the prinicpal is great. the only problem we have ever had is the office lady has a major attitude but im sure just due to stress from everything. parson is by far better than most las vegas schools. kindergarden learns to read before first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2008

I have a Kindergartner here and I'm not happy with her achievement even though she 'meets' expectations. She is not encouraged to try and yes she does need a lot of hand holding in order to learn. I'm not happy with the overall public school system here in Las Vegas both as a parent and former student. I am finding that it is a district wide problem and no I cannot afford private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

My kids have gone to this school for a few years now and we all love it! The principal is really on top of things. The all-day kindergarten program is incredible. My son was reading half-way into the year! Very impressed with this school! Keep up the great work, Parson!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

I was at Parson for 5 years and I loved it! Now that I'm in Middle School I have a great education because of Parson. I get A's and I am in a accelerated class. It's a great educational school with awesome teachers. I met new people and made friends. Had the greatest time and those were the best 5 years of my life. Go Patriots!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 15, 2004

I have 4 children at Parson ES. The school is wonderful! Parson is a warm friendly environment where children are encouraged to learn and grow. The teachers are outstanding! Children write books, create projects and are involved in active learning. Parents are always present and the school is enriched by the collaboration between the staff and the families in the community!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

77 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
16%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female53%
Male63%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian64%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price67%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant58%

Reading

All Students45%
Female41%
Male48%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian50%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch42%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female85%
Male72%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch71%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant77%

Reading

All Students79%
Female93%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian83%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch76%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English80%
Not migrant79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students66%
Female57%
Male74%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities70%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant66%

Science

All Students53%
Female47%
Male59%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities53%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant53%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 36% 37%
Hispanic 32% 40%
Black 18% 10%
Two or more races 9% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4100 Thom Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89130
Phone: (702) 799-4530

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Addeliar Guy Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV



Eva Wolfe Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT