Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mike Ocallaghan Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 8, 2013

It's horrible! My math teacher gave me a tardy even though I was in the classroom. My other teachers like Drama, PE, English, and Science are very funny and nice. Other then that, lunch is fine but rules need to be more strict, I have seen a lot of people cuss and do stuff that are against the rules but they get away with it.


Posted August 22, 2013

I love sending my child to mike ocallaghan middle school. Last school year my son love and have the oportunity to go to a greate school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

i love this school but i think harney is a better school this schol is neat and clan
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2009

O'Callaghan is a pretty good school. Some of the teachers are pretty good, but some others aren't. The accelerated classes aren't really challenging enough. They basicly do the same exact thing as the regular classes, which I think is retarded. I mean there's no point in having an accelerated class if your going to do the same thing as the other kids. The teachers have their moody days, but who doesn't? The whole staff could be a little bit stricter about the rules though. They give us rules, but yet they don't enforce them. The school is too ovecrowded also. There's like 40+ s tudents in each class. Overall it's a pretty good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

i think this school is fine. the teachers try & i guess thats kind of fine. i really like the stuff we do at OC. And AVID is pretty good too. I think more students should join the program. The accelerated classes are definetely better than normal classes coz you can work better with students who actually do their work. Ive only been attending this school since the 2nd semester of 7th grade & am continuing in 8 right now. So far i think this school is great. But i think it could improve on some things. ;)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2008

this is an awesome school with great kids. The teachers are always willing to help if youre polite about it. except for ms.patricia taylor, she is one of the meanest, cruelest teachers in the school and will take the rug out from under your feet. she called crying to my mother , faking of course, saying that i was rude to her which i wasnt. the school is flawless except for this one incredibly rude elderly teacher. if they got rid of her itd be the best. there are tons of extracaricular activities and great excellerated programs. they have the best honor classes and teachers. overall its a great middle school. <3
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

From my experience most of the teachers are rude and unwilling to help students when needed and even go as far as to yell at the students for her for asking a question. Most of the teachers even have the 'I am better than you' syndrome. My daughter even has a teacher that openly humiliates her and makes her feel unwanted. Nevada has a 'No Child Left Behind' motto, well it doesn't mean what you think it does, it means, push them threw passing or not and then make them drop out in High School as fast as you can! O Callaghan is one of the worst schools my children have ever attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2008

Mr. Bellamy is the greatest math teacher ever. he's monotone, but has a very subtle humor, haha. he really is a great math teacher. i understand everything in his class! as for the rest of the school... most of the teachers are pretty good, though some are mean. the kids are vulgar; but there are some cool people at o'c. you don't get that much lunch time. the highest price is $2.50. in my opinion the dress code is enforced a little too much. all of my classes are doing pretty well..you also have the oppurtunity to get in accelerared classes. AVID is a good college prep program thats at oc. orchestra teacher is great! overrall i give this school above average.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 29, 2008

the teachers are very rude my son needs help and ask for help and they just wont give it to me and they said its his falt but he needs help with his work and they dont give it to them
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2007

This school is very nice, has nice staff, and there is enough time for lunch.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 18, 2006

This school is very bad they dont let the kids eat liunch and they havt to buy the lunch in a vey long line that takes about 30 mins to get thro than they have no time to eat the food they buy thats like $3.00 its just a really bad school!Thank you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2004

To me this school you have to 'fit in' to be accepted. The teachers are mean and are very disrespectful. They do not give you enough time to eat lunch. By the time you get your food, the bell rings. They don't let you take food out of the lunch room even if its closed. They don't give us enough passing time to go from one class to another.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

417 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

471 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

473 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

431 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
44%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

474 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
Female34%
Male36%
Black/African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian48%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch33%
Full price45%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities39%
Students with limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English42%
Not migrant36%

Reading

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
Black/African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch59%
Full price64%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities65%
Students with limited English proficiency31%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students44%
Female52%
Male38%
Black/African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian49%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch40%
Full price58%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant44%

Reading

All Students55%
Female63%
Male48%
Black/African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students23%
Female27%
Male19%
Black/African American13%
Asian38%
Hispanic19%
Multiracial35%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian35%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch18%
Full price35%
Students with disabilities (IEP)5%
Students without disabilities24%
Students with limited English proficiency0%
Proficient in English25%
Not migrant23%

Reading

All Students41%
Female53%
Male29%
Black/African American21%
Asian62%
Hispanic37%
Multiracial75%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian54%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch36%
Full price56%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities45%
Students with limited English proficiency7%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant41%

Science

All Students52%
Female55%
Male50%
Black/African American44%
Asian81%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial75%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch48%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English57%
Not migrant52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 66% 40%
White 17% 37%
Black 8% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 4% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 80%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-8870

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1450 Radwick Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89110
Phone: (702) 799-7340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT