Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Palo Verde High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2803 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2010

I went to palo verde when the school was still in barracks on bonanza high school...I really miss this school and it's teachers. They were amazing when i went there and still speak to most of my friends and some of the staff from there. If I moved back to Vegas I wouldn't hesitate to send my own children there.


Posted August 23, 2010

This school was absolutely horrible. The teachers hardly care and the students don't put any effort into their work. The student body? Over-privileged rich snots who are above everyone else. The academics also lack. You get crossword puzzles and you get to color things in a math class. Fantastic. I'm glad I only had to go through one year at Palo Verde. God help those who go to this school.


Posted March 25, 2010

Palo is an excellent high school that produces outstanding citizens.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 15, 2010

I am currently a Senior (early graduate) at Palo. As a member of a clique prone to hating an environment such as Palo, I have no complaints whatsoever. I think parents reviewing badly on here are just looking for someone to blame, when it is their child's fault, I mean, just look at the spelling on some of these. My education has been wonderful, my teachers very helpful and appreciative of their jobs, and the counselors and programs have helped me so very much in advancing to college. Overcrowding may look like a problem to parents, but honestly, it makes no difference. If it wasn't a good school, it wouldn't have so many students enrolled each year, and wouldn't be overcrowded. Stay classy, Palo.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2010

Its a good school if you want to attend. I'm a sophomore right now and everything is going well. Since last year that I've been attending to this school, the teachers and counselors that I've talked to are nice and helpful on what ever you need. So if you want to attend this school I'll say go for it, it is a good school that has people that will support you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2010

Palo Verde is a wonderful school. My child graduated from there in 2009. It was a wonderful experience for him. My wife and I never had any problems contacting teachers or administration about a concern we had. Our son is doing well in college and Palo Verde had a hand in that. I would recommed Palo Verde.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

I hate this school. My childs Test scores are horrible, there are more inccedents at this school then ive ever seen out of all the schools ive sent my child to. Her grades are low and the teachers dont pay attention to her. The disopline is very unorganized, she is not doing well at this school. The population is huge yes.. And it doesnt matter right? as long as your child is getting good grades? no.. I dissaprove of this school and do not recommend it for any one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

I dont care what anyone says, Dan Phillips is the best principal in the district. He is a fun, caring, but also very proffeshional. He works with the students and helps them grow into fine, young, adults. At the same time, he isn't afraid to lay down the law. With a previos and brief boxing career, he will not hesitate to protect any of Palo's students. Palo Verde is lucky to be graced with his presence. All of my friends wish they had as good of a principal as Mr. Phillips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

My daughter is a freshmen this year..I love Summerlin and my neighborhood and the schools, but overcrowded and not a strong parent support
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2008

Ok let's break this down, 1) The lack of orchestra is due to lack of interest from the student body 2) The lack of closed campus is due to mostly seniors who leave and there is no impact seen from others leaving 3) The 'overcrowded' is not the school's fault and even then the school does a great job of handling the problem 4) For the motivation factor, how about having some parental motivation? The school isn't 100% at fault if the kid drops out, somewhere along the lines its the parents fault as well. 5) The AP staff at PV is absolutely amazing especially Social Studies.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2008

This school is horrible. The majority of the teachers use profanity regularly, it is NOT a closed campus although, on paper, it is. They have a school-sanctioned match-making service (I-Flirt fundraiser), school assemblies sponsored by Monster Energy drinks which are given out to students (against CCSD nutrition guidelines), Rap music radio stations for entertainment at lunch time. I could go on and on. What a disservice to our students and community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

My daughter has been attending Palo for nearly 2 years and she loves it and all her teachers are very supportive. Thanks to the staff for doing a great job under the stress of over crowding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

My child has attended Palo Verde going on four years now. Ever since Paul Oisboid left, the school has gone down the drain. Dan Phillips does not care about any of the fine arts programs and all about sports. He shows favoritism in many of the other programs and is not a good adminstrator at all. I would not recommend sending anyone to this school at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

My daughter goes to Palo Verde HS, and although the financial resources are in plenty, there is no recognition for her academic talents. She actually has about a 4.4 GPA right now, but there has been no 'Congratulations' from anyone at the school. There are 10 portable classrooms, and the school has about a thousand more students than it was built for. There is zero parent involvement in clubs or anything else. I have tried to involve myself, but nobody wanted me to get involved, so I just gave up after a while.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2006

My son has been attending Palo for a year and a half and I am extremely pleased with the education he is getting. All of his teachers are exceptional and caring about their students, as is the counseling staff. The Honors and AP programs have been challenging for him. The JROTC program is top notch. The sports program is impressive. I have nothing but good things to say about Palo Verde HS, and being in the military, we have moved many times and have been to many different schools. We will be transfering soon, and my son really doesn't want to leave. Great School!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2006

As the parent of a gifted and talented student who attended Palo Verde for nearly 4 years and dropped out with 4 months left to go, I can't express my frustration strongly enough. I met with his teachers every year to ask for help, and each year I was told the same thing...'we have too many students to give any one student individual attention'. The school is overcrowded, the teachers overwhelmed, and the students uninspired. If you have an exceptionally motivated and self reliant child, they may survive in Clark County schools. Otherwise, get them out of this town before it's too late. My son is attending community college and planning to transfer to a 4 year college, but his education in Las Vegas did nothing to move him forward in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My experience has been a very negative one with Palo. My daughter was a freshman last year. Her middle school had a fabulous concert orchestra, Palo had no such thing. Teachers/Administrators do not supervise well at all. On numerous trips to the school, I witnessed children leaving campus and not even being questioned. When I approached someone in the office about it, she said that there were just to many kids to watch them all. To me, that is unacceptable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2005

Palo Verde is an excellent school. I've met many of the staff members as well as the principal and I find all of them to be stellar. Sports programs are well run as well as the classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2005

I am a parent of two Palo Verde students. I am very happy with the school, especially the band program. It ranks top in the state. I like the block schedule, but would appreciate a bit more flexibility in choosing classes. (drop the rotation classes, they are typically not strong classes and the time could be better used)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2003

Palo Verde is a beautiful campus in a lovely area of Las Vegas, right up against the Red Rock mountains in Summerlin. The extracurricular activities are good, from the arts to athletics. I have some concerns however. Bussing in students from accross the valley is wrong and has created animosity on campus. The transfered students not only do not wish to be here but the neighborhood students do not want them here. I believe this has created an almost hostile environment that is not condusive to a good experience for my son. We have pulled my son out and he is now in a private charter school. Palo Verde has great potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

617 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

616 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

612 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

615 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female88%
Male87%
Black/African American74%
Asian95%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)47%
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students88%
Female90%
Male86%
Black/African American74%
Asian89%
Hispanic80%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian92%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch80%
Full price90%
Students with disabilities (IEP)39%
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant88%

Science

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Black/African American77%
Asian91%
Hispanic83%
Multiracial92%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch85%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)50%
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant89%

Writing

All Students90%
Female94%
Male86%
Black/African American83%
Asian88%
Hispanic84%
Multiracial91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian93%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch81%
Full price92%
Students with disabilities (IEP)48%
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English92%
Not migrant90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 39%
Hispanic 18% 39%
Black 11% 10%
Asian 8% 6%
Two or more races 7% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-1455

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 South Pavilion Center Dr
Las Vegas, NV 89144
Phone: (702) 799-1450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Meadows School
Las Vegas, NV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT