Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Charles Silvestri Junior High School

Public | 6-8 | 1533 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 24, 2013

Moving from TN. I was concered about the school my daughter would be going to.Charles Silvestri has made this transaction much easier than expected. My child has excellerated in her classesand her teachers are amazing. Good teachers and caring teachers have mafe all the difference in the world. Thank you Silvestri teachers. Silvestri is definitely a 5 star school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

I'm a parent of 2 boys Silvestri. The teachers and staff care about the and their families. I'm very with school seeing as through Vegas has a bad reputation of schools caring about students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

I have been in this school 6th, 7th and 8th grade. This school is a good but not the best. I'am an njhs (National Junior Honor Society) member and it has very talented students. The teachers were amazing but their were some teachers that weren't so great. The orchestra and band teachers were excellent! Also many others teachers. This school helped me progress as well as others. This school has a lot of negative kids and that is expected anywhere you go there will be people that don't try there best and don't really care. I use to be the one that didn't care and now I'am an A and B student. If your looking for good teachers that stay after school to help you and pretty good kids this is a good school. It may not be the best but it has what you need. Hope this helped you!


Posted November 15, 2012

Dean has been the worst school district I've had my children attend very rude when trying to discuss a simple matter with me and continued talking over me and would not let me finish my sentences. I was not trying to argue but he turned everything into an arguement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2012

This is the first year my kid is attending this school and so far he hates it. I don't blame him for this. Some of the policies they try to implement are just absurd. One of the policies i'm talking about is the tardy policy. Please let the parents do the life teaching and YOU concentrate on teaching the school subjects. Your views on how kids should act on society are not 100% of what it should be. THAT'S your OPINION!!! I am all for education and boy do we need it here in Nevada. Instead of concentrating on made up policies please concentrate on educating and the parenting to who it should be (the parents). So far its just been a quarter of the school year and i will post as the year goes bye. I like to give second chances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

Some of the WORST behavior I have EVER seen! The children pass through my neighborhood vandalizing property and using language that used to be limited to adults...or sailors, I should say. Even after having contacted the school repeatedly, there has been no resolution to my complaints! I would NEVER send my children here, and discourage any prospective parents against it!


Posted September 8, 2011

l love it 6th grade!!!! made alot of friends on top of my others. Great school


Posted September 8, 2011

Should be 0 stars, the staff seems too busy working an fixing computers to care about quality education. They seems obsessed with technology and emails. They seem to want technology to teach kids and not teachers, no wonder the local news agencies report layoffs in the district while they are spending a million on Ipads.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

I find it absolutely ridiculous THAT THIS SCHOOL HAS NO 8TH GRADE PROMOTION CEREMONY. NO CERTIFICATE CEREMONY FOR ALL 8TH GRADERS MOVING UP! iF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS BEFORE MY SON CAME HERE, I WOULD OF SENT HIM ELSWHERE! THE OFFICE LADY TELLS ME NO MIDDLE SCHOOL HAS ONE, THAT IS BS, i ALREADY FOUND 3 MIDDLE SCHOOLS IN LAS VEGAS/HENDERSON THAT WILL BE HAVING ONE NEXT WEEK! AHE TELLS ME THATS WHY THEY HAD A 8TH GRADE DANCE(WHICH COST THE KIDS $15). PLEASE THIS IS A TOTAL INSULT TO THESE KIDS THAT WORK THEIR BUTS OFF. .OH THEIR HAVING AN AWARD CEREMONY ONLY FOR STRAIGHT A KIDS.. COME ON MY SON HAS 2 A'S AND 4 B'S. YOUR TELLING ME HE DOESN'T DESERVE QN CERTIFICATE FOR HIS WOR! THIS IS JUST SO UPSETTING!! eNEN MY 5TH GRADER IS HAVING A MOVING UP CEREMONY... BUT NOT MY 8TH GRADER, WHICH IS GOING TO hIGH SCHOOL!!! wooow!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2011

this school is great. some people are rude. but other wise its fine i just want to go back now im a some ugly ghetto middle school called nicolet in california i really want to spent the last of my 8th grade back at silvestri before i go to high school sometimes i wish to my self i wish i could get held back... to stay at that school lol but its a really nice school compareing to this others school u can have your PHONES, at lunch but if u go back their near the end it would be weird yeah or no hellpp me plzz.


Posted December 1, 2009

This school is awesome and is a great place to get your education..
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2009

I went to this school in 6th grade and then i moved to carson city and all the time i miss it and keep asking if i can move back there with my dad. Its a great school and i love it! and i might go back for 8th grade! i love it there!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

This school is not what i would suggest for you kid . I've been going to this school and i dred going . The only reason i go is because of the other students . The deans are very strict . To the point of hugging another student is detention . The teachers there don't understnad we have other classes and other homework they assign us packets at some points are due the next day . Like in science 5 page packet due tomarrow . People that go to this school refer to it as 'ghetto' . That's all i had to say .
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2008

Silvestri is an okay school. It is safe, but there are very mean kids that go there. You get threatened for no reason, but usually nothing happens. The rules arent that great, you arent even allowed to hug people. Overall its an okay school. I'm in 8th grade, and ive been attending since 6th
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 6, 2008

I pick a average score for silvestri midde school because all what we expect their is in their like lockers , good teachers, neat school and its safe!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

Silvestri is such an excellent school! You'll always have fun while learning at the same time! The teachers and staff are always there to help. They're so easy to get along with, that a lot of students end up being friends with them. Silvestri is a very active school that always makes sure a student is able to succeed. The school offers programs like tutoring, music, art, sports, and etc. After attending there for 3 years, it has been the best years in my life (so far).
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 28, 2008

After finishing 6th grade in all accelerated classes, my daughter has been encouraged to excel, making straight a honor role for the first time! Like any school, more sport team activities (i.e., volleyball) woud be appreaciated. Scholatically, Silvestri is meeting my daughter's needs, and the teachers rate between acceptable to excellent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2008

Substandard level of academics. Does not challenge my child. Teachers don't give homework
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2008

Being that this is a huge county with many schools,I find that this school is wonderful.Its not always about size,but the quality of its staff,and this school has a caring,dedicated staff,and it shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

574 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

500 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

525 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

474 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
Black/African American54%
Asian77%
Hispanic52%
Multiracial49%
Pacific Islander70%
White/Caucasian54%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price68%
Students with disabilities (IEP)11%
Students without disabilities62%
Students with limited English proficiency22%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant57%

Reading

All Students73%
Female79%
Male67%
Black/African American67%
Asian84%
Hispanic67%
Multiracial73%
Pacific Islander74%
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch68%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiency33%
Proficient in English76%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female66%
Male61%
Black/African American49%
Asian74%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial63%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander35%
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch57%
Full price70%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiency28%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant63%

Reading

All Students68%
Female75%
Male62%
Black/African American56%
Asian66%
Hispanic63%
Multiracial67%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander45%
White/Caucasian80%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price74%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiency17%
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female51%
Male50%
Black/African American30%
Asian77%
Hispanic30%
Multiracial58%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander38%
White/Caucasian58%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch41%
Full price59%
Students with disabilities (IEP)12%
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiency12%
Proficient in English52%
Not migrant51%

Reading

All Students55%
Female61%
Male51%
Black/African American43%
Asian72%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial71%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander38%
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch47%
Full price63%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities60%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant55%

Science

All Students60%
Female57%
Male62%
Black/African American38%
Asian78%
Hispanic40%
Multiracial69%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islander54%
White/Caucasian69%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch49%
Full price69%
Students with disabilities (IEP)20%
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 37% 39%
Hispanic 27% 39%
Asian 13% 6%
Two or more races 9% 4%
Black 8% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 41%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Industrial shop

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (702) 799-2247

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1055 Silverado Ranch Blvd
Las Vegas, NV 89123
Phone: (702) 799-2240

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT