Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Chapel Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 583 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 21, 2014

My daughter has been in this school from Kindergarten to 3rd grade. This year they hired a new 3rd grade teacher who is probably the worse teacher in this school. Students are tranferring to the other section to avoid this teacher, sadly we were to late to transfer my daughter to the other section. It has gotten so bad that my daughter wishes to transfer to another school. They have a lot of favoratism in this school and it shows. The tuition keeps on increasing even when they say they will not raise if we participate in the fundraising. I am now looking to transfer my daughter to another school. I am very disappointed at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2013

Great School!! Nice Staff & environment, trust in Lord!! May God Bless you & your ministry!


Posted May 21, 2013

When you take the title of "Christian educator," you are under more scrutiny than most teachers because you are under the laws of God as well. When you ignore the love for Christ with your own methods of teaching, there is something missing in that equation. You have received a title in vain. Taking the title of Christian, means understanding the love for Christ and following in our daily walk what we read, by applying it to teaching. Students learn by watching their leaders, and when they see inconsistencies, students begin to doubt what they see, what they hear and what they think. Great leaders need to walk the walk, before they teach their students; character building begins with teachers first before they begin on their students. "But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind," James 1:6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2013

I need to mention that also a lot of favoritism among the staff of the school. If your child is not talented or athletic, no problem...anyone can be part of the team or play as long as your parent volunteers and does not complaint about anything. You need to pretend everything is fine and dandy, and you will have your child participate in a sport or be part of a performance. You have children who are talented in a sport, but do not see them participate in games, but sitting on the sideline because the children who are favored are normally the ones who will be performing, praying in class, receiving the awards, etc. etc. Everything here is one sided and no change is a dictatorship on the part of its superintendent. The superintendent is the one who dictates everything to the point that he will participate in the plays of the school, and other school performances.The ambiance of the school staff is artificial and not authentic; artificial smiles, and pretending that a Christ like philosophy is being followed. Not true at all; you teach about God, you also walk the same way without taking sides with students...everyone is treated the same...consistency and no favoritism.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2013

This school does not follow what they teach. The teachers are one sided and have their favorites and the principal and superintendent believe they are above the law. My children are high school students and behind in every subject. This is because they do not hire qualified teachers and they make them teach subjects they no nothing about all due to budget cuts. Yes the school is cheaper then other schools but they will get you every week with a fundraiser, additional sport fees etc. Don't send your child here if you want them to learn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

We love Calvary! Pastor Derek is a wonderful pastor who cares about his church and the school, even when his children did not attend at the time. Each family makes their own personal choice and they chose to homeschool during the early years. Just updating information for people interested :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2010

This school is so involved in the development of the whole child. Many families receive scholarships so their students can attend. Only a few parents are involved in the school leaving most of the work up to the school staff. The staff at this school works long hours and really care about our kids. No school is perfect. I read some of the comments probably written by disengaged parents and students. The students and parents who are involved and really care about the school love it. I am so glad my children go to school here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

My family moved to Las Vegas a year ago. We put our kids in one of the best public schools (rated 9/10) in the area. It was a nightmare. Praise God we found Calvary Chapel. My kids are enjoying school and life again. It is a true christian family atmosphere. There is huge parent involovement and feeling of community at the school. My kids are amazed how NICE everyone is. The teachers are SO loving to the students and their love for God shows.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2010

I am a former student who went to the school from the 6th grade to the begining of high school. Calvary is a great school for grammer school and middle school levels. However for high school this school may not be a very good school, I left and acceled in athletics that Calvary did not offer such as wrestling and a great football program, not to mention my school had a great academics record. Depending on the zoning you're in Calvary may be a better alternative school for your kids. If you care for your kids, do the research on the schools in your area. If you live in a not so great area, I would definately recomend Calvary.


Posted August 20, 2009

As you can see from the other reviews, this used to be one of the best schools in Las Vegas. The school is now run by a new administration (almost 2 years). Fewer college prep classes are offered and parents are charged extra money for everything, including each minute high school students are on campus after school. Our child was there for almost 10 years but the change to a more secular, showy atmosphere was so unacceptable to us, we reluctantly found a different Christian school. The church also has a new Pastor, Derek Neider, and his school age children do not attend the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2009

As a mother of four children, I can tell the difference in the quality of education my children have received. Two of my children went to public school and two went to Calvary. If I had to do it all over again all of my children would have been educated at Calvary. This school has not raised tuition in three years because they understand the economc impact facing its families. The staff works hard to make improvements based on feedback from the families here. I have never seen such dedication from a group of people. The people who are complaining are not involved and uninformed which is probably why they didn't leave their names. That behavior is what gives Christians a bad name. The school's test scores improve over all every year and if you don't believe me just ask to see them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

this is the best school because there is like no bullies and it teaches are children about the 1 the only lord god jesus chirst
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 23, 2008

No security, no discipline, below grade level academics. This school offers nothing but a low price which ultimately matches their level of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2008

This is the worst school experience I have ever had. Horrible students, horrible staff, the whole school is an absolute joke. Please, never send your child here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2007

i used to go to calvary and i thought it was the worst school ever and now that i moved to a new school and compared the two,i wish i never have moved schools.the school that i'm going to right now students have to worry about bullying and stuff like that calvary has a safe enviroment and it's like family there. i reallly want to go back
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 5, 2007

Calvary Chapel is an outstanding mix of a challenging curriculem with well-qualified teachers and in a Christian environment. No need to worry about bullying. Only making great friends and learning. Accomplishments are rewarded so the children strive to get straight A's and read to their point level. It is a perfect environement to learn in. Calvary is like a large family with a highly qualified staff willing to address any and all concerns promptly. They help the kids to spread their wings and tackle their work on their own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

I'm a recent graduate from Calvary Chapel. I've been there since day one (1994) when the school started. So I've been there for a loooong time! I am completely amazed at how much the school has grown. Not only numerically but also in the quality of instruction. Calvary has got one of the best elementary schools in the Las Vegas valley (ask ACSI). I'll admit, the junior high and high school were lagging for a while, but have recently improved immensely in the quality of intruction. They've become much better in preparing students for their future at a college/university setting or wherever else life may lead that student. Christ is still the core of the cirriculum. Calavry is moving along great for a young school and I look forward to seeing how it grows! I can honestly say that I'm proud to be an alum of Calvary Chapel Christian School
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 22, 2007

This is the absolute worst Christian school in Las Vegas. They have only 2-3 good teachers this year that are now leaving the school, because of the money issue. Calvary is the cheapest school in Las Vegas, even though the tuition is cheap they try to get it back by fundraisers, donations to 'help the school', well I have seen donations come in, but I don't know where they are going from there. The new high school they are building was suppose to be done 4-7 months ago, but suddenly there wasn't enough money after there was suppose to be enough. It shows no values of a Christian school, in fact its just a private school that HAS to teach about God. My child is very unsatisfied with every thing there. The education is horrible, they are a year behind almost every other school. Please don't send your children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 30, 2006

This is one of the newer schools and not many students go there. If you wish for your child to know what the outside world is like you should not attend them to this school. There are about 2 great teachers that teach there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2006

Outstanding, highly recommended, but don't apply unless your child is already an exemplary student. Admissions is quite timid, faithless as to the miraculous transformative power of Biblical curriculum and Christian fellowship. But if you are looking for a school where you can insulate your child from their troubled or impoverished peers, this school is a good refuge. Very nice people, committed to your child's educational success and spiritual well-being, if he can get in.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 46%
Asian 10% N/A
Hispanic 9% 34%
Black 5% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 4%
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7175 W Oquendo Rd
Las Vegas, NV 89113
Phone: (702) 248-8879

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Durango High School
Las Vegas, NV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT