Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Las Vegas, NV
Students enrolled: 862
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J Harold Brinley Middle School 2

Posted April 30, 2013
- a parent
My son went to this school back in 2007-2008. There were shootings and kids bringing guns to school, luckily we moved after only being in the area for a year. Why am I writing a review now 5 years later?! Because my son was giving a grade he didn't deserve and ALMOST had to take a class over again. It was his computer class. The teacher gave him a NP. Well we didn't know that was on his report card until he got in the 11th grade and my husband and I knew we wouldn't have missed that so we fought it and you know what happen?! The school was wrong. The principal said the teacher must have accidently bubbled in the wrong thing. I was completely floored. But I am writing because if this happen to my son I know it has happen to someone else and I am hoping by me writing about it someone can see that if you fight the school on it you will get change! He now has a pass in his computer class and doesn't have to take it over again!

J Harold Brinley Middle School 4

Posted March 21, 2013
- a community member
brinley is an amazing school with amazing students. at that school you have ever race you can think of we are so diverse. i love the teachers and the new princpal. sure we have fight and arguments but so does every other school. yes we do have some kids that dont care and or ghetto but there is only a few of those type of kids.we have a lot of school pride we have amazing staff. we also have many clubs and sports team


J Harold Brinley Middle School 4

Posted November 19, 2012
- a community member
i was a student at birnley but i transfrerred. i was in 6th grade and even thought the school has a bad review it has good people some of the teachers were to blame , but most of the students were the best. so now i say that im a proud brinley bruin at heart

J Harold Brinley Middle School 4

Posted September 02, 2011
- a community member
I go to this school now in eighth and this skoo tight it at even fights I broke up one Taday aha but this skoo a good skoo and the teachers listen but the bball team srry but Imma b on it so it's all good but f u go ta this skoo u gotta say swag and Gucci lol Nhaw Jp but but it's

J Harold Brinley Middle School 3

Posted January 25, 2011
- a community member
this can be a good school but it has so many student who don't care . don't blame the staff they tried but the kids are very disrespectful i am an A B student and try my best but others in that school just don't care. i am deferent and so are some other students . i wouldn't go to any other school because the teachers helped me so much . i din't care about school till i went to brinley and i am proud to say i'm a bruin .


J Harold Brinley Middle School 1

Posted September 24, 2010
- a community member
Previous Parent here. With brinley's revolving door of principals and teachers that refuse to e-mail to help working parents stay informed and the complete lax security this school is unsafe and should be taken over for the sake of the children. After my son attended I refused to let anymore of my children experience this and moved out of state to give my children a chance. If you can don't let your kids attend there is only a handful of good teachers and I feel for them

J Harold Brinley Middle School 4

Posted January 31, 2010
- a student
This is a great school. I went here for 6th grade but my mom transfered me out. She thought that the fights outside of the school were because of the students but some of those were highschoolers. This is one my favorite schools and it has great people! The teachers I had were my favorites.

J Harold Brinley Middle School 3

Posted September 20, 2009
- a student
I am currently an 8th grade student at brinley middle school. If you read alot of these other messages on this wedsite they talk very negitive about our school. Brinley is not a bad school at all. Yes it has had its bad years but that was in the past. There are inly a hand full of kids who just simply dont care... All of the other ones have moved on to hhigh school. It is not our fault that the subsitutes that come here read about our past behaivor and judge the students who go there now. There are only a few students who are rebelus now. It erks me how people just focus on the past and just because we have had a bad past that it falls back on the kids now. Elisha


J Harold Brinley Middle School 3

Posted August 28, 2009
- a parent
There are alot of kids at this school who just don't care. But blame that on their parents, not on the school! It's a good school with lot's of activities. They have accelerated English, Math, Reading, and Science as well as pre-algebra for 7th grade.

J Harold Brinley Middle School 1

Posted October 17, 2008
- a teacher
I was a long-term subsititute at this school. I have never had such a group of disrespectful students and lack of administrative support, and I even subbed at juvenile hall, which was sadly much better than Brinley. The Principal 'Ms. Gibson' never left her office, even after I sent her multiple e-mails asking her to please come to my classroom and back me up with discipline she never came. The kids ran the class, and there was nothing I could do about it. I had a 6th grade student tell me to 'f*ck off,' and he was back from the office in 10 minutes. What a horrible horrible horrible school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J Harold Brinley Middle School
2480 Maverick St, Las Vegas, NV  89108
(702) 799-4550
Last modified J Harold Brinley Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J Harold Brinley Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top