Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lewis E Rowe Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 14, 2014

All my children has gone to this school. Now only 2 of them go. The oldest one is about to go to 5th grade, all of her teachers except her 1st grade teachers treated her right and fair. Yet all those reviews arent true! I was reading all those reviews until I got to this one which said 'The teachers only cared about how good looking the class or students looked' but it wasnt true. I asked my daughter how was her school and she said that they started a be kind thing for teachers and students. If they be caught they would be called up to the office to get their prize! Im not sure if those reviews are even from actual parents or teachers, because all of the facts in the reviews arent true. Im starting to think those reviews are from a different school trying to get more students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2014

Awful administration cares more about looking good and placating parents than education or safety. Entire staff left last year, Principal hired staff of newbies she could bully. Staff is forced to use programs that don't work, then bullied and threatened when test scores don't go up. No tech person, teachers told to set up all technology on their own time with no training. No librarian. No counselor. Teachers told to deal with violent students with no help except for shuffling student from class to class. Scary place.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 23, 2013

My child went to this school for half of kindergarten up untill the fourth grade. This school was good until the third grade when his teacher was instructed by the principal to write all the tests and grades were to be given strictly towered test scores. My third grader then began to get D's and F's in all subjects. Despite his teachers being amazing my child fell behind, not to mention other children with straight A's. In fourth grade I had to file a section 504 to help him catch up. He was also bullied by a teacher for two years there. I addressed this with the vise and principal, they did nothing and I ended up having to confront this teacher myself. Now I am homeschooling my child because he is not ready for 5th grade much less 4th. This is the principals fault who is rude, has no interpersonal skills and a bit of a control issue. Thank you Lewis E Rowe. I miss all the good teachers who have left due to these many problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2013

I loved this school with all my heart i am a middle school student who went to Lewis E. Rowe from kindergarten to 5th grade. I loved the teachers and i sometimes go after school to visit and see how it is going. I had staight A's through my life so far and Rowe has helped me learn so much. I was in the T.A.G.S. program which stands for Talented And Gifted Students and that helped me show how smart i can be T.A.G.S. is a great way to learn extra and study for the next grade and so forth. because of Rowe I now take advanced classes for almost anything and is going to take honors classes in high school. Thank you for listening


Posted June 19, 2013

Bad school the told me 2 days before school year end that they were going to retain my kindergarten Daughter I'm trying to get help if there someting I cand do.,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2013

I was surprised to see so many good reviews at first, but then it made sense when I noticed that the last time anyone posted one was 2010. This was a great school a few years ago whe it was a positive caring environment. This is no longer a people-friendly school. The only thing that is important is test data. It is a poor learning environment for students as well as a poor working environment for the staff. There is also lots of bullying, and students not treating eachother with respect. Do not believe CCSD's anti-bullying hype. It does not apply at this school, and I suspect it is the same at many others. There are no significant consequences for this behavior. The majority of students and parents are unhappy with the way things have become at this school, as is nearly the whole staff. About half of the teachers are leaving, so there will be a lot of new faces next year. I wish them a lot of luck.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 26, 2010

I am astundent that is now finishing 5th grade. Iv'e been attending this school scince kindergarten. I have enjoyed it ever scince. The teachers make me do my best and believe I can do what I want to do. And they did a wonderful job at it. In second grade I made it to G.A.T.E. This is a program not every school has, that lets bright students show how bright they can be. I know that on the fith grade creantation I will cry because of this school. I will miss all my very wonderful teacher and fun, crazy friends. And I highly recomend it for children from pre-kinder to fith. Now, with the help of this school, I made it into a select/magnet school. R.O. Gibson. I will miss Lewis E. Rowe very, very much!


Posted April 8, 2010

This is my so'n's second year attending Lewis Rowe, and I truly believe that it is a great school. The teacher's are nice and on top of things with regards to the student academic standing. We get to communicate with the teachers on a regular basis. I planned to change residence a couple of times but we havent because my son doesnt want to go to a different school. Even the office and adminstrative staff are wonderful. I usually get a phone call ffrom the assistant principal, Mr. Jenkins when there is a special event coming, just to remind us. And being a single parent with another child at home, this reminders are very helpfull.It keeps me updated on my son's school activities. Mis Hogart and Miss Owen are wonderful teachers, we've been lucky. Lewis Rowe is taxes well spent... keep up the great works!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

At first, because it was an older school, I didn't know what to expect. After shadowing my daughter at school for the day, seeing the quality of work she was bringing home and after she completed kindergarten, I was very impressed. Ms. Connors is very structured, strict, and consistent with her kids. The school passed APY which is a huge deal for Las Vegas schools. This was the 2nd year in a row they got it. My daughter met every criteria she was tested on. She is now in 1st grade and I look forward to it. Lewis E. Rowe also received a grant for a free after school program for a limited number of kids. Even though my daughter didn't get to participate because of the limited enrollment, I am glad that it's available to the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

the Administration and Teachers at Rowe are super, the problem that the school has is too many students. The population of Las Vegas has grown well beyond the capacity that any of the schools can handle. The Government does not give the school and students what they need to succeed. As a 42 year resident of Las Vegas and a student of the Clark County School District myself, I felt it time to move to another state to allow my daughter the quality of education she deserves. Good luck to the office staff, principal and teachers of L.E. Rowe, you perform Miracles with the resources you are provided with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

My daughter's teacher mrs.Goode has made her feel so welcomed. I felt so happy my daughter understood math much better and how involved she is in class. This school has great qualities every child and parent would enjoy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I really love this school. My sons kinder. teacher mrs. Mirise is wonderful. She has taught my son so much this year. This school is definately a 5 star school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 28, 2005

I love this school. The staff is great and the teachers really care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

105 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

98 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female61%
Male70%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch64%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities68%
Students with limited English proficiency50%
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant66%

Reading

All Students55%
Female53%
Male56%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities58%
Students with limited English proficiency36%
Proficient in English66%
Not migrant55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female52%
Male51%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch51%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency32%
Proficient in English61%
Not migrant51%

Reading

All Students57%
Female65%
Male51%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasiann/a
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch54%
Full pricen/a
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities63%
Students with limited English proficiency32%
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female63%
Male65%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch60%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities72%
Students with limited English proficiency48%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant64%

Reading

All Students58%
Female63%
Male53%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian72%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch52%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiency31%
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant58%

Science

All Students43%
Female41%
Male44%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic34%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch38%
Full price61%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities49%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English50%
Not migrant43%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 62% 40%
White 14% 37%
Black 10% 10%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 86%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-0299

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4338 South Bruce St
Las Vegas, NV 89119
Phone: (702) 799-5540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT