Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shadow Ridge High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2301 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 20, 2014

My son has attended SRHS, along with several of my exchange students. I have no complaints about this school. The teachers and all the staff have been very committed and caring over the years. I believe that in HS, you get what you put into it. There is more to school than sports! My family and my children love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

Awful !!! If your child is involved in Sports don't attend. Shadow Ridge is open enrollment. Kids and Dads that aren't even zoned for this school have come over and infiltrate and have had an agenda from the start.They even gained up on a coach that had been there for years and never told he was gone, he showed up at practice in front of kids and they let him know they didn't want him.( couldn't even tell him privately after all the years he had contributed, voluntarily) I can go on and on. They treat an adult like that, they treat kids like that, unless you are part of wine nite / and the reich. So many stories seen first hand. It is so crazy. I can't even explain all that goes on. What is really bad is these guys are in charge of our youth. Frank Tousa is the Worst...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2013

I feel my student is safe at school. Most of the teachers are involved with the students and allow for a positive learning experience. The school spirit is below average unfortunately due to the lack of administrative support.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2013

Prejudice plays a big roll! Nothing is being done! Dean protect her own kind, staff is rude! Spirit of student are crushed and don't want to attend. Dean herself is a bully, no compassion is given for the weak. Swaggers rule the school. Girls get in trouble for above knee shorts, while swaggers are allowed to show boxers. Its gross. Can't go to dean for help! No one care to help the weak. My child went from "a's" to "c's", doesn't even want to go to school. Scared of being bullied! Where's the protection? Teachers are being stabbed with pencils in face, vandalism to vehicles. Suspension for defending themselves. The Dean is horrible!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2012

Parents if you want your son or daughter to play sports in college send them to another school like Arbor View!! Me and my entire family supported this football team and these Coaches for years. it was truly a huge mistake. I should of listened to the reviews and sent my son to Arbor View for a better education and better coaches!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2012

My children are pretty good students abd quite involved in all kinds of activities. My only complaint about the school is from the principal down to many of the teachers, a negativity prevails. The administration fears the top guy. The teachers fear for their jobs. The students are not challenged nearly enough. If your child can memorize and spit it back, you will be fine. The school forgets that molding these students into indepenedent, free-thing, problem-solving adults is part of their job. Nope, memorize and take a scantron test is the mantra. The best teachers leave for better working conditions that's for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I went to shadow for freshman and sophmore year, The coaches are dedicated and the dance program is one of the best. I enjoyed my saty besides basic drama. The deans don't follow rules they have favorites and let them get away with anything, the principal doesn't do much at all. The counselors are very dedicated to their job. Having 8 classes is a plus. And Coach Barnson is the best!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2011

I have two sons that attend Shadow Ridge and have had a successful career there. I think that no matter what school your child attends, it is what they make it. Shadow Ridge has strengths and weaknesses just like every other school, but it has given my children what they need to be able to be successful in college. The drawback at Shadow, is that the administration is not as vested in the kids as they are in themselves, but the strength is that there are great teachers, dedicated coaches, and plenty of opportunity for your child to be involved in extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2011

Don't expect to succeed or become heavily involved with after-school activities unless you are white and mormon.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

There are two kinds of teachers at Shadow Ridge High School. Those that are leaving and those that are trying to leave. The administration there is the worst in the school district.


Posted March 31, 2011

High School is what it is. There will be apathetic teachers and there will be teachers who will leave a lasting imprint on your life. It's up to the individual to decide if they are going to enjoy Shadow Ridge to it's fullest or if they are just there to stare at the walls. If your kids are not being challenged in their class then maybe you should move them up to an Honors class. Don't just complain to the air around you...do something about it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

This school lacks in administrative leadership. It is sad to see students spoken to like they are trash. Students need to have their voice heard at times. The AP of athletics and the hispanic security lady are by far the worst. They encourage students to be disrepectful. Some one should clean house of them and some of the teachers that are there to only collect a paycheck. Ms. PerriCrane is one of them not to mention teachers in the science department. And FYI to coaches, don't you know this is what keeps students off the streets, being a positive role model would help instead of standing yelling with a big gulp in your hands or Coach Tusa that sleeps on the couch in the office while students are attempting to do work for journalism. Wow, get a clue Shadow Ridge staff, be blessed to have such a wonderful position.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2010

I hate this school already and I'm only a freshman. The deans are TERRIBLE at doing their jobs and I honestly hope they get fired. Don't send your kids here, half the teachers can't even control their classes anyways and they should totally hire more experienced substitutes who actually know what they're doing. I'm going to another school next year. If I could give it zero stars I would.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2010

I am an alumni, and my high school experience was exactly what I made of it, just as it is for everyone else. Shadow Ridge is a good school if you want a social high school experience or to have an educative one. Most teachers I had were competent and clear and the deans were helpful when needed. The only downfall is that the teachers are less like teachers and more like friends, and often behave like teenagers.


Posted February 24, 2010

I think Shadow Ridge is one of the worst schools in the Clark County School District. It is as bad as some of the inner city school. Comparing it to the schools close by it is like night and day. Arbor View is 3 miles away and is by far a better school if you are moving to the area you would be better of moving into Arbor Views zoning. The principle at Arbor is far more active and in touch with the students. The principle at Shadow it is obvious he is doing his time waiting to retire.. which be his performance should be soon. Barbarini does not care about the school or students he isn't even visible at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2010

Teachers seem to do a fair job - with the exception of those that do to much cut and paste (3rd grade activities) for high schoolers. Coaches should do some personal contact with other staff regarding their team members and need to spend time in the halls observing and communicating with students. Also, why aren't coaches doing something to encourage further education by kids in extra-curricular activities ? Camps, workshops, and college contacts are a few items that come to mind.


Posted December 30, 2009

This school can be so amazing if your into academics, or want to participate in extracurriculars. If you want to go to a good college or be accepted, this is the place to be. However, students who put no effort into school will struggle here. I love shadow ridge so much! You should too. I am proud to be a student here. The teachers and staff are all very accepting and helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2009

My children have, unfortunately, been to multiple schools over the years due to the military. Shadow Ridge is by far the best school we have been involved with! The teachers are fantastic, and make you feel extremely comfortable that your child is getting a great hands on education. Danielle Meza in specific has been a great help and has done so much for the education of my child that reach far and beyond what the responsibilities of a teacher are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I went to this school and I have to say it is absolutely terrible. The teachers are wonderful, however the administration is mindless. They care more about dress code and tardys than they do about the 14% of students who passed the proficency, and almost half the kids that are not graduating. I was actually pulled out of class during exam day because I was wearing flip flops.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

I graduated from Shadow in 2006 and I absolutely loved it. The teachers and administration were wonderful, and I learned a lot. If you're trying to decide whether or not to send your kids to Shadow, definitely do! You will not regret it.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

530 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

528 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

523 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students86%
Female87%
Male84%
Black/African American65%
Asian86%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial96%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian89%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)35%
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black/African American79%
Asian78%
Hispanic85%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian88%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch78%
Full price88%
Students with disabilities (IEP)29%
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Science

All Students83%
Female80%
Male85%
Black/African American60%
Asian82%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian86%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch75%
Full price86%
Students with disabilities (IEP)37%
Students without disabilities87%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%

Writing

All Students85%
Female91%
Male81%
Black/African American77%
Asian86%
Hispanic88%
Multiracial89%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian87%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price87%
Students with disabilities (IEP)33%
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 55% 39%
Hispanic 18% 39%
Black 15% 10%
Asian 8% 6%
Two or more races 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A50%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5050 Brent Ln
Las Vegas, NV 89131
Phone: (702) 799-6699

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


Legacy High School
North Las Vegas, NV




Mojave High School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT