Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
Las Vegas, NV
Students enrolled: 1,331
 

2 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jerome Mack Middle School 5

Posted March 01, 2015
- a parent
Under the leadership of Principal Roxanne Kelley, Mack Middle school has become a great school. Their focus is on providing a quality education and in getting the kids to think about college. The grant they received this year to provide every student a netbook put all the students on a level playing ground and gave them needed exposure to technology. The standard school attire, voted in by the families, has also helped the students at the school to recognize it as a community.

Jerome Mack Middle School 1

Posted November 18, 2014
- a parent
Do not send your child to this school!! It is so bad, we are yanking our child out. The first day of school I had to go down and complain about a teacher telling the students inappropriate stories about his home life. The kids can only wear 3 colors and that goes for coats to, no accessories, and the teachers are insane about enforcing it. Our child's coat got food spilled on it and needed to be clean so she wore her spare jacket and got dress coded because it was black. Yet you can not get anyone to enforce the anti- bullying rules this dress code is supposed to prevent. 4 times me and my husband had to go to the school because of kids starting fights with our child and almost breaking her friend's arm. The dean could careless. My child's dream is to be a singer and yet the choir teacher can't even be bothered to separate the kids correctly. Instead separating them by height instead of soprano, alto and so on. My children's classmates were caught by their parents watching porn during school hours, they checked the kid's computer history, yet no teacher even noticed. The list of problems is endless.


Jerome Mack Middle School 1

Posted May 11, 2014
- a community member
As a 7th soon to be 8th grade student at Mack I find it a horrible school! Most students at Mack like to get into trouble and start up drama. The staff there is ok, I guess. Some teachers are really strict while only a few aren't as strict. I honestly feel like the staff at this school wants you to be perfect for them. Many teachers give too much unecessary homework. The uniforms are also pretty dry because you only get three colors to choose from which are white, khaki, and navy blue. Plus they have to be SOLID colors and if you want to wear a jacket it must also be solid colors! I often over hear other students speaking about leaving Mack for the next school year as I wish to do also. I would not recommend this school to anyone
1 person found this helpful

Jerome Mack Middle School 2

Posted May 05, 2014
- a community member
This school is OK. I only like it because of my favorite teacher. The students there are wannabes, the dean is a (cant say the word because I don't know who's reading this)... and we have the stupidest disciplines!! Im an 8th grader, I've been here since 6th. 6th was wonderful, 7th was horrible, my 8th year was ok.. maybe worse because we have a stupid blocked schedule and ugly uniforms. WE HAVE A LOT OF STRICT TEACHERS. BUT MR. GILDNER IS THE BEST TEACHER OK. HE'S JUST THE BEST.
1 person found this helpful

Jerome Mack Middle School 1

Posted March 08, 2013
- a parent
This has got to be the WORST SCHOOL EVER....... They should Knock it to the ground fire all staff and faculty and start all over again with the proper kinds of Faculty. I would not recommend this school to any parent who likes a school to communicate with you about your child/student.


Jerome Mack Middle School 4

Posted February 14, 2012
- a community member
Honestly, I Believe This Is A Great School. There Is A LOT of Discipline For Those Students Who Are Not On Task, Disruptive, Or Disobedient. I'm An 8th Grader This Year ; I Participate Is School Activities (Sports, Band). These Past Couple Years The School Has Improved, At Least In My Opinion. It Is Organized, Proper, And Educational ; Well In An Honor Student's POV (ACC and Honors Class) . Ohh And It's 6-9 Grades . But Yeahh Mack Is A Great School With Some Strict But Cool Teachers, Staff, And [mostly] Nice Students . The Only Thing I Dislike (That Comes To Mind) Is Its Location . I Recommend This School Though ! :D

Jerome Mack Middle School 3

Posted July 05, 2010
- a community member
wait but what kind of education does it have because i want to have a good education and play basketball. Do the teachers give help to students 1 on 1 or no because if not i don't want to go there

Jerome Mack Middle School 0
no rating

Posted April 08, 2010
- a student
I loved going to Mack! When I was there it was such a great school to go to because of all the different programs they offered. Whoever said it wasn't a good school should rethink that!


Jerome Mack Middle School 5

Posted August 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Jerome Mack Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jerome Mack Middle School
4250 Karen Ave, Las Vegas, NV  89121
(702) 799-2005
Last modified Jerome Mack Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jerome Mack Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top