Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Southeast Career Technical Academy

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 14, 2014

This school does not make accommodation for disabilities. They say they will but the teachers don't find the guidelines. Math teachers rely too heavily on Khan Academy and were only teaching 2 days per week. My son was also failed for not wearing dress pants and a dress shirt to his business class. The Dean of Students does try but the teachers just do their own thing. If you send your child, review the grades nightly. You have to stay on top of them. On the upside, my son likes the school.... I he didn't, I would have pulled him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

Great school and made it easy to save money because I had a real job right out of school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 8, 2013

I have never regretted a decision in my life as much as choosing to attend SECTA. I have never felt less welcomed and wanted at school before as I do at SECTA. Their motto shouldn't be "We Build Futures" it should be "We do Whatever is Possible to get High Test Scores to Show the District." Out of every teacher I've had with four years at SECTA, I can't honestly say only two or three of them have ever truly cared about their students, which to me is unacceptable. By this review, I am by no means trying to keep you from wanting to attend SECTA, or sending your child there, to me, I just think that the school is corrupt, and not a safe, welcoming environment like they try to make it seem.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2013

My school is horrible the new buildings are ugly it was way better before. Not only that, but their math, art, and staff are really bad at what they do also extremely inconsiderate and rude. I'm moving schools I wouldn't recommend any parent to send their kid to this school it was good before, but not anymore.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2011

I do not recommend going here unless the desired intended major is not located anywhere else. This school nothing close to excellent. Students are in portables for the majority of their classes due to the sudden school remodeling, but unfortunately they have cut out a handful of majors because of the sudden remodeling the school will be going through. Their high graduation rating is not accomplished by their "great" teaching methods or because they pick intelligent individuals that show promise; it's achieved by kicking the students that struggle out. Even those that are actually intelligent but don't do well on one or two academic subjects will be sent back to their zoned school because their struggle on the academic subject(s).
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2010

This school is excellent when is comes to preparing students for the real world. There is a sense of welcome when you enter the doors of South East Career Tech Academy.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

Dedicated teachers and students really trying to do their best. Amazing supportive staff and their motto is 'we build futures' which they really do!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love this schoo! It is the most amazing place I have ever been when it comes to my education, and I am proud to say I attend this school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2009

'A Superb School with Safe Surroundings' -Kobee
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2009

I graduated from 'VoTech' in 2006 and all I can say is that this is a Fabulous school period! Of course it has some flaws, but this is probably the best high school in the Las Vegas area! Very education-centered, with a small atmosphere where students can really concentrate on learning and striving for sucess. Very good teachers overall, caring counselors, and the student body is simply so diverse and calm.. since it's an all magnet school everybody wants to do their best and is focused, thus causing a minimal amount of vandalism and/or violence within the school. In my whole 4 years at SNVTC or SECTA I can say we had like 2 fights, and they were arguments so it's a very safe school. I was involved in numerous organizations and Varsity Cheerleading! Fabulous school, the best in the Valley by far! L*
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 29, 2008

Great high school to put your kids in. Education is very important their they really care about their students. This school will help your child with their future planes and want to be in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

I am so happy that my child can go to a school that is geared for a serious student. Most of the teachers are good, there are some exceptions. Some are great and some are poor. When it comes to counselors my opinions are not good. I'd like to know how these people got their jobs! Since 2004; I haven't meet one that seems to really care or knows how to guide or help prepare a teenager through current or future problems. My last comment is about the lottery process. I'm not sure how other Magnet schools handle a siblings application, but I believe that if a sibling meets all the entrance requirements they should not have to go through the lottery. For me it was a logistic & financial hardship to support (2) seperate high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5710 Mountain Vista Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89120
Phone: (702) 799-7500

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




GV Christian School
Henderson, NV


Del Sol High School
Las Vegas, NV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT