Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Candil Hall Early Childhood Education

Private | K-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Las Vegas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $117,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 21, 2013

We have had a wonderful experience at Candil Hall. My son started there in the preschool program and is now in first grade. He is reading far above his grade level and his math skills are amazing for first grade!! The teachers and staff really do make you feel like family. Class sizes are smaller so the teachers are able to give individualized attention to each student. I have absolutely loved my experience with Candil Hall! My son is comfortable there and thriving. I was very nervous with the stigma that has attached itself to Las Vegas and education, but Candil Hall has taken all of that away for me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2013

My girls have gone to Candil since they were two. We have always loved the teachers and staff and my girls continue to maintain a relationship with each one as they grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2011

My two sons and my daughter attend Candil Hall. They love it there and I feel very safe leaving them there. They have taken us in and made us feel like family. The teachers are so engaging and they keep the children engaged. My son is currently in the kindergarten program and doing amazing. He was a small fish in a big pond in public school and now he is a big fish in a small pond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2011

This school is amazing. My daughter loves to go everyday, everyone knows her name and she knows all the teachers at the school. When she started last fall she was really afraid of people and now she is a social butterfly. The whole staff makes you feel welcome and I love that they get a nutritious lunch not just pizza and chicken fingers. We are moving this summer and it breaks my heart to leave the school. I wish we could take Candil Hall with us! W.R.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

this school is amazing, the teachers and staff are so pleasant. since my kids have started at candil hall I am amazed at all they have learned, every day the come home so excited about what they have learned in school that day. The family enviroment is also a plus. I would highly recommend candil hall to anyone looking for a quality school. n.serrano
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2011

The entire staff knows each child by their name. The teachers are warm and caring and treat each child as an individual. The curriculum is rich and amazing, and the classes are small enough that the students are getting enough individual attention. Our children are learning to be creative thinkers and problem solvers. We are very happy to have our children attending Candil Hall. D. Real
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2011

My daughter has been attending Candil Hall for over a year and we love it!! The staff is warm and caring. My daughter is two and a half and knows all the colors, shapes and can count to twenty. I am a ccsd teacher and have taught students who had their first learning experiences at Candil Hall. They were always skilled, respectful students and I think Candil Hall played a part in that. I know my daughter is in good hands!! Dana B.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2011

Candil Hall is a phenomenal school. My son attends preschool there, and I am thrilled with the atmosphere, the learning and the kindness of all the teachers and the staff. The curriculum they teach ensures readiness for Kindergarten. The teachers are kind, information and very professional. All of the people that work at Candil Hall treat the students and parents with respect - it's like a big family. My son loves going to preschool every day because he has built relationships with the teachers and the other students. He is an active little boy, and his classroom offers a variety of centers and engaging activities. At four years old, he knows all of his letter, letter sounds, and is learning to blend sounds and read. I just can't say enough great things about our experiences with Candil Hall - it's a fabulous school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2011

My son is in the preschool program at Candil Hall. His teacher is Ms, Jennifer. He has been attending this school for almost two years now. Both my husband and I are very pleased with the education he receives, the attention, the care, and the fun activities the teacher does to keep him interested. My son is 2 and can count to 10! I have to say that when I chose this school it was because of 2 factors, it was very clean and the family environment it has. Yous hould send your child here too as this school is excellent and your child will love it! C.A.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My son is in the kindergarten class at Candil Hall and I can't believe all he has grown this year. He is reading at a 4th grade level and the teacher, Mrs. Castro, works with each parent individually to make sure the kids stay motivated and challenged at their own level. My daughter is in preschool with Ms. Dora. She has grown socially so much. Ms. Dora has worked with her on sight words and spanish. She loves going to school there can't wait to be going to kindergarten there. Every staff member there is smart and caring. My daughter won't let me pack her a lunch because she says Ms Carmen makes the best food. (she even eats her veggies there!) I am so glad they will be offering 1st and 2nd grade now. We will be enrolling our kids the next year without a doubt.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2009

My son has been attending Candil Hall for three years and is now in their kindergarten program. I cannot express how happy we have been. The staff is loving and know the kids by name. They have family activities and parent nights out. The teachers never turn over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

Candil Hall is an excellent Pre-K program. My son attended for 2 years and is prepared for Kindergarten. The staff is wonderful. They all get to know the children, regardless of what classroom they are in. They provide a healthy variety of foods and encourage students to try them ( when they are picky eaters). The grounds are beautiful....one of the few that actually have a grass play area! You must go and see and meet the caring staff to appreciate how wonderful they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 37%
Hispanic 22% 40%
Two or more races 11% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 10%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5348 North Rainbow Boulevard
Las Vegas, NV 89130
Phone: (702) 656-3370

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT