Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cheyenne High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 2188 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

I have two grandsons that attend cheyenne and I am very pleased overall with the school. The Band is spectacular and always wins awards and competitions. I saw my grandsons grades improve. I like all the teachers. And I like the school overall. The lady TRACY that handles the front office is wonderful and the staff is helpful. I think they exceed my expectations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

THis school is more concerned about it's test grades for funding than for the children's education. The staff doesn't know it's left from right and I've had nothing but problems since my child started school here 2 years ago. And to start the new year off right, I got to work at 3:30pm on Aug 23, 2013. My son received his schedule in the mail and read a flyer stating that open house was 3 hours away at 6pm. Here we go again. ..smh. I guess I should be grateful that at least this year that he got his schedule.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2012

i love this school and there activities i also love the rules of the school, i would to come to this school
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2010

The school has consistently been improving, but the school spirit is still very low. Clubs and activities are suffering greatly. The new tardy policy is absolutely ridiculous, hopefully with the change in administration next year things will get better.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 30, 2009

this school dress code is outragious and utterly stupid !! other than that the school is fine
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

Cheyenne High School has reflected qualities that most schools offer at a slightly better level. The school's effort to create academic standard's and enforce behavior policies has lacked in many efforts last year. Although recently has raised the bar on academic qualification by raising up the rules, repainted and refurbishing, and cleaning up the problems. The school is not bad but not perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 19, 2008

Cheyenne High School is top notch. Dr. Geihs, the school principal, is one of the best leaders I have ever encountered. I am proud that my children attend Cheyenne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

Cheyenne has made many improvements and I see them continuing this effort to help our students excel
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

I am currently a freshmen at Cheyenne and what I think is that, at any school you go to, it will have its problems. The main point i, your experience in school is what you make it. It is up to you, on how you want your outlook on high school to be. I mean sure, the school is over crowded and could be better but in other words, it is what you make it and your decision to apply yourself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

I a a freshman at Cheyenne high and I would say overall the school is a good especially considering the kind of schools that are near by...I do think that Cheyenne could improve on tutoring opportunities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

This school was a complete disappointment when it came to its care and treatment of students with learning disabilities. I understand that there's a lack of funding for various programs, but when so many students should be receiving services and modified instruction, their educational needs should receive funds before the extra curriculars. Why should cheerleaders and jocks receive new uniforms if the teachers special needs classes don't even have the necessary teaching materials? And don't get me started on the lack of books. I have been blessed with the opportunity to visit and experience school districts across the country and have been disgusted and dismayed at how far both Cheyenne and CCSD, sit on the education scale. There is lack of parental involvement and the many of the school's policies are outrageous. Spend money on learning from districts that thrive, then implement some of their practices. It would help tremendously.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 8, 2007

This school is the best!! I love it sooo much!! its a wounderful and safe and fun school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2007

Dr. Geihs is a wonderful principal who holds his staff and the students accountable. I am so please my kids attend Cheyenne.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2007

The students body at Cheyenne is great. Ms. Lawson, one of the assistant principals, is such a nice lady too. Dr. Geihs is really nice, but he enforces a lot of rules. I am told that this has made the school better so I guess it's okay. Cheyenne is a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

First of all the school is over crowded and it doesnt have enough hands on material and teachers to teach our special disability students. I as a parent have use all my resource up burn out helping my own kids in this are my involvement and support is there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

The school is disclean,unorganized,dismounted,out of control,unsafe and does not have good teaching method
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2006

I have been so thrilled with the changes at Cheyenne High School since Dr. Geihs became the principal. The campus looks wonderful and the students seem more focused on academics. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2006

I am discusted by the Administrators and Teachers at Cheyenne. All I have received from anyone there is a lot of double talk and a hard time. My daughter plays volleyball and soccer for the school, so far I have not dealt with one person willing or able to help my daughter with her curricular planning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

The teachers and staff at Cheyenne High School have been wonderful since my daughter's enrollment there 2 years ago. The principal, Dr. Geihs, is outstanding and has conveyed his high expectations for students and for his staff. I am so happy with his leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2004

I have 2 children that attend Cheyenne this year, a Senior & a Freshman! I have been quite pleased w/ the staff and the administration. We lost a lot of GREAT coaches this year and I was very sad to see that but overall I think my Senior has had a great time and I think my Freshman will have a great deal of opportunities ahead for him. Mrs. Armstrong is THE BEST Teacher and Ms. Lee is THE BEST Counselor!The Security Guards are AWESOME, the Parents MUST be involved that is the ONLY thing that keeps Good in and Bad out! Cheyenne has received a bad rap I think because people still think of North Las Vegas as an area to stay away from, they are wrong our City is Raising it's standards and our community is coming together, with those two combinations NOTHING but GREATNESS can be achieved!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

489 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

479 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
60%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

476 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female53%
Male59%
Black/African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian67%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch50%
Full price65%
Students with disabilities (IEP)18%
Students without disabilities61%
Students with limited English proficiency14%
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant56%

Reading

All Students69%
Female74%
Male66%
Black/African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price79%
Students with disabilities (IEP)22%
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency11%
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant69%

Science

All Students62%
Female56%
Male66%
Black/African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch55%
Full price73%
Students with disabilities (IEP)28%
Students without disabilities67%
Students with limited English proficiency23%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant62%

Writing

All Students68%
Female75%
Male63%
Black/African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian76%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch63%
Full price77%
Students with disabilities (IEP)15%
Students without disabilities76%
Students with limited English proficiency21%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 39% 40%
Black 32% 10%
White 21% 37%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Two or more races 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Jeffrey Geihs
Fax number
  • (702) 799-4856

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Soccer
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 West Alexander Rd
North Las Vegas, NV 89032
Website: Click here
Phone: (702) 799-4830

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


Desert Rose High School
North Las Vegas, NV





Mojave High School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT