Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Christopher Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 215 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in North Las Vegas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $42,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 29, 2014

My daughter went to this school for kindergarten and 1st grade until we had to move out of state. The teachers and staff are very involved. Everyone truly makes you feel part of the family. I am so grateful at the solid foundation my daughter received spiritually and academically. In comparison to the new school we are at, my daughter was learning a whole grade ahead of where she is at now. We were very impressed when within the 2nd semester of kindergarten, our daughter was reading short sentences when she could barely read complex words. I only have positive remarks for this school. The kids from every grade were polite, respectful, and watched out for of the younger students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2014

My daughter is in Kindergarten and she absolutely loves her school. As an employee of CCSD, I did NOT feel 100% comfortable sending my 5 Y.O. off to school and NOT know anything about the teachers, school, principal, etc. When I visited St. Christopher's ... I was given a tour by the Principal. He was very polite and allowed me to talk to the teacher and ask questions with no rush. He did not try to pressure me into choosing St. Christopher. Office staff is great. I was a little nervous at first, because my family is NOT Catholic; but that worry was quickly erased as I realized my daughter was flourishing. Allow me to tell you about the Kindergarten teacher. She loves every student in her classroom. I have written several notes just to ask questions and she answers them promptly and politely THE SAME DAY. I have seen my shy, timid little girl absolutely flourish and I give the school and the Kinder teacher all the credit. I am amazed at what my daughter has accomplished this year and look forward to 1st grade I know for a fact that I have gotten my monies worth and so much more from this school. My best decision for my daughter was choosing St. Christopher's.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2014

I am very pleased with the school and staff; they have been very helpful helping my son adjust to his new surroundings. He is new to the US school system and we wanted to help him assimilate by attending a private school. St Christopher's staff and the Parish have given him the opportunity to be part of the community and he really loves it. The only remark I have is regarding the size of the classes, with the closing of St. Joseph's, additional pressure was put on St. Christopher's to accommodate the transferring students. But overall we are pleased with our choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2012

I love this school. this is my first year here my son who is quiet but kind and smart, loves this school. the principal and teachers are fantastic, the front office personnel are outstanding. I am not impressed with CCSD and did not want my 1st grader to go there. so very pleased with st. christopher, I highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2012

Saint Christopher is a huge sigh of relief for us. CCSD for us was full of kids who had behavior problems, bully type personalities and who have obviously not been protected by their parents to maintain childhood innocense much. Not to mention the difficulty in finding a teacher worthy of caring for small human beings. CCSD was a NIGHTMARE for my kids. The reverse racism was disgusting. Things my kids would be in a lot of hot water for were being said to them constantly without a second glance from any adult. THAT BEING SAID, finding St. christopher has been the best blessing. From the get go when we took a tour, we noticed a VAST differenfe. The children had smiles on their faces, they were kind to their peers. The parents are INVOLVED. My kid's teachers have become like family to us in just 2 trimesters. My kods participate in a myriad ofnextracurricular activities that are affordable. The staff adores my kids, and all of the other kids. This school geels like a family. We are midwestern Catholics so Vegas is very different but St. christopher has given us a home, most importantly my kids are thriving in a positive, enriching, safe enironment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2012

Having suffered through the early elementary years in CCSD, my husband and I went looking for a private school. We were so impressed by the feeling of genuine caring and warmth we felt at this school. The principal is involved and we could NOT be happier with this school. My child is learning far more than they ever did in CCSD! The teacher is fantastic and really knows each student in my childs class. I am so happy with the move we made to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

After several years of sub standard leadership the school is now the school it was meant to be. The new principal is wonderful. He is very hands on and even does lunch duty. The front office staff is friendly and caring. The teachers are of good quality and really care about the students. Small class sizes are a definite plus. It has a great family atmosphere. I would highly reccommend this school,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2010

4-1/2 Stars to St. Christopher--It has new life and professionalism. New principal is involved and PTO friendly. New website (http://teacherweb.com/NV/StChristopherS... nice brochure, getting organized, communicating with parents, and working hard. The school has a wonderful family atmosphere. The teachers challenge the students. Very upbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2009

My daughter attends St Christopher. The teachers really care if the students are up to date in their learning. It is a good school if you like to avoid big crowds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Unprofessional staff, parents who now think by working for the school they can disrespect other parents. No sense of education on their end. School should hire professionals dedicated to education not parents that have nothing else to do. School does not have the funds to do more research on their techers and for that they fired or let go of the good ones to hire the inexperience and more affordable. My kids will no longer attend St. Christopher. I do belive this was a great school 3 years ago. Did anybody visit the Bazaar this year.. What happen??? can anybody explain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

rude and disrespectful students not enough religious belifes for a catholic school. techers constaintly fired and hired throughing off education for students. older students are treated like young children giving them lack of responsability which makes them become more lenient having the wrong outlook on like and leading to imatureaty. i am completly dis satisfied with this school enviorment and i for one will not have my children attending this school next year
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

Academic's exceed expectations/great teachers Extracurricular activities are in need of funding much like the pubis school system The parents that are involved, are involved!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

I am a 2002 graduate student of St. Christopher, and in a few months will graduate as a top student of Bishop Gorman High School. My educational development at St. Christopher has influenced all of my curricular and extra curricular activities. Attending this school has become a tradition, now that all three of my siblings have graduated from the same school. Two of which are now in medical and law school. The close, and personal attention by the caring teachers and principal is absolutely great at St. Christopher. The teachers trully do care for the development and well being of each child. I give my hightest recommendation to this parochial school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2005

I love this school for the simple reason that the parents and staff work well together to keep this school community tight. From the lunch room volunteers to the parent organization. Not a day goes by that you will not see a parent working and helping out in the class or on the grounds. They have the 'It takes a village ' mentality to education. I love them for that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2005

i think that your school needs a lot of improvement.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 47% 40%
White 29% 37%
Black 8% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 7% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
Two or more races 0% 5%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Las Vegas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1840 North Bruce Street
North Las Vegas, NV 89030
Phone: (702) 657-8008

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

C P Squires Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


Maranatha Academy of Las Vegas
North Las Vegas, NV





Tom Williams Elementary School
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT