Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Carroll M Johnston Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 2, 2014

I really don't think that this school is one of the worst my son has been attending this school for the past 2 years and these past 7 months has been horrible my son has begin grabbed by a teacher ,has been sexually assault and nothing has been done the principal,assistant principal,and dean's they just don't care about the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2014

This is the worst school in North Las Vegas. It starts from the top down and the principal at this school clearly doesn't care about the students or the learning. She clearly just wants to collect a paycheck!! The communication from herself and the staff is terrible, they have dropped the ball concerning my child's education by not following up with calls, not following thru with paperwork, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2011

Caroll M. Johnston is a very , very highly professional environment for your child to learn and develop their basic standards for exceeding in today's Academic and diverse Economy. The teachers their are very dedicated and determined to get your child the skills they need to succeed in their lives. The policies and dress code help focus kids and teachers in the learning, not the looks. It is a great school for you to put your child/children in and i am proud to say i have made 3 of my children attend this school and they have succeeded.


Posted April 12, 2011

This school is by far one of the best schools I have worked at. Our administration demands constant contact with the parents of students. In fact, as noted in other reviews, communication was poor with parents in years past. This year, the admin decided to take action, and has it made a difference! The community is more involved! I enjoy coming to work! I feel supported and surrounded by a top notch staff! Every teacher is concerned about student progress! Every teacher works hard to promote student achievement! We are in constant trainings and sharing what we learned!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 8, 2010

I am another parent who is very frustrated with the communication aspect of this school. Last school year (2008-09), my husband & I constantly asked for updates not only for grades but for our son's behavior in the classroom but we didn't get any--even if he was sent to the dean's office! They were willing to keep him on the basketball team until he brought his grades up. Fine...but I pulled him off because his grades and his attitude was pathetic! Hopefully he'll do better when we move in the Fall 2010.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

I am a student and I love johnston middle school. All teachers are nice an easier to learn from than other school. Today We did our Hard lock down drill pratice.And my CRT scores are great now!
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2009

My daugther likes Johnston. She stated that there are some kids there that continues to get into trouble, and makes it bad for everyone else. Secondly, my daugher stated that there are lots lots of after school clubs. Thirdly, stated that the communication with teachers was okay. Lastly, she hates the lunches. Go figure huh.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2009

I am very frustrated with several aspacts of the school & keep trying to see the silver lining. My husband & I relocated from another area in clark county because the housing market afforded the change. We called the school and did as much research as possible about the school. It didn't take long for the teachers and staff to not be communicating as well as promised (some NOT AT ALL). I have always encouraged my child to steer clear of problems, but sometimes I think the school is the one who is turning a blind eye to the problems that the students face. Only after going to the school board did I get any resolve. I don't believe that the excuse, 'It's a new school' is acceptable. The teachers at the school as well as the administration have a wide spectum of experience. Hopefully this will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2007

I had two children here last year.My 8th grader had good grades and no problems.My 7th grader was picked on. They changed counselors 3 times in one year!Some of the teachers were very kind and tried hard to help my child excel. But when the math teacher didn't know my child's name at the end of the year, we opted for virtual charter school for 8th grade. Hopefully after this school gets a couple years under its' belt, it will get better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2007

There is not enough communication from the school to the students and parents until it's too late. I really like the staff. Maybe they all had to get one year under their belt and then focus on their weakest areas. I signed up as a volunteer parent and never received any feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2007

Academically the teachers and students are not on the same page. No communication with parents other than report cards. Choir is available but no instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

467 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 53% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 62% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

460 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 54% in 2013.

457 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

442 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Female25%
Male31%
Black/African American17%
Asian57%
Hispanic27%
Multiracial30%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian38%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch22%
Full price43%
Students with disabilities (IEP)7%
Students without disabilities31%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English30%
Not migrant28%

Reading

All Students50%
Female53%
Male47%
Black/African American38%
Asian73%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial52%
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian62%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch45%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)4%
Students without disabilities56%
Students with limited English proficiency9%
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female38%
Male45%
Black/African American30%
Asian63%
Hispanic42%
Multiracial56%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian50%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch35%
Full price60%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities46%
Students with limited English proficiency13%
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant42%

Reading

All Students50%
Female50%
Male50%
Black/African American40%
Asian70%
Hispanic45%
Multiracial63%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian68%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price66%
Students with disabilities (IEP)8%
Students without disabilities55%
Students with limited English proficiency10%
Proficient in English54%
Not migrant50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Female27%
Male31%
Black/African American17%
Asian42%
Hispanic31%
Multiracial34%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian42%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch24%
Full price41%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities32%
Students with limited English proficiency8%
Proficient in English30%
Not migrant29%

Reading

All Students35%
Female41%
Male30%
Black/African American28%
Asian38%
Hispanic33%
Multiracial40%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian52%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch29%
Full price52%
Students with disabilities (IEP)6%
Students without disabilities40%
Students with limited English proficiency4%
Proficient in English37%
Not migrant35%

Science

All Students49%
Female47%
Male52%
Black/African American34%
Asian65%
Hispanic49%
Multiracial60%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian70%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch44%
Full price62%
Students with disabilities (IEP)16%
Students without disabilities54%
Students with limited English proficiency19%
Proficient in English51%
Not migrant49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 37% 40%
Black 32% 10%
White 16% 37%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (702) 799-7010

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Orchestra
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5855 Lawrence St
North Las Vegas, NV 89081
Phone: (702) 799-7001

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






University Baptist Academy
North Las Vegas, NV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT