Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huffaker Elementary School

Public | PK-6

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 4, 2013

Great school. Great leadership. Great teachers. Great parent involvment. My daughter who has been at Huffaker for 3 years loves this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I attended Huffaker for 2nd-6th grade and graduated in 2000. Like all of the other comments posted here, it is by far the best elementary and probably any school in the entire Washoe Country School system. Every teacher I had was outstanding. My parents, as well as other parents, were very involved in the school. While I was there I had no idea how lucky I was to have gone there and for tuition free. Unfortunately we moved out of state and I went from a rated 10 school to about a 2. I miss this school.


Posted April 7, 2012

I attended first grade at Huffaker Elementary School in 1957. I remember it fondly. I learned to read there and I had many friends. I had a wonderful teacher, but I forgot her name. I have some of the most beautiful memories of childhood at this school, but I think it was located at another address. I Loved it!!!


Posted February 20, 2012

We are moving to Reno from Oklahoma, my granddaughter is learning delayed and has health issues that do affect her school/classroom involvement. What programs do you offer for learning delayed students. Do you have good counselors on staff
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2011

I cant say enough wonderful things about tis school! My daughter has been in four schools this one is by far the best ,maybe in all of Washoe County!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I can't say enough good things about this school. We have two daughters attending since Feb '09 and both are doing very well with lots of teacher involvement. 10 months ago, our daughters were adopted from Ukraine and only spoke Russian; now both are mostly mainstreamed in their classes. I see the Principle involved in daily activities and interacting with both students and parents. Let me just say that I commute 18 miles every school day so my daughters can attend this school. I would hope that speaks for itself.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2008

Our daughter recently graduated from the afternoon kindergarden class at Huffaker. The teacher is experienced and has made a tremendous impact on our daughter's learning. The school is great, from the staff to the parents who are very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2004

Huffaker is a school strong in values, confidence in the children and parent participation. My son has attended for 2 years and my dauther for 1 year. Each year I am impressed with the caliber of teacher they have. The principal and support staff are very involved on an individual basis and make the entire experience easier. Somehow the teachers find not only time for the basics, but also for projects and teaching above and beyound the base level. The PTA is highly involved and present many opportunities for the kids: such as an outstanding music program, art program and Jr. Achievement. I highly recommend this school and am glad we choose it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2004

This is the best school in Washoe County! The family involvement is outstanding as are the teachers. They all really seem to enjoy what they do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2004

Moving to Reno from AZ in the middle of fifth grade was hard, but this school challenged me and helped me reach my full potential. The most memorable part of this experience, however, was the field trips, like Outdoor Ed... I will never forget that adventure!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2003

Consistently rates as the best elementary school in Washoe (NV) county in terms of student achievement and learning! Great school program and fabulous teachers.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 60% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 44% in 2011.

74 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
93%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 63% in 2013.

58 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female72%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian74%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price72%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities74%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students75%
Female72%
Male78%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian78%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch67%
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities78%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female75%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian81%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price81%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities73%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English78%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students82%
Female86%
Male76%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White/Caucasian90%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price89%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities84%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female68%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities79%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English73%
Not migrant74%

Reading

All Students77%
Female73%
Male82%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian75%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price82%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities82%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant77%

Science

All Students73%
Female63%
Male86%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
White/Caucasian73%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price78%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities75%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English75%
Not migrant73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female70%
Male68%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian66%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price75%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities85%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English70%
Not migrant69%

Reading

All Students76%
Female85%
Male71%
Black/African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian71%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunchn/a
Full price80%
Students with disabilities (IEP)n/a
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant76%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the Criterion Referenced Test (CRT) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and math, and in grades 5 and 8 in science. The CRT is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 37%
Hispanic 19% 40%
Two or more races 8% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 6%
Black 2% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

980 Wheatland Rd
Reno, NV 89511
Phone: (775) 689-2510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT