Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Robert Mc Queen High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1820 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2014

Don't be deceived by the high ratings -- they were posted YEARS ago and are OUTDATED. The fact that this school has such a high rating is ridiculous. One thing you must know about this school is the order of their priorities. First, they care most about sports (especially football). Then they care about music, like band, orchestra, and choir. Lastly, they care little about academics. Don't get me wrong, many of the teachers are fantastic educators, but overall the school is very sports-oriented. You just don't get the vibe that their top priority is academic success. The counseling department is weak as well. It's hard to reach them, and most of the time, the answer to your question is no. The senior counselors are the most helpful, but are exclusive to the seniors only. The administrators are very strict on rules like dress-codes and tardies, but they're super inconsistent so some kids get away with what others cannot. You also get the vibe that parent involvement is unwanted. They are often turned away or given little "help," if that's what they even call it. If you are considering this school, please spare your child and take him/her elsewhere. There are far better options.


Posted March 25, 2013

I've had two graduates from McQueen and two are there now. They have an excellent group of teachers and they offer great honors and AP opportunities. The music programs are top notch, probably the best in the state. Like many big high schools, there are challenges, as it feels less of a community than did my public high school with 125 per grade. However, there are efforts made to address that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

I went to this school my Freshman year, and i HATED it ! Mainly because i wanted to go to school with all my friends at north valleys (Big mistake). This school is fast paced, but the teachers are really easy going and understanding. After i changed schools, I noticed a BIG difference in my education. I'm a Junior now, and i'm going back. McQueen is an amazing school! i took it for granted, but I think it's a good fast paced school, and i'm ready for the work load :). I'd be proud to say i graduated from McQ!! Their sports are fantastic, and their band is outstanding! McQueen is one of the best schools in Nevadda!!! great school, nice people. If your kid goes here, they're guaranteed a good education, while still having a good time!


Posted November 14, 2011

This is by far the best school in Nevada. Not only does it have the top number of students that pass their AP exams, but all the teachers there seem to really love their job and to care about these students. Many of them are involved in extracurricular activities, whether it'd be band, yearbook, the school newspaper, sports, choir or language programs, as well as other fun things. They are both academically and athletically blessed. They've won state on numerous sports, as well as many awards on their published work and on their academic talents. The students are nice, and they care for their school, as it's always clean and well taken care of. Their rules can be a bit "tough" or "strict" but they definitely teach discipline to the teenagers. By far some of the best counselors, and the principal is very nice, as well as involved, although the V.P. seems to be more involved in community events. Excellent school. If I had a chance to do it all over again, I wouldn't think twice about going back to the academy on the hill.


Posted November 14, 2011

McQueen is by far the best school in Nevada. Everything they have is great. They are always very good at sports, and they are always very good with their academics. Although the students can get a bit overwhelm with their school work, it does what a high school is supposed to do: teach the students in an effective way, and get them ready for college. Very close school, supportive of each and every program they offer.


Posted November 14, 2011

My first kid went to Reno High and didn't like it so he wanted to get transferred to McQueen. They have a great band program and a great selection of AP classes. The teachers are great, and the principal is very nice, as well as a leader. McQueen High School ROCKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

Robert McQueen High School is one of the best high schools in all of nevada they have the best staff and faculty. the rules are strict because they want you to succeed. i graduated in 2009, but i think all the teachers there did an excellent job at teaching. as they continue their quest for excellence mcqueen is still number one in my book!!!


Posted September 16, 2009

McQueen provides great opportunities for its students to be able to succeed through out their lives
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Best academics! Opportunities for holistic development.


Posted September 16, 2009

McQueen High School has great teachers, one that is dear to me, and I've gotten to know a lot of the staff from volunteering forever, since 1995. Had 4 children graduate from there and they are great people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2009

My two older brothers and I all attended this school. It is a great high school, it pushes your child to learn even if they are in normal classes as compared to the AP and Honors. The english department is amazing. The only department that I think needs work is language, it seems to have improved a little since I was there, but I know it could still use some adjusting.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

this school is horrible. the teachers are out of control. my son is so overworked that most weekends he is forced to stay in to keep his 3.0. his administrators and teachers are also extremely rude over the phone and become very angry over the smallest of things each student does. the school is going out of control because incompetence at all levels of authority. if you over drive students your going to drive them crazy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

My three siblings and I all attended McQueen (two are still there) and, despite our varied interests, had very good experiences. While the new principal is of lower quality than his predecessor (perhaps he's still adjusting), the overall teaching and coaching staffs are still very good. There's huge school support for football, drama, band, and a very good student newspaper. Virtually no matter what your child's interests, there is almost certain to be a large support system for it somewhere at school. The foreign language department is, overall, rather weak, but the majority of the other departments make up for it. In particular, the social studies teachers are all top quality, and the school's honors and AP programs are among the state's best. In addition, McQueen features the premier football and weight lifting programs in the entire state.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 15, 2005

I have had 3 children attend McQueen, and overall it is a great school. Definitely one of the top in Reno. Honors and AP classes are very good. McQueen is very academic which is great for most of my kids. One daughter who is an average student didn't get as much help as I would have liked. Band and football are excellent. New orchestra teacher this year is awesome (Mr. Baker). The school has strict rules and keeps the kids in line pretty well for a public school. It's crowded, with quite a few mobile classrooms in the parking lot. My kids haven't had a hard time finding their own group of friends. Most of the students are good kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2004

McQueen High School is a great school and I am proud to attend there, the teachers are great and all really relate to the students which is great. You have great teachers teaching at McQueen H.S. and I look forward to coming back next year.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 76% in 2013.

442 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 80% in 2013.

443 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

419 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
Female87%
Male88%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracial88%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian91%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price91%
Students with disabilities (IEP)41%
Students without disabilities91%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%

Reading

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic75%
Multiracial91%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch79%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)67%
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English91%
Not migrant91%

Science

All Students89%
Female88%
Male91%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian87%
Hispanic72%
Multiracial94%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian96%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch73%
Full price93%
Students with disabilities (IEP)56%
Students without disabilities92%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English90%
Not migrant89%

Writing

All Students92%
Female96%
Male90%
Black/African Americann/a
Asian91%
Hispanic87%
Multiracial86%
American Indian/Alaskan Nativen/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White/Caucasian95%
Students qualifying for free/reduced lunch82%
Full price95%
Students with disabilities (IEP)73%
Students without disabilities93%
Students with limited English proficiencyn/a
Proficient in English93%
Not migrant92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Nevada used the High School Proficiency Examination (HSPE) to assess high school students in reading, writing, math and science. The HSPE is a high school graduation requirement. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Nevada. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Nevada Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Nevada Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 58% 37%
Hispanic 20% 40%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 6%
Two or more races 6% 5%
Black 3% 10%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (775) 747-6883

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French

Resources

Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6055 Lancer St
Reno, NV 89523
Phone: (775) 746-5880

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT