Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

5 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted November 28, 2012
- a parent
One of the best elementary schools in Washoe County. Roy Gomm, and Elizabeth Lenz switch among the top three annually with Hunsburger. Schools in Nevada are underfunded, but Hunsburger does a good job with the resources it has. The material condition of the building is excellent. My two boys are in the School Within A School (SWAS program). It is an incredibly good program for very gifted children. They are all put in the same class with other SWAS kids and have terrific teachers providing advanced instruction. In short, if your kid is gifted, SWAS is great. For other kids, Hunsburger is one of the best elementary schools in a very challenging environment.

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted March 14, 2012
- a parent
After searching the entire nation for the best school for my children, we chose Hunsberger ES. We moved to Reno for this school and it never fails to EXCEED my every expectation! With my oldest child being 26, I have been involved with the Public and Private School systems for many years, none come close to HES! The Principal is there because she LOVES the children and what she does! She leads by an example of dedication, compassion and amazing support! The staff and parents follow in her lead. This school was just awarded the #1 ES in the state and when you enter through the front doors you are quick to realize why! One of my children is in the GATE program and the other is on an IEP. Both have their needs met attentively. I can't say enough good things about the staff and nurturing environment there! HES is an explemplary school that all should have the pleasure to experience!!!


Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2011
- a parent
The school has become overcrowed. Compared to nearby schools the enrollment here is almost double that of Lenz. The test scores dropped drammatically since the growth. The teachers remain the same, excellent, but there are kids here that do not live in this neighborhood attending this school. They are the siblings of the SWAS kids. This neighborhood is made of exclusive single family homes, but now there is tremendous economic diversity that did not previously exist. This can be both good and bad.

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2011
- a parent
Excellent teachers and the principal! Our first child started his 1st grade in Hunsbeger and now he is a 3rd grader in SWAS program in Hunsberger, he made huge academic progress in the past two years! Now the school offers full time kindergarten which benefits our younger child!

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2011
- a parent
I think this it the best elementary school in Reno. We looked at a lot of schools before we moved back to Reno and were really impressed with this school and the principal. I have two children in Hunsberger and they love it and are getting an excellent education.


Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
Came from a really bad public school to Hunsberger. It is 100x better, so far.

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2010
- a parent
The principal and teachers at Ted Hunsberber Elementary really care about the children and the school and really care about their education. They are very positive and reward good behavior and handle oor behavior quickly and efficently. Both my children have had a wonderful teacher that they love every year and want to do well in school because of that. The school has a very good feeling when you walk down the hallways. Thank you Hunsberger family!

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
The school moved to number 1 in 2010, this reflects the parental involvement and teachers. They now have an all day kindergarten and the school within a school program.


Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
My 6-yr old loves it there. Check out their Accountability Report online at the Washoe school district website, it simply is the best overall.

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School 1

Posted February 17, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ted Hunsburger Elementary School
2505 Crossbow Court, Reno, NV  89511
(775) 851-7095
Last modified Ted Hunsburger Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ted Hunsburger Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top