Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Wendover, NV

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


West Wendover High School 5

Posted February 15, 2013
- a parent
West Wendover has just been recognized as showing the most test growth of any high school in the state of Nevada. This is a huge honor and shows the dedication of teachers, parents and administration to our students. West Wendover offers an outstanding intervention program, after school tutuoring and we just received the Gear Up Grant for our 7th grade students. The school cares about my child and the other children in the school. West Wendover has the returning AA state boys basketball champions. FBLA, FCCLA and Skills compete and win at both the state and national level. The academic olympic team is very competitive at the county and state levels. This is a school we moved to 3 1/2 years ago and my child has had a wonderful experience that keeps getting better.

West Wendover High School 3

Posted August 30, 2012
- a student
WWHS has come a long way, most teachers do the best they can and go out of their way to help a student, For a student it is hard to live in a small town. Last year we had two students be state officers for FBLA and one for FCCLA. The kids are getting better, the school spirit is high. Things have improved.


West Wendover High School 5

Posted April 22, 2012
- a teacher
West Wendover High School is a wonderful school and its staff and students are also wonderful! They have a lot of school spirit and they are fun kids1

West Wendover High School 5

Posted December 23, 2011
- a teacher
WWJH/HS is in a isolated area 120 miles for any large city. It is hard to attract quality teachers to an area like this. I have taught at this school for 8 years and have seen good and bad admin and teachers come and go. The good thing abut this bad economy is that we are able to weed out the bad teachers and even admin and now have a very decent staff. Student academic achievement and graduation rates have risen drastically. School spirit is high and the total atmosphere of the school has changed to a great place to learn and teach. Our biggest problem is lack of parent involvement in their child's education and the hours our students work at their jobs. Less than 5% of our parents show for open house. Seldom will parents come in for a parent/teacher conference. Few students will complete homework to practice their learning. Consequentially, we teachers try everything we can to encourage our students to reach beyond wht they think they can do. We have changed to block classes of 80 minutes to give additional time in class and we require students to take a study class if they are failing a core class. It's working, we graduated 55 students last year vs 32 before.

West Wendover High School 5

Posted August 03, 2009
- a student
This school is fun and out of this world maybe the teachers are unorganized but still. I as a student can particapate in anything i want. These teachers and other staff members help us in life to see how hard it is. I know that if i have a problem i can go to one of them... Thanks WWHS! :)


West Wendover High School 0
no rating

Posted January 14, 2009
- a parent
WWJSH school has come a long way over the last three year, with more students passing thier Proficiency Exams and a larger number of our students attending college. I feel this all due to Great Kids a committed Staff and great Leadership.

West Wendover High School 1

Posted August 24, 2008
- a parent
WWHS, with its inexperienced and unorganized teachers, unruly and rebellious students, weak leadership and limited opportunities, makes it a school that should be avoided by all.

West Wendover High School 1

Posted August 18, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


West Wendover High School 4

Posted July 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

West Wendover High School 2

Posted February 20, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Wendover High School
2055 Elko Ave, Wendover, NV  89883
(775) 664-3940
Last modified West Wendover High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
West Wendover High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top