Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amherst Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school absolutely disgust me. All they are focused on is their pay checks and doing the minimum that is required of them. The majority will only stay until 2:30 (half hour after schools ends), the minimum required by their contract, and will leave the students who need help after school even if they have not gotten all their questions answered. It is amazing how little they care for the students. I do not understand how this school could possibly gotten a 9 out of 10 ranking for schools. I believe it is more realistically (from my own experiences and from talking with others of their experiences more like a 5 out of 10. This is not as bad as some public schools but parents and new-comers to the area, do not be disillusioned by this faulty rating. You are much better going the private route!

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
Amherst Middle School is a school on the rise. Over the last three years, the school system has installed a new superintendent and has a new board, consisting of parents with children. The changes range from a new, rigorous math curriculum that is outstanding. I also have a young child in the elementary school who is already learning algebraic concepts. Amazing! There is also a compressed math curriculum for gifted students. From having attended board meetings, the school is working on adding a STEM curriculum and a world language program as early as kindergarten. Some other areas where we've seen improvements are in sprucing up the building, getting rid of tired teachers and making a better transition between the elementary schools and the high school. If you're looking to buy a home in southern New Hampshire, this is a school system you'll be very happy with.


Amherst Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
A huge disappointment. teachers struggle to manage classroom behavior. Smarter children are not able to advance in the curriculum. Behavior on the buses is out of control. Lack of leadership.

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a community member
I love AMS!!! It is amazing and I never want to move. The advanced math program is amazing. It allows students to learn at their own pace. The teachers are amazing and make school enjoyable. For every complaining parent, just ask your kid how they feel about their school. Maybe you'll be surprised.

Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
I am not sure what other reviewers have experienced by way of comparison to other schools, but AMS is highly over-rated. I moved here three years ago from a "10" rated district and it is like night and day...AMS being night. It would take an hour to list all of the deficiencies but this one should be clearly understood. The school may be an "8" but it has also been identified as a school needing improvement in mathematics by the State of NH. Not exactly a mystery why, they DO NOT EVEN HAVE TEXTBOOKS FOR 8th grade Math!! Nor study guides, so when the kids have homework they better know the material because they have no book, no examples, and only parents and the internet to rely on. Last, on the whole, with some exceptions, the school is arrogant towards parents and has the belief that they are the dog and the parents are the tail. Personally, it is offensive because Parents are the dog and the school is the tail. Tax dollars tell me so.


Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
The teacher "teams" generally do not work as a team, They fail to coordinate manageable homework loads, routinely exceeding the school handbook guidelines for homework time.

Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
The math department is a mess, they lack materials and the administration does not seem to care. For this affluent town, there is no excuse for that.

Amherst Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding school!! The teachers and staff show great interest in the kids, and although it is affluent and there is a level of bullying present, they work hard to keep it under control. I am very pleased with the education my kids are getting here.


Amherst Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
I love this school!! They have great teachers and staff!! A wonderful school!! GO THERE!!!

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amherst Middle School
Cross Rd, Amherst, NH  03031
(603) 673-8944
Last modified Amherst Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Amherst Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top