Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Amherst Middle School 2

Posted November 15, 2015
- a student
This school should not be a 9. The teachers don't care about the students and their academic programs are behind. Don't let the flashy "Nationally recognized school of excellence" fool you! their math program is behind and their reteaching things from their 5th graders to their 8th graders! It's the math that gets me going: they're teaching 6th grade items to the 8th graders! Even the advance class is pitiful! I recently moved to the school from another state where i took an advanced course more advanced than their "advance" class, yet they place me in the common core (don't trust common core btw its the stupid's stupid class) to learn what i learned two years ago. After I moved up the teacher didn't count my test "Because I'm new to the class and don't know what I'm doing", I've gotten only A's on my testes in her class. DON'T GO!! A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!!!

Amherst Middle School 1

Posted May 13, 2014
- a parent
Most of the teachers at this school absolutely disgust me. All they are focused on is their pay checks and doing the minimum that is required of them. The majority will only stay until 2:30 (half hour after schools ends), the minimum required by their contract, and will leave the students who need help after school even if they have not gotten all their questions answered. It is amazing how little they care for the students. I do not understand how this school could possibly gotten a 9 out of 10 ranking for schools. I believe it is more realistically (from my own experiences and from talking with others of their experiences more like a 5 out of 10. This is not as bad as some public schools but parents and new-comers to the area, do not be disillusioned by this faulty rating. You are much better going the private route!


Amherst Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2014
- a parent
Amherst Middle School is a school on the rise. Over the last three years, the school system has installed a new superintendent and has a new board, consisting of parents with children. The changes range from a new, rigorous math curriculum that is outstanding. I also have a young child in the elementary school who is already learning algebraic concepts. Amazing! There is also a compressed math curriculum for gifted students. From having attended board meetings, the school is working on adding a STEM curriculum and a world language program as early as kindergarten. Some other areas where we've seen improvements are in sprucing up the building, getting rid of tired teachers and making a better transition between the elementary schools and the high school. If you're looking to buy a home in southern New Hampshire, this is a school system you'll be very happy with.

Amherst Middle School 1

Posted March 03, 2012
- a parent
A huge disappointment. teachers struggle to manage classroom behavior. Smarter children are not able to advance in the curriculum. Behavior on the buses is out of control. Lack of leadership.

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted December 04, 2011
- a community member
I love AMS!!! It is amazing and I never want to move. The advanced math program is amazing. It allows students to learn at their own pace. The teachers are amazing and make school enjoyable. For every complaining parent, just ask your kid how they feel about their school. Maybe you'll be surprised.


Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
I am not sure what other reviewers have experienced by way of comparison to other schools, but AMS is highly over-rated. I moved here three years ago from a "10" rated district and it is like night and day...AMS being night. It would take an hour to list all of the deficiencies but this one should be clearly understood. The school may be an "8" but it has also been identified as a school needing improvement in mathematics by the State of NH. Not exactly a mystery why, they DO NOT EVEN HAVE TEXTBOOKS FOR 8th grade Math!! Nor study guides, so when the kids have homework they better know the material because they have no book, no examples, and only parents and the internet to rely on. Last, on the whole, with some exceptions, the school is arrogant towards parents and has the belief that they are the dog and the parents are the tail. Personally, it is offensive because Parents are the dog and the school is the tail. Tax dollars tell me so.

Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
The teacher "teams" generally do not work as a team, They fail to coordinate manageable homework loads, routinely exceeding the school handbook guidelines for homework time.

Amherst Middle School 3

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
The math department is a mess, they lack materials and the administration does not seem to care. For this affluent town, there is no excuse for that.


Amherst Middle School
no rating

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
Outstanding school!! The teachers and staff show great interest in the kids, and although it is affluent and there is a level of bullying present, they work hard to keep it under control. I am very pleased with the education my kids are getting here.

Amherst Middle School 5

Posted June 09, 2009
- a student
I love this school!! They have great teachers and staff!! A wonderful school!! GO THERE!!!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Amherst Middle School
Cross Rd, Amherst, NH  03031
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (603) 673-8944
Last modified Amherst Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top