Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
210 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas Aquinas School 2

Posted September 12, 2015
- a parent
Save your money because you will get the same curriculum at any public school today. With in the past two years Saint Thomas has ushered in the federally funded Common Core curriculum. In other words this so called private school and it's children have been sold down the river in exchange for money$$$ Of course the principle and the Manchester Archdiocese flat out deny this claim. Having had a child in the 8th grade I know that a data mining test is only given in schools where Common Core is being enforced. My child's class was subjected to a data mining test. Much to the principles dismay I refused the test...after all the school gets money in return for every child that participates. If you are not familiar with what a data mining test is please research for your self. I also had a child in 4th grade that was subjected to extremely inappropriate material. Asking a 10year old if they've ever had a crush on a teacher and to explain or asking a 10year old what they would do if their child came home in a see through blouse is asinine. And those are exact questions from a work sheet given to my 10year old while at Saint Thomas! Any issue you may have don't bother bringing it to the principles attention. Why bother. Everything you are concerned about will go into her "I'll have to investigate it" file...and never be solved. If I didn't know any better I'd say that certain people have been brought in to bring the school down. And last but certainly not least, going to church and calling yourself Catholic/Christian does not mean you are either. After leaving this school I have had to reteach my children how to use a Bible...because that is not something your kids will learn here. In fact they will learn pretty much nothing about the Gospel. How could they when there are some teachers that are too busy checking their Face Book page during class time. I will say that I am disgusted with myself for giving so much money to a school that prides itself on honesty and integrity but does not even follow its own rules. SAVE YOUR $$$

St Thomas Aquinas School 4

Posted January 19, 2013
- a community member
Saint Thomas has excellent teachers and a strong principal and has great other reviews on college prep over all I think it is an excellent school if you want to move forward in life.


St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted November 29, 2012
- a parent
STA has exceeded all of our expectations. It is a special place, where the older children know the little ones, where the teachers know most of the students in the school, where parents are welcomed to be part of the school community, and where the academics are top notch. The community is lucky to have such a caringschool in its midst. We chose this school as a way to avoid the middle schools , but it has provided so much more. I find it interesting that a "parent" would complain that students are not encouraged to complete homework assignments shortly before school is beginning. All of the parents I know at the school support that sense of academic pride and discipline the school is instilling in students. As a parent, I expect my child to complete assignments at home, not minutes before school starts. As a Catholic school, it is hardly surprising that the school has a dress code! I am happy to pay a premium for the sharp-looking students at STA. If the reviewer below is actually a parent, they must be one who makes excusues for their kid's shortcomings. STA is for those of us who fully believe our children are capable of so much more.

St Thomas Aquinas School
no rating

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
We have a son in the third grade at St. Thomas Aquinas school, with another soon to follow in kindergarten. We truly could not be happier. The sense of community is wonderful, and the acedemics are top-notch. From comparing notes with parents of kids in other local schools, we can tell our son is at a distinct advantage academically, morally, and socially.

St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
St. Thomas Aquinas School is one of the best kept secrets in the area. As an educator and teacher of teachers, I know that the research shows that the two major things contribute to a child's success in school: the parents and the size of the school. For the past 100 years, Harvard research has shown that a small learning community is the best place for a child to thrive as an individual and become a part of a larger, caring community. While the rest of the world goes in the opposite direction of bigger and less personal, STA has stayed true to its foundations of small, sacred, and special. We were lucky to discover this school for our youngest child Jeff, who is now thriving at Loyola College in Baltimore. Thanks, STA!


St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted December 11, 2007
- a parent
We love St. TA's! My 1st grader is incredibly enthusiastic about school, his terrific teacher, his special-subject teachers, and his friends. St. TA's feels like family. We still cannot believe our good fortune to have found an academically rigorous school that truly cultivates an atmosphere of respect, compassion and service to others, through the example of parents and staff. Can't say enough good about it -- it's worth it at twice the (incredibly reasonable) price!

St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted October 21, 2007
- a parent
St. Thomas Aquinas school in Derry N.H. is a wonderful school. I currently have a seventh grader in the school and have had children in the school for the last 20 years! St. Thomas offers art, music, Spanish, computer, library and phys ed along with all of the required academic subjects. St. Thomas also offers Basketball, spring track, fall track, volleyball and golf teams. The PTSO also sponsors mini courses each year with courses such as cooking, karate, yoga, etc... The school also wins the blue ribbon award each year for volunteer hours.

St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted March 04, 2004
- a parent
My daughter is in kindergarten at St. Thomas. She loves her school and her teachers. She has learned so much while there. She comes home and tells me what she has learned. It's funny how she refreshes my memory. I have friends with other children in kindergarten attending other schools and they haven't learned nearly as much as my daughter has. I knew it was a great school because I myself attend there from K-8.


St Thomas Aquinas School 5

Posted February 21, 2004
- a parent
St. Thomas Aquinas School places great emphasis on the traditional reading, writing and math. My daughter is in second grade and is reading at a fourth grade level, and her math is exceptional. The teachers really seem to work with the 'individual' child, and no child is left behind. I highly recommend this school if you want your child to build the foundation that is required for High School. St. Thomas Aquinas is a real 'family' school. We love it!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas Aquinas School
3 Moody Street, Derry, NH  03038
(603) 432-2712
Last modified St Thomas Aquinas School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St Thomas Aquinas School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top