Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted January 03, 2013
- a parent
I have two children in the school, currently in grade 5 & 7. I have one more child in 3rd grade who will attend in a couple years. It's not perfect, but we're very happy with the school. Middle school is an adjustment for both parents and children. A heavy emphasis is placed on students taking responsibility for their own work, and due to that parents tend to feel less involved or in control than they did in elementary school. Teachers have always been willing to meet or discuss issues either via phone or email. Not every teacher is tech savvy but most are. The school continues to make steps towards continued ed tech implementation. Jay Richards (principal) and his staff are always great to work with. I can't count the amount of co-curricular opportunities available - from ski club to sports to "Kids that Care" to homework club - there is something for everyone. The middle school jazz band is well known in this area and takes a trip to Disney every couple years. One of my children has an IEP and is receiving plenty of support. My 7th grader has a lot of homework each night - about 2 hours on average.

Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted December 05, 2011
- a parent
I am so impressed with ORMS. I have had two children matriculate through and have been very happy with their (our) experiences. The teachers, for the most part, are dedicated, caring and enthusiastic. The administration knows every student and every parent (impressive in a school of over 600 students) and always make themselves available to communicate with parents. I LOVE this school!


Oyster River Middle School 1

Posted April 14, 2011
- a community member
This school is on the decline. A lackluster schoolboard, and burned out teachers who dont encourage students to learn, make this school unenjoyable. As a new student in 5th grade, the experience has not been pleasent. Now in 8th grade, i am transfering

Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted October 25, 2010
- a parent
Our 6th grader transferred into this school in the 5th grade, and the change in academic habits, excitement about learning, his grades, and overall academic progress has skyrocketed in this school. Excellent, dedicated, highly skilled teachers complement an aggressive and thoughtful academic program. A child that was formerly failing math, now regularly scores in the 90%+ range on his math tests, and has even expressed an interest in becoming an automotive engineer. The teachers are personally concerned with the success of each student. Content is often introduced to students and taught using analogy and hands on exercises, which really keeps our learner engaged.

Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted February 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted December 12, 2009
- a student
i am a student at orms and i dont always enjoy school but when i started going to the middle school all of that changed

Oyster River Middle School 1

Posted February 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Oyster River Middle School 1

Posted February 12, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted September 13, 2006
- a student
ORMS is great!

Oyster River Middle School 5

Posted April 02, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oyster River Middle School
1 Coe Dr, Durham, NH  03824
(603) 868-2155
Last modified Oyster River Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oyster River Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top