Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hanover High School

Public | 9-12 | 747 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

27 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 16, 2006

HHS gives it's students outstanding opportunities...academically, it's a truly unique highschool. The courses are challenging and prepare the students for college amazingly well. The problem is that there is no effective support system in place to help students with all of the stress. Ninety percent of the students at HHS will probably tell you they hate it; The school is very academically strong, but the administration refuses to admit to (and therefore deal with) the social and emotional issues that the school has.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 25, 2006

Excellent teachers, strong focus on sports.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2005

I attended this high school, left the area 20 years ago and have now returned with my youngest starting at Hanover High. The concept and philosophy of the school hasn't changed in the 30 years since I graduated. It is truly a tremendous school - academically, availability of extra-curricular activities, strong parental support, involved and caring faculty and staff, and highly successful in producing great, responsible, very well educated and well rounded young adults who are more than adequately prepared to handle the challenges of college or whatever path they choose to take after high school. Yes, it is truly unique, I didn't understand just how unique until I was an adult. No there is no scheduled lunch hour, the school expects and, more times than not gets, students to exercise good judgement and responsibity for themselves and their world around them. Truly outstanding school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

I attended Hanover High School from sept. 1995 to jan. 1999. I think it's a great school that gives it's students the oppertunity to excell in their individual interests. Students need self disapline in order to do well, but the staff is very supportive.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2005

I am curently a student at Hanover High school and I am insulted by the coments made. Hanover High is a school that gives freedom to the kids and helps them grow and learn from there mistakes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2004

As a former student of Hanover High I can tell you that it was one of the best preparations for the real world I have ever had. Yes we have free time and no we don't have a scheduled lunch hour, but discipline comes in the form of rigorous classes. And if this school is the pits then why did 5 of my classmates end up attending Harvard. I myself attend one of the top 25 universities (as told by USNEWS) in the countries and I would not have acheived the GPA and excellent school standing I have had it not been for the excellent faculty and excellent course work which Hanover provides. Stop whining and start enjoying possibly one of the best public schools in the nation and certainly the best in NH.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2004

Just awful school! No lunch hour, open campus, kids go out and smoke in their cars. No supervision. no discipline, no follow through, no PTA. The pits.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 37% in 2012.

173 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
89%

2009

 
 
91%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2012.

175 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female67%
Male78%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian82%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability19%
Without educational disability78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant72%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male78%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian91%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability44%
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female60%
Male44%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian63%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Non-migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 89% 90%
Asian 6% 3%
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Richmond Middle School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • US News & World Report Silver Medal (2007)
  • Center for Secondary School Redesign: innovative & successful secondary school (2008)
  • Siemens Awards for Students & Faculty (2005)

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:00pm
School Leader's name
  • Deborah Gillespie
Fax number
  • (603) 643-0661

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special education
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • badminton & fencing through PE or Club
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • badminton & fencing through PE or Club

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Richmond Middle School

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Please see our website at www.hanoverhigh.us and click on our Guidance link to obtain our Profile link
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Lebanon St
Hanover, NH 03755
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 643-3431

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT