Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Henniker Community School 4

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
my children have attended this school since kindergarten and are now in 3rd and 4th grade. it has been a fantastic experience for each of them. the classrooms are small, the teachers are committed to individual learning styles (even with the challenges of state and federal testing), and the administration is ALWAYS there should you need them. i've heard of (two) specific cases of bullying that to my knowledge have been seriously addressed and treated with care. like any public school, a parent must remain in contact with the teachers of their children. this doesn't mean micromanaging them, but supporting them at home. as for extracurricular activities, a calendar is online for you to see how almost every day offers something for a diverse population of interests from girl scouts, to string band, to yoga, archery, martial arts, etc. we have been happy here and find the below reviews to be exceptions to the norm.

Henniker Community School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools to send your children to. Bullying is a HUGE issue at this school not only by other children but also the Administration. There is also an issue with abuse of power within Henniker Community School. Victims of bullying at HCS receive all the punishments that the bully should receive and it should be the other way around. When you speak up against the school for matters of bullying and how it's handled the school retaliates against you. I am a victim of this. The Principal and Vice Principal of this school has time and time again failed to acknowledge, report and otherwise handle the bullying that took place with my son.


Henniker Community School 2

Posted June 02, 2012
- a parent
HCS leaves children unchallenged. The administration does not take action with the increasing bulling issues. The school is not giving the students the ttools to succeed later in life. There is hardly any parent involvement. If you do approach the PTA/teachers with new ideas you are met with great resistance. After school programs are medicore for the size of the school

Henniker Community School 2

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Mediocre in most all aspects. Little is demanded. Few seem challanged. Plenty of wasted time. Two stars is generous.

Henniker Community School 2

Posted October 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Henniker Community School 4

Posted June 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Henniker Community School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Henniker Community School 1

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
The school is mediocre and the music is no more than entertainment.


Henniker Community School 3

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
The school seems to foster the kids who embrace the typical good student, while the others straggle behind in mediocrity with little to challenge them. There is no foreign language offered for all students in 7th and 8th grade, when it is most important before entering high school, either.

Henniker Community School 0
no rating

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
I have had 2 kids go through HCS. Each of them has a different learning style. I feel that both of them have had opportunities and support from the teachers and staff. The facilities at the school are well-kept and they are working hard at keeping technology up-to-date. No Child Left Behind is a travisty and it impedes the creativity in teaching kids. Community support is key in seeing the school maintain quality programs. Seeing how kids in Henniker excell at the high school and enter top-notch colleges, I am pleased to have had the opportunity to send my children to a school that teaches self-respect, responsibility and strong basic skills.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henniker Community School
51 Western Ave, Henniker, NH  03242
(603) 428-3476
Last modified Henniker Community School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Henniker Community School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top