Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 13 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Henniker Community School 4

Posted June 10, 2014
- a parent
my children have attended this school since kindergarten and are now in 3rd and 4th grade. it has been a fantastic experience for each of them. the classrooms are small, the teachers are committed to individual learning styles (even with the challenges of state and federal testing), and the administration is ALWAYS there should you need them. i've heard of (two) specific cases of bullying that to my knowledge have been seriously addressed and treated with care. like any public school, a parent must remain in contact with the teachers of their children. this doesn't mean micromanaging them, but supporting them at home. as for extracurricular activities, a calendar is online for you to see how almost every day offers something for a diverse population of interests from girl scouts, to string band, to yoga, archery, martial arts, etc. we have been happy here and find the below reviews to be exceptions to the norm.

Henniker Community School 1

Posted November 08, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools to send your children to. Bullying is a HUGE issue at this school not only by other children but also the Administration. There is also an issue with abuse of power within Henniker Community School. Victims of bullying at HCS receive all the punishments that the bully should receive and it should be the other way around. When you speak up against the school for matters of bullying and how it's handled the school retaliates against you. I am a victim of this. The Principal and Vice Principal of this school has time and time again failed to acknowledge, report and otherwise handle the bullying that took place with my son.


Henniker Community School 2

Posted June 02, 2012
- a parent
HCS leaves children unchallenged. The administration does not take action with the increasing bulling issues. The school is not giving the students the ttools to succeed later in life. There is hardly any parent involvement. If you do approach the PTA/teachers with new ideas you are met with great resistance. After school programs are medicore for the size of the school

Henniker Community School 2

Posted February 22, 2010
- a parent
Mediocre in most all aspects. Little is demanded. Few seem challanged. Plenty of wasted time. Two stars is generous.

Henniker Community School 1

Posted November 07, 2008
- a parent
The school is mediocre and the music is no more than entertainment.


Henniker Community School 3

Posted October 12, 2007
- a parent
The school seems to foster the kids who embrace the typical good student, while the others straggle behind in mediocrity with little to challenge them. There is no foreign language offered for all students in 7th and 8th grade, when it is most important before entering high school, either.

Henniker Community School
no rating

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
I have had 2 kids go through HCS. Each of them has a different learning style. I feel that both of them have had opportunities and support from the teachers and staff. The facilities at the school are well-kept and they are working hard at keeping technology up-to-date. No Child Left Behind is a travisty and it impedes the creativity in teaching kids. Community support is key in seeing the school maintain quality programs. Seeing how kids in Henniker excell at the high school and enter top-notch colleges, I am pleased to have had the opportunity to send my children to a school that teaches self-respect, responsibility and strong basic skills.

Henniker Community School 5

Posted November 30, 2006
- a parent
My children have excelled here, not only in their grades, any nationally normed tests, or in their world view. I have enormous respect for the staff. It is a very well run public school in NH. Local property taxes pay for education in our state, so we are very fortunate to have a town that supports education. We have low student/teacher ratio, a full-time enrichment coordinator, language, arts, music, and a curriculum that integrates the arts. Parental involvement varies, all are welcome-some stay in the parking lot and talk amongst themselves and never come in, some spend hours volunteering, and some send their kids to school to get childcare, and breakfast and lunch--their only meals. (remember--we are a public school). My kids have learned the world is made up of many different kinds of folks. I am glad they are here. They are learning lots.


Henniker Community School 1

Posted July 26, 2006
- a parent
Henniker schools are just like any union run public school - failing at the most basic levels to prepare children to compete in the world. We worry a lot about bringing peanut butter in because a child might have an allergy and not at all that american children come in dead last when tested against the world's best and brightest. This failure is the NEA's and they do not care. The school has great teacher parking, new facilities, lots of worried (and misdirected by the union) parental involvement... And 16% are not reaching grade potential - the 'dumbed down' grade rating that means the whole system is a failure. The ratio is 11 to 1 and the avg cost per student/yr exceeds $13,000 - and for this we get the world's worst scores and results. There are no good public schools - sorry.

Henniker Community School 3

Posted February 17, 2006
- a parent
Henniker Community School is a good school that has the potential to be great. There is a good enrichment program that isn't fully utilized. The zero tolerance policy isn't working too well, but efforts are being made to improve the situation. The teachers are by and large well trained and responsive to suggestions, although there are a few who do not take constructive criticism very well. The parental involvement is great and the extracurricular activities are adequate. The music and art departments are well developed and kids are encouraged to excel in those areas. The test results for the elementary grades are somewhat worrying, but teachers in middle school grades seem to make up for any shortfall in the lower grades.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Henniker Community School
51 Western Ave, Henniker, NH  03242
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. (603) 428-3476
Last modified Henniker Community School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top