Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

David R. Cawley Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 514 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2014

As a parent I really like this school. Great communication with the teachers . My son enjoys it and has made really great friends ..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2011

Cawley Middle School is a great school with many opportunities. My child goes to this school and is having an amazing time. The band of Cawley is especially outstanding. They have been A rating for 9 years in a row. Hopefully this year they will become A rating again.


Posted April 25, 2010

Cawley is the best yes im only in 6th grade but still the teachers are great an i'll never forget it here
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers bring out the best in each and every one of the students and are always willing to go the extra mile. Let's not forget the amazing Principal Mr. Steve Harrises!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

my school is the BEST. our teachers are the coolest. and all UA's are pretty fun. the volleyball team rocks. and so do all of our other teams and after school activities. you can be in student council (which is really fun) and lots of clubs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2007

I love my School!!!!!! It is sooooooo awesome! This is my first school in NH and I learn so much. The teachers are awesome! The other students are awesome! I love it there!!! Its the best school ever!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2007

Cawley is a good school its fun but the languages you take arne't that intersting like Spanish in French but it's a good school
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 5, 2007

To start this school is amazing, the teachers are great! I have learned so much more, ecspecially since I got to be in the Advanced Math class. It is wonderful ,the sports choices are fun, and the people make you fell like you've been there forever. I say you give it a try, What do you have to lose other than a great opportunity!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 1, 2007

This school is the best!1 We have the best band ever and an awesome chorus. 4years in grade A ratings with the band
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 9, 2006

i think david r cawley middle school is one of the best schools ever. students have so much fun and learn so much at the same time. From what i've heard from my kids and their friends they really feel like their school and the people there are people they really feel comfortable around and are like a second family. the extra curricular activities are outstanding and have great student and staff involvment. the schools band is awesome along with the chorus. Kids i know who go there only wish theycould stay longer than the short time of three school years! other than that this hooksett school is absolutly the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2006

OMG my school rocks we learn so much stuff and their are so many things to do after school
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

175 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

176 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

152 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
87%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

153 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
86%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%
Science

The state average for Science was 32% in 2012.

194 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2014.

168 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female85%
Male71%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant77%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability36%
Without educational disability92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female83%
Male82%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability33%
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Not migrant83%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability33%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female76%
Male65%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability30%
Without educational disability78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Not migrant70%

Reading

All Students86%
Female93%
Male80%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability48%
Without educational disability93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Not migrant86%

Writing

All Students58%
Female74%
Male46%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability11%
Without educational disability68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English59%
Not migrant58%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 89%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 17%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

89 Whitehall Rd
Hooksett, NH 03106
Phone: (603) 518-5047

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Derryfield School
Manchester, NH



Hillside Middle School
Manchester, NH


Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH


St Casimir School
Manchester, NH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT