Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hills Garrison Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 18, 2011

BEHAVIOR SCHOOL I was not aware.......If you have a bright or well mannered child, this school is NOT for you. This school does not protect the kind well mannered children. They do not hold the parents accountable for the terrible behavior, from students that attend school there. Not a success story the two years we attended there. Way to many distractions and interruptions allowed.. My daughter was very sad and miserable. Most of our home discussions were about guess what this one did now!!! Not really what a parent wants to hear. Behavior school??? Well, obviously they do not have proper protocol or direction needed to see to it that this behavior is not to be excepted there or in any school! A room in the school can not do that. Notify the problem, there PARENTS!!!!! Try it it may just work. ..BEHAVIOR SCHOOL(DAYCARE) school is not.... Professionalism, some need to either continue there education or maybe have a child themselves before opening there mouths.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I have had 4 children in this school and am pleased with it. My 3rd daughter recently transferred to this school from Nottingham West and the transition has been incredible! She is doing so much better thanks to a few key teachers and administrators. I would definitely choose this school for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2009

I cannot express my sincere appreciation to all the teacher, the staff and the principal. Two years has passed and I am still pleased with the school. My children has exale in every test, course, and socially. I feel safe, I enjoy to volunteer, and I love the friendships I have develop in the school. I respect all their teachers. They are loving, caring and very professional. They do care very much for their students and they will give 109 % of their attention to their kids when they are in need. Great School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2009

This school offers the most experinced administrative and teaching staff within hudson nh elementary schools. My children and I loved this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2006

After attending a parent/teacher conference I came away with the impression that average student performance is acceptable to the teacher. No initiative or program exists for bright students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2005

Hills garrison elmentary school is a great school. Everyone that works there is a great team. They are great witht he kids. Keep it up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Hills Garrison is a wonderful school. My son learned to read within three months of beginning first grade and is an avid reader. He has had wonderful teachers and the administrative staff are caring and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

The school is too permissive about cell phones and bling and has an improper culture towards education. Kids are focused more on fame and fortune than actual academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2004

This school Is one of the most organized schools I have seen, The teacher communication is great.I Highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
71%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

107 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
84%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
70%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

120 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
78%

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2014.

108 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male69%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability9%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant71%

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male79%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability18%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
Female76%
Male63%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability20%
Without educational disability80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant70%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female85%
Male68%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability30%
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant77%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students78%
Female72%
Male82%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian80%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant78%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female87%
Male73%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian80%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant78%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students72%
Female82%
Male63%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant72%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Derry Rd
Hudson, NH 03051
Phone: (603) 881-3930

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT