Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-8
Public charter
Kingston, NH
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Seacoast Charter School 3

Posted July 15, 2015
- a parent
The Seacoast Charter School is currently looking to relocate from Kingston, NH to Dover, NH.

Seacoast Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
Teachers at SCS are a special breed. Evidence of this beyond the classroom is their dedication to the process of moving out of the inadequate facilities the school is in now, their participation in fundraising activities and the nights and weekends they've been putting in for what they openly say is their community.


Seacoast Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
I've sometimes though it's too much but you can't compare it to what it used to be like. Lots of homework is the new norm.

Seacoast Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
The culture at SCS allows everyone to fit in. It's really important to the students that everyone is valued. It's amazing how different it is from the town school where it's conform or die.

Seacoast Charter School 5

Posted July 01, 2015
- a parent
SCS is a fantastic school that's flourished despite being stuck in a poor facility with a landlord and town that doesn't care about them and is openly hostile towards them. The way the SCS parents and teachers have rallied for the move to better facilities shows what a special community that has developed. This isn't something we've ever seen at our town school where no one cares about each other and fights each other, school board, parents and students, constantly. It's exciting the school is finally going to get the kind of facility it deserves. SCS is going to be better than ever. We're really looking forward to it and especially having the stress around the facility finally gone.


Seacoast Charter School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
By integrating art within the classroom, the teachers are very effective in teaching. While they still need to teach to NH state testing levels (the standardized exams), they have a bit more leeway to experiment with various teaching methods. Like most jobs, they have the opportunity to evaluate whether a method was effective or not and keep in the repertoire or not...The teachers are dedicated and work incredibly hard.

Seacoast Charter School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
For a 1st grader, my daughter received about the appropriate amount of homework. I probably would have liked to have a bit more homework, but my mom calls me a "tiger mom."

Seacoast Charter School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
By the students calling the teachers and principal by their first names is one way to foster respect. Also by presenting in front of the whole school each week and listening is another avenue of respect. And being greeted each morning at drop off by the principal or a teacher is also an avenue of respect.


Seacoast Charter School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
The school doesn't have the typical bullying. I appreciated that the 7th graders are reading buddies to the 1st graders, developing a big-little sibling relationship. The carpooling also affords relationship building, as well as the afterschool enrichment classes. Students call the teachers and head of school by their first names, having an expectation of respect - closely tied to honest, integrity and fairness.

Seacoast Charter School 5

Posted June 18, 2015
- a parent
My daughter just finished her first year at Seacoast Charter School (SCS) and I am pleased that the school exceeded my expectations. A few items that stick out for me: 1. They hold a whole school meeting every Friday where 2-3 classes present in front of the whole school. To me it is fantastic that she is already learning to speak in front of 250 other students, plus teachers and parents, holding a microphone at such an early age. 2. I love that art is integrated in all of the subjects, helping them concretize the learnings. For instance when learning about light and shadows, they did a piece of art where the moon is reflecting off a body of water and another piece where a grove of birch trees is casting shadows on the ground. Like any school, it is what one puts into it. She started reading this year and is already reading one full school year ahead (per Scholastic book's reading level charts). On our tour of the school prior to going, I remember a parent saying that her son was shy and a wallflower prior to going and that at SCS he found his voice. She said he still feels shy but now speaks up in spite of that. I look forward too to 3rd grade and above when all of the students are required to take a musical string instrument. My daughter in the past was resisting piano lessons (even though she was good), but think that once all of her friends are taking class with her, she will be excited. While the school is having some bumps on finding a new location, it's worth the bumps.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Seacoast Charter School
13 Church St, Kingston, NH  03848
(603) 642-8400
Last modified Seacoast Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades K-8
Seacoast Charter School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top