Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 4

Posted September 12, 2013
- a parent
This school is definitely in need of a new facility. However, there is a lot of pride in what we do have. The building may be old and too small but it is respectfully taken care of by the custodial staff. The teachers do a wonderful job with the space they have. The high school students have access to classes on-line or at other facilities to meet any needs that can't be offered in our building. Administration is terrific. They are in tune with the students. They know every child in that school. There is a lot to be said for a small school. There is always room for improvement and growth in any school and I believe this school is doing the best they possibly can with what resources they have.

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 1

Posted January 29, 2012
- a parent
My wife along with her parents all went to this school but not much has changed including some teachers that taught both my wife and her parents. It wouldn't be so bad if the school had A/C or heat (still to this, NONE) let alone the ridiculous 'combined classes' among different grade levels. Now 1/30/12 they are closing the school due to 'safety issue' concerning the ceiling. Which is tip of the iceberg with outdated fire sprinkler system, numerous safety issues that hasn't been addressed while they spent $15,000 just last summer (2011) to refinish the basketball court. If you want your child to get good education if not better, we don't recommend this school AT ALL. We're already planning on sending our daughter to a charter school. It's one thing to have sub-part education but not recognizing the safety or our children? Shame on your Newmarket. That's why the mascot is a MULE. Bunch of you know what.


Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 1

Posted January 15, 2012
- a parent
this school is awful about protecting your child from bullying the administration is awful and needs to be replaced they are very unorganized and sneaky. they school is so overcrowded the kids are squished in the hall changing classes.

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 1

Posted December 19, 2010
- a community member
The school is just a horrable learning environment for children. As a former student from this place and victom of an ASD(autism spectrum disorder), I must say I was treated poorly and insufficiantly. For all the components of and things a school needs, it has little to none. Excellent teachers; please! don't get me started, although there are some good teachers, there arn't nearly enough to save it. Durring my depression ages the teachers did nothing to help and only made it worse! Strong princibal leadership; this school couldn't lead itself out of it's house if it lived in one! The leader ship is vary sloppy and with lack of a better word, lazy. As for academic programs, they are around advrage, although the art and music programs are a joke! you need music/art programs! and that sums it up

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 3

Posted January 15, 2009
- a student
The school is falling apart. Literally. Part of the ceiling caved in a couple of weeks ago. There aren't a lot of class options. The music program consists of a small band and a miniscule chorus. There are some ridiculous rules. There are some ridiculous students. There are some ridiculous teachers. The technology is outdated. But something keeps me tethered to the school, and I can't imagine myself being anywhere else.


Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 3

Posted January 09, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 2

Posted October 01, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 2

Posted July 02, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 4

Posted September 21, 2004
- a parent
NHS has the advantage of being a one town school. Many teachers have been there for years. Math department has one of the best teachers in the state. Physical plant is adequate and the town funds education much better than most towns. And that support comes from what is considered a less than affluent community. A school is as good as the school, the teachers, the administration and the parents. The students will be a reflection of the above. NHS was good enough for my two children to be admitted into two of the best colleges in the country and for one of them to be presently be conducting DNA research as a faculty member at an Ivy League college . Wouldn't have happened without the four factors listed above. As parents we just let it happen. NHS and the kids did the work.

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School 2

Posted July 03, 2004
- a student
This is one of the worst schools I've ever been to. There isnt really alot of classes offered here and the drug problem is insane. There are definatly not any accelerated learning classes available hear. If you have childeren and are thinking about moving to Newmarket, I highly urge you to reconsider.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School
213 South Main St, Newmarket, NH  03857
(603) 659-3271
Last modified Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top