Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
243 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

St. Thomas is a school community focused on education, faith, and growth as a person. The teachers take their time to help each student succeed to the best of their abilities. The students and families are supportive of the school and are always willing to help out. The faculty and staff focus on nurturing and improving the intellectual talents of the students through the use of our impressive technology, following of core curriculum standards, and various techniques of teaching! Coming to work here everyday is like coming home, the school is a family, a family that continues to grow as one and invites new members all the time!! -Teacher of 5 years at STA
June 13, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 32 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted June 01, 2016
- a community member
The people who say bad things about STA are very wrong in my opinion. The teachers at St. Thomas the Apostle School has truly taught me a lot of things that I am learning in school now. As a graduate, I can say that STA is full of great teachers, faculty members, and students. It is a great choice to send your child there, and it is most certainly better than any other public or private schools in the area. Not only are the academics up to par, but so is the athletic program. The school also stresses the importance of God in your life, which is also very important.

St Thomas The Apostle School 3

Posted January 28, 2016
- a parent
I think private schools are better than any other public schools. However it's gotten so expensive that it will always make you think if it's all worth it. The academics are fine at STA, but nothing great. There are extra curricular activities and the school and parents take pride in that. If you find this valuable, you will be happy here. The teachers, staff and curriculum can be better improved to justify the cost.


St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted January 03, 2016
- a parent
We have been a member of the St. Thomas School Community for 6 years. We do not live in Bloomfield, we live in a community with public schools that receive high ratings and we chose to send our children to St. Thomas to receive their education. We believe our children are receiving a higher level of education than they would in any public school. We can easily see the difference when the kids get together with kids from other schools. The extra-curricular projects at St. Thomas are second to none. There is a chess club, a keyboard club, a lego club, a full band, a drama club and sports for every season including cheerleading. The sports at STA are no more competitive than any other school. The kids get out of it what they put into it. There are no cuts, anyone can play. The coaches are all volunteer and some have been coaching at STA for 10 years or more. As a family we have never had a second thought about our decision to send our kids to St. Thomas. We highly recommend the school to anyone who asks. We look forward to the future of St. Thomas and watching our children mature into young adults and move on to high school..

St Thomas The Apostle School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
Teacher's effectiveness varies by grade, I do wish the level of teaching was consistent across all grades.

St Thomas The Apostle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
There are many projects throughout the year that are geared towards helping others. There was a family in need, and it was beautiful to see the entire school come together to help that family. Our example is the greatest lesson to our children.


St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a parent
I'm very pleased with St. Thomas. My children are learning, and most importantly are surrounded by a supportive community. I like that all the teachers, and students in different grades and parents, know my kids and they feel that community spirit. I'm sure they would learn the same academics in the local public school, but I'm so glad they are growing up in this type of community, esp in the middle school years.

St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a community member
St Thomas has an excellent community of families and teachers they are always up to date with current curriculum and activities such as istem robotics and sports the students are taught to respect others and receive an excellent religious education

St Thomas The Apostle School 5

Posted June 13, 2015
- a school leader
St. Thomas is a school community focused on education, faith, and growth as a person. The teachers take their time to help each student succeed to the best of their abilities. The students and families are supportive of the school and are always willing to help out. The faculty and staff focus on nurturing and improving the intellectual talents of the students through the use of our impressive technology, following of core curriculum standards, and various techniques of teaching! Coming to work here everyday is like coming home, the school is a family, a family that continues to grow as one and invites new members all the time!! -Teacher of 5 years at STA


St Thomas The Apostle School 1

Posted May 01, 2015
- a community member
St.Thomas is full of bullies. The children here are so unfriendly. There are kids getting cursed out, being called names, going into groups and gossiping, and some kids are just unruly and curse out the teacher too! The teachers seem to be taking care of the issues more than teaching, and we are so unhappy at this school. The teachers are giving a lot of detention-during school-and we think that it's not enough. There are always fundraisers too- a lot of them, and we have plenty of moments to spend extra money. Sports are focused on way too much. I hope that over the summer they can fix these problems. We are very unhappy, and disappointed.

St Thomas The Apostle School 2

Posted January 16, 2015
- a parent
My child goes to this school and happy and comfortable to be with friends. However, I think academics is inadequate. The teachers don't seem to be as enthusiastic and dedicated as they used to be. The members of the administration are nice people but there seem to be a lack of interest on their part. Communication has gotten worse and families are not as friendly as they used to be. There is a great deal of focus on extra-curricular activities particularly sports. A lot of the kids are competitive and enjoy it. However as parents I think they need to work on a more balanced curriculum and improve relationship with parents.

Nearby schools

St Thomas The Apostle School
50 Byrd Avenue, Bloomfield, NJ  07003
(973) 338-8505
Last modified St Thomas The Apostle School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top