Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Drum Point Road Elementary School

Public | K-6 & ungraded | 47 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 4, 2012

We love drum point. Our son adjusted immediately from another school district after we moved mid year. His teacher was amazing. This year our son will continue to thrive in this school. All the teachers and staff are welcoming and willing to answer all your questions. Good luck to all this school year. We are happy to be here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love this school! I have not 1 bad thing to say about drum point... after paying for private school for 2 years and going through hell. Drum Point and the staff there are the meaning of school.. i love my daughter teacher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I love this school so much and my child is extremely happy here. The teachers have been wonderful, and the principal has done a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

The administration is overly punitive and in dire need of some education in modern child psychology. The teachers are very good but overworked; advanced children are combined in classrooms with children in need of extra help, so they have to essentially teach to two different audiences, therefore hindering the progress of both. There is very limited lunchroom and recess supervision, which puts the children at risk of being hurt. I had to leave the district mid-year, which I did not want to do, but felt it was the better choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

My son started this school 4 months ago. He came in at above average in reading and math. In the 4 months, his reading average went from 77 wpm to 66 and his math skills have fallen drastically. I'm looking into a private school that will foster his learning rather than hinder it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

my daughter attends drum point elementary and i think theschool is wonderful the teachers are great and theycare about the students they do so many things with the children i thinkthats wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

I Think Drum Point Road School is heading into a bright future. The new principal is dedicated and has some great new ideas for our children. The world tour that is going on right now is amazing!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2006

Drum Point is a pretty good school for a public elementary school. The teachers are mostly great. If you are a very advanced child, you won't be too challenged no matter which class you're put in. Teachers will also repeat things for the less advanced students but, if you're smart this can make class quite boring.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 28, 2006

Last year we moved out of brick and were sad to leave. When my son got to his new school we found out that he was reading at a k level! he was going into 2nd grade. We were shocked at this information. We hadn't been informed that he was behind in reading. I thought this school was great! he was very happy and the teacher was very nice. The district failed my child and it took all of 2nd grade in his new school to bring him up to speed. He also struggled with punctuation because he had not been exposed enough to it in k or 1st grade. The other children in his new school were ahead by a lot. I was sad to realize that brick school district was behind in education. Something i wouldn't have realized if we had not moved to a different town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

My daughter loves her school, and her teachers have always gone above and beyond for her!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2006

Drumpoint school is an excellent school. My daughter loves it and all her teachers are awesome. There is parent involvement and they have great relationships with the parents. We also have a great principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

Overall a good school. My children are happy to go there and learn and I have found the administration and staff to be accessible and willing to address issues raised by parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

Excellent school. The teachers are wonderful and the class room environment is stimulating and fun for the kids. My son loved it there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2005

Great School, My son loved it. Excellent teachers and a wonderful group of kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

The educational opportunities at Drum Point School are minimal at best. My child came from a full day kindergarten and basically 1st grade was a repeat of everything he learned in kindergarten. I had to transfer him out since he was bored and unchallenged. By having a half day kindergarten these children are falling behind. Most children are instructed below-grade level and teachers are not provided with the necessary teaching tools. This is not a school for any child seeking to advance his academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

107 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students64%
Female73%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special educationn/a
General education73%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female91%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female75%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Special education19%
General education74%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students80%
Female75%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Special education43%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant80%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students91%
Female92%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education67%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students57%
Female62%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White57%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant57%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students84%
Female83%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Special education52%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 51%
Hispanic 9% 22%
Black 3% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ms Allison Mcconnell

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

41 Drum Point Rd
Brick Town, NJ 08723
Phone: (732) 262-2570

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT