Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

New Hope School

Private | K-8 | 56 students

We are best known for Core Knowledge and character e.

 

Living in Clifton

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $310,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted May 12, 2014

If you would like a small class-size, family-friendly school environment for your child with high academic standards, please come to meet our team of dedicated teachers and learn more about our Core Knowledge curriculum, character education program and other exciting activities at the school. On Friday, May 23, we are having an Open House from 6:00-8:00 pm. At 6:00 pm, school principal Robert Beebe will be giving a talk on "Teaching Values Through Reading" to be followed by personal meetings with teachers. You may call Mrs. Gimay in our office for more information: 973-473-4144.

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2014

One day as I picked up my first grader from New Hope School, I was touched by the sight of a much older student guiding her in how to skillfully kick a soccer ball. This interaction is one of the strengths in which a smaller school population excels. In addition to the cross grade camaraderie and nurturing, I have felt that my daughter is a priority for every teacher she is with during the school day. At the New Hope School, I have found that care is taken to promote and encourage a child s inner strengths through their character education, while providing the scaffolding necessary to help the child meet academic milestones. New Hope School has been a gift to my daughter as she has been given the opportunity to grow academically, socially, and most importantly spiritually.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

Excellent school! My daughter is in second grade and coming from a large class in a public school, her grades have improved significantly. I'm very happy with the school's program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2013

The positive aspects of this school are the small class size and international diversity. In addition the behaviorial standards are high. You do not have to worry about bullying or bad language at this school. It is almost like you are sending your child to study with your extended family. The one negative is that due to the fact they are small and try to keep things affordable, the computer education aspect of the school is a bit limited. I think they are missing a computer teacher. If they could just get the computer education aspect of it together it would be very solid. The small size also hurts the school a bit in terms of being organized administratively. They are focusing on the kids and sometimes there is a little disorganization on the administrative side but this is the trade off in getting small class side and your child getting the academic attention necessary. It is a good school, but there is room for growth. They are going in the right direction though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2013

A great school with small classes, a challenging curriculum, excellent teachers, and a safe environment. My child attended from first grade until graduation. He is now an honors student in high school. I believe New Hope School prepared him very well for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2011

My child attended here last school year. It was very discouraging that there is not enough parent involvment at all.


Posted February 15, 2010

Very good experience in past seven years,I have two kids in school that are very happy attending classes with excelent teachers . school is family oriented with small classes and excelent program for kids.Will recomend to everybody that are looking for warm and caring shcool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2010

This school was a light and hope for my three kids. I really apreaciate the warm and care enviroment and clear moral, academic standard. submitted by a parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

Very good school. Great teachers and school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2007

all my children are happy to attend. teachers are so good. they teach children well. after-school programs are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 34% 9%
White 28% 51%
Hispanic 21% 22%
Black 11% 16%
Two or more races 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Special education coordinator
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Japanese
German
French
Spanish
Tagalog
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 8:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:45 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Robert Beebe
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (973) 473-2939

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Multi-aged
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • German
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
  • Tagalog
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Martial arts
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Martial arts
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Dance club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
56
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
70
Students typically come from these schools
Jin-A Child Care Center

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Clifton High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

780 Clifton Ave
Clifton, NJ 07013
Website: Click here
Phone: (973) 473-4144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT