Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cicely Tyson Middle/High School

Public | 6-12 & ungraded | 48 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 13, 2014

This school has a great academic program. Students who have the ability to Become professional dancers, singers and performing artists. it also has good state testing scores. My son is in the band and got a Standing ovation from Ciecely Tyson. I am proud of what this school is accomplishing in this area. Please support them so that they can improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

It has Greater Potential . Wish they would find ways to make learning more exciting , or at least be somewhat interested in our opinion.


Posted October 21, 2013

This is a great school but it has many trouble makers and detract ions that take away the students focus and some of the teachers don't give all the support that is needed for the kids that need it . I use to attended but there was many trouble makers that change good students into bad ones and the concequences don't seem to help as much. But I know that the kids like me are very promising young talented people


Posted August 28, 2013

I have mixed feelings about this school, but I will give it 4 stars. This school has great potential. It has improved over the years. It has some great teachers and staff. The kids are truly talented. Office staff is good, LOVE LOVE LOVE the new principal Ms. Champagne. If anyone takes the school places I think it will be her. We'll see. I thought Dr. Cowan would, but the school did not really thrive when he was there. The Guidance Counselors are wonderful, Ms. Evans is amazing. Now, that all being said, I still don't think the school has reached the caliber that it should, not yet. There are still kids in the school who cause trouble. They don't deserve to be there if they are troublemakers and bullies. To me the school will reach its full potential if they get rid of the ones who make learning difficult for others, because of their behavior. And yes there are some teachers there too who REALLY need to get it together, but honestly, I think Ms. Champagne will handle it. My kids love the school, and I think once they really get EVERYTHING together, the school will truly be a force to be reckoned with. And I think they are working towards that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2013

My son entered Cicely Tyson School last September as a sixth grader. I have been extremely pleased with the entire staff. I cannot say enough about the level of support and extra assistance that have been offered to him and also to me as a parent. His teachers have always been willing to call, email or meet with me if I had any questions or concerns. We have had a very positive experience and I look forward to the same in the future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2012

I really would like to go to this school but i would like to know the following questions.....Do you have to live in East Orange to attend this school?, If you have to audition when do you and if you do have to audition, could i audition during the summer time or is it to late?


Posted March 15, 2012

I have four grandchildren that's in attendance at Cicely Tyson school and I must say that they are making their grandmother very proud, first with their accademics, second their choices of what they chose to do as far as their extra-curricular activities, the teachers staff and any other staff members are very helpful with students, parents and grandparents. They all have very heavy loads but they are keeping up with as well as going above and beyond what ever it is that they have to do, I am not going to complain. There need to be more parent involvement with the school and I don't see that taking place at all, but the parents will come out to a program. Come on parents where are you?


Posted March 18, 2010

This is one of the worst schools in New Jersey probably in America. My daughter goes there and she has the worst experience. First of all her lunch is 4th period which is 10:35 in the morning. She has a 9th and 10th period and school for her basically ends at 4:00. The school lunches are disgusting sometimes she doesnt even eat. Another bad thing about the school is how they locked down the bathrooms and she has to all the way to the 1st floor just to go to the bathroom and most of her classes are on the 3rd floor. The last thing is the teachers and the homework. At one point she didnt have a teacher. Eventually she got one but still.... She gets so much homework its unbelievable she doesnt have time for basketball practice or chores. Overall this school is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2010

This is one of the worst schools in New Jersey probably in America. My daughter goes there and she has the worst experience. First of all her lunch is 4th period which is 10:35 in the morning. She has a 9th and 10th period and school for her basically ends at 4:00. The school lunches are disgusting sometimes she doesnt even eat. Another bad thing about the school is how they locked down the bathrooms and she has to all the way to the 1st floor just to go to the bathroom and most of her classes are on the 3rd floor. The last thing is the teachers and the homework. At one point she didnt have a teacher. Eventually she got one but still.... She gets so much homework its unbelievable she doesnt have time for basketball practice or chores. Overall this school is terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2010

I have 3 children at this school. For the most part, the guidance counselors and the teachers are great. They seem to care a lot about my children. I like that it is a performing arts school because my children have many oppotunities to be involve in several clubs and activities which I don't think they would be given the same in a regular public school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

I went to Cicely Tyson and I recently graduated last year. Overall, my experiences there were horrible. I was a student there for 7 year (6-12 grade) and there were very few teachers and instructors that actually cared about the academic excellence of the students. The school was about apperances. Over worked and under-appriciated instuctors built on a fundation of the ignorance shared among their superiors. I may have not enjoyed my time as a student there, but I have to say I did learn a lot about my profession from the few individuals that wanted to make a difference in my life. Mrs. Laura Trimmings was and still is a horrible principle, only concerned with making herself look good instead doing her job. Hopefully in the future some else can take over and showcase how a school of the Arts should be ran.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 19, 2009

I think that the principal should show more interest in the marching band since it is a performing arts school and not as a second class degenarate. i never saw her at any of the performances, rehearsal never show or care what is happening to these kids that represent her school, she should or pertent to at least show that she care what happens to these kids.over all i think it is a excellent school where the kids could excell in their careers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

My name is Quincy Carter and I am an alumni of The Cicely Tyson School of Performing and Fine Arts. This is one of the best art schools in the state of New Jersey. The staff at the school really expose the students to the real world and what it is like being in the real world. I am not saying this because I graduated from there but because it is truly a diamond in a rough.


Posted September 24, 2008

The school is wonderful I go to Cicley Tyson and I admire it. They have good teachers that help students to achieve in the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 31, 2008

I graduated from cts and let me tell you. the teachers and other staff, help the students in any way they can. i am pride to say that i came from Cicely Tyson School of Perfroming and Fine Arts.


Posted June 18, 2008

My daughter is graduating tomorrow from Cicely Tyson and in the beginning she seemed to have a hard time in the beginning but has perservered through the 12th grade.I am so pleased that certain teachers took the extra effort to continue to support and encourage her.I truly believe that this school can use some improvement,but i am happy that my child has made it through
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2007

I am also a parent at Cicely Tyson high school and in fact my daughter is a senior. I can honestly say Cicely Tyson impelled her to become a responsible student. Cicely Tyson preparedd my daughter far more than many schools I know. My daughter has completed internships, she has resume, she is the founding president of two organizations within the school. Although it has been a great challenge I am proud that my daughter had the opportunities to experience things I never have. Because of the theater instructor my daughter is applying and very well prepared in colleges: Julliard, mason gross, purchase, howard, and temple. The theater program has opened her eyes and helped her to stand a chance. Cicely is not in best conditions but the education is beneficial.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2007

The school is horrible. Typical Public Institution. The school does not offer any program(s) for children who have excelled academically. Administration lacks care, concern.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

I am an alumi student from Tyson and I'm now getting ready to graduate for a pretty well know four year institution. I feel that there were definitely some teachers who helped to prepare me for the transition from high school to college and others that did not so much. I would reccomend that the school upgrade their curriculum and that they make their standards higher, so that more students can be better prepared for the transistion into college. I did enjoy my years grades 6-12 very much in Tyson and do not regret being a student there at all! I just wish that I was not in for such a shock when I entered college. There are plenty extracurricular activities at tyson, and I feel that the level of parent involvment was mediore, but then I didn't see everyting involving parental involvement, so I can't be 100% sure.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 27, 2006

Cicely Tyson is one of the best schools in the East Orange School district. There is so much room for personal and academic growth there. The students are required to participate in performing or fine arts, so anything like: drawing, danceing, singing, acting, playing an instrument are all availible for children. There are many opportunities availible for parents to be a part of their child's school life. Academically, Tyson was the first high school in East Orange now to offer Advanced Placement classes for students. It is a wonderful learning enviorment and I am glad to be a part of that family.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 65% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
48%
Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 82% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students52%
Female62%
Male38%
Black51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education12%
General education59%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant52%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students68%
Female75%
Male58%
Black67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special education24%
General education76%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant68%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students51%
Female52%
Male49%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Special educationn/a
General education56%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant51%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students36%
Female40%
Male31%
Black38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged35%
Special educationn/a
General education41%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant36%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students81%
Female87%
Male75%
Black80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education48%
General education89%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant81%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students47%
Female47%
Male47%
Black46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Special education26%
General education51%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant47%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students64%
Female62%
Male67%
Black63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special education35%
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant64%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students92%
Female96%
Male87%
Black92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special education54%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students82%
Female83%
Male79%
Black82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Special education39%
General education87%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students15%
Female11%
Male20%
Black15%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged12%
Special educationn/a
General education16%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant15%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Below average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Below Average


College readiness rating 20133What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

89%

SAT college ready

10%

Graduation rate

93%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 97% 16%
Hispanic 3% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 9%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
White 0% 51%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Stephen Cowan

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

35 Winans Street
East Orange, NJ 07018
Phone: (973) 266-5970

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Madrasatu Ahlis Sunnah
East Orange, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT