Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Helena School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Edison

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $380,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,730.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 12, 2014

So disappointed with our whole experience at St. Helena School. My son is in kindergarten and was so very excited to start school in September. Unfortunately, due to the overall negative environment there, he was left with a horrible first impression about school. His teacher, though nice as a person, was very negative in her tone while talking to her students and caused him to be more fearful and dread school more than anything else. The principal is also very negative with her tone and does not even entertain parent complaints for a second. Instead she reprimands parents like she is speaking with the students in her school. I regret sending my son there! In addition to the negative environment, the academics are below public school standards. If you are concerned with wonderful penmanship which is the focus, this is the school for you. If you are concerned with creative writing, self-steem building and fostering the enthusiasm for learning I urge you to look elsewhere!.......disgusted and disappointed parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2014

The teachers at St. Helena know each student individually, even if they don't personally teach the student. The school is a close knit environment and has a great reputation with past students. In fact, some students are children and grandchildren of alumni.


Posted February 11, 2014

We have been disappointed just like other parents. Our child is in kindergarten and he is really suffering a lot since last few months. Just like other kids, he was happy and excited when he start the school but now a days, he do refuse to go to school every day. I know it is not his fault but he is scared to go to school and face the same staff, who has been humiliated him several time. We never raise the issue to staff teachers or principal but I am sure, it won t make any difference. We spoiled our child one year in this school. He would have gain a lot by going to any other public or private school. Save your money, time and child s feature
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2013

My son is in pre-k there, and all I can say is SAVE YOUR MONEY and don't send your kids there. It seams that they go out of their way to make your life difficult!. They can't never work with you and the principal is an old lady really set up on her ways. The parents have cero access to the teachers, you feel that they don't know you or your child. I'm really upset with the school. I can't wait for the year to be over so I can take him out of there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2013

I don't usually do reviews but I stumbled upon this site and saw a negative review of Mrs. Monteleone, a PreK teacher at St. Helena School, I totally do not agree to it and I am sure the same goes for other parents whose child was in her class. Mrs. Monteleone was my child's PreK teacher. She is very supportive, encouraging and helpful to the children. She makes studying in PreK fun. My child always looks forward to going to school everyday and up to this day remembers the happy memories from their PreK class. She is very much loved by her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2012

I transferred my son to St. Helena two years ago after watching him sink academically and socially at his former school. The academic and social strides that he has made at St. Helena can only be described as phenomenal. The administration and staff, work brilliantly together to encourage, challenge, meet and exceed the needs of each student The facility is state of the art, the curriculum, cutting edge, and extra activities abound. The Pastor is present and involved. Principal is a wonderful listener and communicator and her love and devotion to the children and school gives off its own light. Parental involvement is always welcomed and encouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2012

Outstanding young teachers. These new teachers are truly into teaching the children and yet allowing them to have fun along the way. Wouldn't go to any other school I thanks Sr. Charles and Father Anthony for bringing new blood into the school . All of the teachers are outstanding. If the children are kept interested in their class they will learn and make it a pleasant experience for themselves also..


Posted May 24, 2012

I would not recommend this school. My son went to Kindergarten and teacher started emphasizing to repeat KG. I was concerned that end of the school year she is recommending like this. When I asked what would be different if my son repeats KG she started talking some special programs. When I asked why didn't she enroll my son this year or informed me about this program she didn't have any answer. When I spoke to principle she was talking about standards etc. Same day, I went to another school and enrolled my son there. Please be careful before spending thousands of dollars.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2011

My son goes to St Helena. It has been a great year. I intend to continue my child's schooling at this school. The teacher are good. They teach good. And my child likes to go to the school. There are also other great public school around like the Martin Luther King.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2010

My child transferred to St. Helena's last school year and our experience could not have been better. The academics are high, the physical plant is clean and modern, and the staff, administration and teachers really care about the students and their families. The students are encouraged to be respectful, caring and responsible to one another. St. Helena's was our best decision for her education and our peace of mind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2009

The school is composed of teachers and administrators who try very hard to create a safe, caring and academically focused environment. The school has clean classrooms, bathrooms and kitchen. What a difference from our public schools! When teachers and parents care about heir children's environment and allow themselves to get involved, the results are nothing more than extraordinary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

My son has been going to this school since Pre-K. In Edison, we are fortunate to have outstanding public schools, which made our decision to send our son here very hard. Ultimately we decided to try it for a couple of years and have never regretted the decision. The curreiculum is about a half to a full grade level higher than the public schools, but most importantly, the school focusses on each child and creating a responsible, complete Human Being. All phases of a child's education are attended to, and the teacher's and pricincipal make certain that the usual 'social' issues that may be found at public schools are not a concern. I am especially surprised and concerned at the person who submitted the extremely negative review and would as them if they have tried to address their precieved issues with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2008

I would not recomened this school to anyone.The staff is horrible and the students are intimidating the new comers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2008

This is the excellent school, which has established my son's values and ethics along with strong academic skills. This is the type of the enviornment parents should provide their children, so we can have a balance community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2008

i am a student of shs (st. helana school) i am in the 8th grade the teachers are great they are willing to help students in need of help
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2007

This school is a wonderful learning environment for our children. Their program enriches and provides the fundalmental foundation for a successful future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

I go to SHS, and I have to so I am very pleased! The school has excellent education, extracurricular activities, teachers, and a friendly, welcoming environment. I love this school and if I got to choose my school, I'd still choose SHS. SHS provides music, art, spanish, and library. Some of the subjects many schools don't have! I'm on the basketball team, and I have to say, I learned how to play basketball in less than 2 weeks! The principal is strict, but caring. I love this school and I recemmend you let you're child go here. Although I'm only in 5th grade, I've been through so many experiences here and each day it makes me more mature and ready for the outside world!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2005

I have 2 children in St. Helenas school. We have been there for 6 years. It is a wonderful school and a great enviornment for the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2005

I feel the quality of education my child receives here is very good. We are newcomers and are very happy at St. Helena's. We transferred from another Catholic School and I think Catholic schools in general need to do a much better job with their financial management.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2004

As a parent, I feel the school has a high standard in its educational curriculums. However, I feel the school/church focuses too much on asking parishoners to give more dollar$ then people can afford. For instance, recently parents were asked to give the school tuitions 2 months prior to the due date. But excuse me, are we not forgetting that it's December (Xmas time), and people are not prepared to provide the tuitions yet? If it were not for the 'Tiles' from Italy and the Brass letters above the auditorium stage, the school wouldn't be in such high debt. I believe we shouldn't have spent so much $$'s on the new addition and that parent's and parishioners should've had a vote on decisions made in this school, and not soley decided by the priests. A CONCERNED PARENT
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 54% 9%
White 21% 51%
Hispanic 12% 22%
Black 8% 16%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Metuchen
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

930 Grove Avenue
Edison, NJ 08820
Phone: (732) 549-6234

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT