Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edison High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

Edison High School from the teacher right up to the principal are very bad communicators. All they care about is their Pay Checks. The teachers give very liitle extra help to their student that very much need the help. This school and the teacher need pick it up in every Category you can think of as educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

My high school has a very excellent educational program for our students. They has the up to date technology for student to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2013

High school sucks in general but I have to admit that Edison High School was the worst four years of my life. I was terribly depressed throughout my entire high school career because of it. First of all, it is way too overcrowded, there were too many fights, and the staff picked favorites. You basically feel like nobody cares about you. In all my four years, no one staff member was ever friendly or polite to me, they spent all their time focusing on the bad kids and the kiss ups. I felt like you couldn't even look at someone in the wrong way or you'd get attacked/ accused of something. I'm glad it's over but I have to admit it was an experience. If anything, it was a struggle at best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2013

The school is very crowded; the hall traffic is problematic. Office staff is very irritated all the time. They pretty much forget you exist after about a second. Drug are very prevalent. Smoking is an issue. The people are often not very nice. Violence is high, particularly in the freshman class. Dropouts and class cutting are rampant. I hear about expulsion a lot. Heavy favoritism is played. I've never met a student who wasn't dissatisfied. Most of my teachers are good people and understand an have passion for their subject but are quite lousy at reiterating it to students. Overall, Edison high is unpleasant but not unbearable.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2011

Terrible school, no question about it. If you want your child to make it to a college other than Middlesex Community College, don't expect to get any help from anyone at Edison High. At best they can prepare you for a vocational school or a county college, if they try hard, which is rarely the case. From Principal to teachers to Guidance Staff, most of them are inapt at guiding parents and children through the college application process. They are not trained nor they care about Naviance and/or Common Application - the two essential tools used by most colleges today. We believe Edison High staff is stuck in 1960s. We support Gov Christy's efforts to curb these teacher unions that are destroying this town, state and country.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2010

EHS is a terrible school. Both my daughter and my son graduated from there. My daughter hated it there and now is happy in college. After my care free son was assaulted there as a Freshman he became not so nice and not so friendly any longer, can't blame him. The teachers at EHS are liars, inept, and uncaring for the most part. If your child is not the perfect "A" student All-American kid then your child will not do well there. EHS's office staff are crude and uncaring as well as most of the teachers and all of the coaches.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

The principal at this school is the worst principal ever, but besides that the teachers are amazing, and caring. I can pull out of my head a few teachers who are below average but for the most part the school is well maintained. There has been a lot of scandals that has made our school look bad in the community, however that is a result of having a crappy principal.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 31, 2010

the teachers are fun and nice to work with but 85% of the students at this school smoke and sell drugs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2010

this school is the best becuase it has caring teachers. the teachers actually treat u like they are there sons or daughter and not just like another student. the teachers are alway exciting. you may say our school may lack the academics. but do u no why we get all the ESL students and that is why parents think JP is a better students. well i love EDISON HIGH SCHOOL it is like a 2nd family to me. we may not be perfect well nothings perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 10, 2010

If you want to enroll a child for any fall sport or intense academics do not send them here. If you want your child to excell in the arts you send them here. Edison High has a stellar art department, Supurb Choir, Stunning Band, and a Broadway-esq Theater Productions.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

The teachers & the staff work with the parents through good & bad times!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2009

I am going into my senior year at EHS and honestly I am not thrilled with the school. The student body has a lot to be disired as they are rude and are prone to vandalize. The majority of the teachers are fine and a few are truly outstanding, while others I did not care for at all. The school's layout is okay and clean for the most part, but the bathrooms are horrible - the ones that are open. I am in choir and that is the only aspect of the school I really enjoy. If your student is not happy in EHS I would suggest taking up an extra carricular activity to smooth their high school experience out. It worked for me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 21, 2009

Sorry, but I was happy with the schools in Edison until I was forced to move out of state due to my job relocation. Guess what?! Not only are the schools better in my new state - but the staff and facilities are far beyond what I thought was possible. I can't believe the courses and options now available to my children - not to mention that my taxes are half of what they were in Edison. No unions to put up with and the bad teachers are weeded out!! Imagine that!! Just a side note -- our SAT scores and graduation rates are higher than Edison as well -- Move out now!! I'm still in shock at what my children now have available to them!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

A great divide at thsi school, the bad students can be some of the worst, but teh best students are among the best. The teachers are mostly good but it is teh school's infrastucture that is lacking, the school is way too overcrowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 16, 2008

this principal will make a definite positive influence on this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2008

With the new principal, the teachers, students and parents are commenting on the positive vibes everyone feels now. My honors students (son graduated 2008, and daughter to graduate 2010) both felt safe and comfortable all years. Anyone who says otherwise is just not used to the diverse population of the 5th largest city in NJ!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2008

this school my be fine for the average student; but if your child has special needs ti leaves a lot to be desired. All services required for yor child are are to get. you will need an advocate or perhaps a lawyer
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

As a coming senior in Edison High School, i witness everything first hand, and unlike all of the negative comments that have been posted on this board, i like this school. All of my previous teachers have been helpful, inspiring, and motivated to help students. It's not a perfect 10, but nothing is perfect. However our new principal, Mr. Mistretta, is by far the best principal i've met. He actually cares about the students, and tries to make our school a better place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2008

I am happy with EHS. My sophmore seems to be happy & has many nice friends. He is challenged by his teachers. I would like the teachers to be more thoughtful in their homework assignments. Over the spring break, my son had to read 3 chapters & outline them; and write about the chapters in a journal. He also was assigned math and social studies. It appeared to me that the work was given as something to do & not valued. To date he has not been given grades for any of the work. IMO homework should be a reflective piece to reinforce class lessons; not filler. I like the new principal & see he is trying to make improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2008

I would rate the school a 6 out of 10. The new principal is great, very approachable and cares about the children best interest. My daughter notices his dedication and it motivates her.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

477 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black90%
Asian96%
Hispanic92%
Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special education83%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students87%
Female88%
Male86%
Black73%
Asian96%
Hispanic84%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education47%
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant87%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

521 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students62%
Female62%
Male63%
Black47%
Asian77%
Hispanic49%
Pacific Islandern/a
White59%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Special education18%
General education71%
English language learners17%
Not migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former17%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

78%

SAT college ready

42%

Graduation rate

90%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 9%
Black 15% 16%
Hispanic 15% 22%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Charles Ross

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Boulevard of the Eagles
Edison, NJ 08817
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 650-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Timothy Christian School
Piscataway Township, NJ


Highland Park High School
Highland Park, NJ



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT