Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Edison, NJ
Students enrolled: 2,169
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J P Stevens High School 5

Posted April 06, 2015
- a community member
Overall a very competitive school. Great academics and high curriculum. Students excel in the maths and the sciences.

J P Stevens High School 1

Posted March 19, 2015
- a parent
My problem is they cater to certain kinds of students, if you are a blue ribbon school district then your concern should be the well being of ALL students not just the ones that are already equipped because the parents keep them in tutoring all year around. They are quick to classify the African american and Caucasian students. I don't agree with that, it appears that teaching is at a minimal and testing kids is at an all time high. They use all these test to justify why children are placed in the classes that they're in, SAD.


J P Stevens High School 1

Posted March 13, 2015
- a parent
This is the worse school in the area. Teachers do not want to put any effort on teaching , they simply want kids to learn by themselves by watching the videos or do it at home. This school is not meant for kids. Only robots or kids with supernatural powers can survive. Teachers do not follow the district rules. One of the math teacher at JP Stevens gave benchmark test to students even after the district delayed the test and it was not supposed to be taken on that day. The teachers are not at all helpful.

J P Stevens High School 3

Posted February 15, 2015
- a parent
The school is OK, though nowhere near what I had heard of. My assessment is that the students are responsible for the school reputation. Not the teachers, who seem to have imbibed the bad traits of old fashioned Indian schools without imbibing any of the care, attention and concern for students that a good teaching staff needs. My wife and I'd like to move away from this school district, but my son does not want to. If you are planning to overspend on a city with poor infrastructure only for this school, please don't.

J P Stevens High School 3

Posted December 25, 2014
- a parent
Be very careful of the area. Be careful of who you allow your child to be around. Do not feed into the stereotype that some people are better than others. Do not feed into that the people on the "hill" are all poor. Just focus on your studies and the clubs that the school has to offer and you will enjoy your 4 years at JP.


J P Stevens High School 4

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Only reason this school overcomes mediocrity is because very high parent involvement, due to largely asian enrollment. Teacher quality is awful, sometimes they are even harmful, and counter-productive. School counselling staff is extremely impersonal and discouraging. It was a mistake moving to N. Edison neighbourhood

J P Stevens High School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a student
I'm a senior at JP. Overall, the school is pretty good. Most of the teachers are pretty good and the administration is reasonable. The school feels overcrowded during passing time and class sizes are around 25. Students here are driven to qualify for a good college making the academics competitive. Our band is the best in the state and recognized nationally. Most of the students are Indian, though of varying background. There is a noticeable difference between those bussed in from hilltop and those living in new 3 car garage homes being dropped off in Porsche sedans. Most of the students are going to go to Rutgers, but there are some going to the Ivys.

J P Stevens High School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a student
The school provides ample oppurtunities for students who are willing to take advantage of them. The students are very college-oriented which creates a highly competative environment. Students are segregated by academic ability into levels 2 (regular), 1 (accelerated), and honors (AP classes). The level 2 classes are largely low-income students from subsidized housing and hilltop, while level 1 and honors classes have more affluent students. The school offers a variety of extracurriculars including a nationally recognized band, marching band, oddesy of the mind, model UN, and key club. It's volleyball, soccer, and tennis teams are among the best in the state, while the football team is one of the worst. There are more than a hundred AP scholars. Most of the students will go to Rutgers NB, while the top 50 students will be admitted to top 20 schools. The school is primarily asian and indian who focus on math and science. The school is fairly crowded and 7am traffic in the morning is aweful. Also, the school gives out more permits than there are parking spots, so parking can be tricky.


J P Stevens High School 5

Posted January 01, 2014
- a student
The school is extremely competitive and those who struggle academically or have special needs would be better served elsewhere. The student body, while diverse, is primarily comprised of Indians, with Asians and Jews in the minority. The students are hard-working and self-motivated. There are a lot of extracurricular activities offered. We have the best band in the state, and one of the best math teams in the country. There are tons of AP classes and students discuss SATs/College incessantly. Some of the faculty is top-notch while others are simply waiting to retire and tell us they get paid whether we learn or not. With over 2000 students in a building designed for half that many, classes sometimes feel overcrowded. The top 10% of the class go to the Ivy's. About 1/2 of the senior class goes to Rutgers New Brunswick.

J P Stevens High School 3

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
I am planning to move this school area, so i want the eye on the activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J P Stevens High School
855 Grove Avenue, Edison, NJ  08817
(732) 452-2800
Last modified J P Stevens High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J P Stevens High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 61 reviews. Top