Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public
Edison, NJ

4 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


56 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J P Stevens High School 4

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
Only reason this school overcomes mediocrity is because very high parent involvement, due to largely asian enrollment. Teacher quality is awful, sometimes they are even harmful, and counter-productive. School counselling staff is extremely impersonal and discouraging. It was a mistake moving to N. Edison neighbourhood

J P Stevens High School 4

Posted April 08, 2014
- a student
I'm a senior at JP. Overall, the school is pretty good. Most of the teachers are pretty good and the administration is reasonable. The school feels overcrowded during passing time and class sizes are around 25. Students here are driven to qualify for a good college making the academics competitive. Our band is the best in the state and recognized nationally. Most of the students are Indian, though of varying background. There is a noticeable difference between those bussed in from hilltop and those living in new 3 car garage homes being dropped off in Porsche sedans. Most of the students are going to go to Rutgers, but there are some going to the Ivys.


J P Stevens High School 5

Posted March 08, 2014
- a student
The school provides ample oppurtunities for students who are willing to take advantage of them. The students are very college-oriented which creates a highly competative environment. Students are segregated by academic ability into levels 2 (regular), 1 (accelerated), and honors (AP classes). The level 2 classes are largely low-income students from subsidized housing and hilltop, while level 1 and honors classes have more affluent students. The school offers a variety of extracurriculars including a nationally recognized band, marching band, oddesy of the mind, model UN, and key club. It's volleyball, soccer, and tennis teams are among the best in the state, while the football team is one of the worst. There are more than a hundred AP scholars. Most of the students will go to Rutgers NB, while the top 50 students will be admitted to top 20 schools. The school is primarily asian and indian who focus on math and science. The school is fairly crowded and 7am traffic in the morning is aweful. Also, the school gives out more permits than there are parking spots, so parking can be tricky.

J P Stevens High School 5

Posted January 01, 2014
- a student
The school is extremely competitive and those who struggle academically or have special needs would be better served elsewhere. The student body, while diverse, is primarily comprised of Indians, with Asians and Jews in the minority. The students are hard-working and self-motivated. There are a lot of extracurricular activities offered. We have the best band in the state, and one of the best math teams in the country. There are tons of AP classes and students discuss SATs/College incessantly. Some of the faculty is top-notch while others are simply waiting to retire and tell us they get paid whether we learn or not. With over 2000 students in a building designed for half that many, classes sometimes feel overcrowded. The top 10% of the class go to the Ivy's. About 1/2 of the senior class goes to Rutgers New Brunswick.

J P Stevens High School 3

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
I am planning to move this school area, so i want the eye on the activities.


J P Stevens High School 3

Posted June 10, 2013
- a student
JP is at best a mixed bag. Make no doubt about it, there are plenty of positives for this school. Many teachers are driven and the student body is extremely dedicated towards achieving a successful graduation and a successful career. However there are multiple issues here. First, for every 1 good teacher i get, there are at least 2-3 others that I don't show as much respect, typically since they are out to punish, not teach students. Second, the building is over 50 years old, and the school is handling over twice the capacity of students. Third, the school administration is not the best out there, typically bearing a short fuse for minor academic/disciplinary violations. Fourth, just like many other schools, this school doesnt seem to teach morals. Rather than accentuating integrity, grace, and a sense of righteousness, its all about embracing change. Its all about satisfying selfish motives, creating a world in which YOU are comfortable in. Again, make no doubt about it, this is a much better school than any others in the region. However, don't become infatuated with it. This school doesnt replace proper parenting and moral upbringings.

J P Stevens High School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a student
Faculty was very engaging and interested in students' well being. They made the course curriculum relevant and interesting. In addition, the extracurricular activities were very fulfilling and well-managed.

J P Stevens High School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a student
School faculty was very much interested in students' well-being. They made the course curriculum relevant and engaging. Extracurricular activities were fulfilling and well-managed. Equipment used in music, arts, sports and science classes were current to the course curriculum.


J P Stevens High School 5

Posted April 12, 2012
- a student
John.P. Stevens is one of the most diverse school maybe in entire NJ. This is my last year at JP and I have never witnessed any race issues over here. We have one of the best teachers who actually care about students rather then crying for salary or complaining about other teachers. I won't be exaggerating even if I say we HAVE COLLEGE LEVEL TEACHERS. High school is once in a lifetime experience. I am glad the I am a part of one of the best school in NJ as per Washington post.

J P Stevens High School 5

Posted April 17, 2011
- a parent
Parents need to become more involved if they are concerned about where their taxes are going. It's hard to stay competitive when the school budget gets voted down year after year. JPS is an excellent school with some of the best teachers in the area and they manage to not only stay competetive but to lead the pack. If you're not willing to be a partner in your child's education, then you shouldn't complain.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J P Stevens High School
855 Grove Avenue, Edison, NJ  08817
(732) 452-2800
Last modified J P Stevens High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
J P Stevens High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. Top