Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Menlo Park Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 806 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 30, 2013

My daughter went for K in Mrs. Seamster class. Thanks for making school fun and my daughter is in first right now in Ms Hoffman class and my daughter simply LOVES school. On weekend she says I cannot wait for Monday to come. The curriculum is awesome and mathematics and reading comprehension. She will look for math puzzles in everything she will do in home. LOVE the school and principal is always there, and excellent communication between prent and school. Keep up the good work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2013

As a Parent, I can't be happier to see my dotr progress by leaps and bounds. She started from K and now is in the 5th grade! Amazing, excellent and all the best key words go to this school. My dotr was luck to have very good teachers like Ms Moretti, Ms Lechelt, Ms Meiramma. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

Excellent !!! Excellent !!! Excellent..... Nice teachers, good principal, good facilities.... My kid simply love the school and so I am.... Thanks to all the staff of the school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2012

3 years in this school and very happy with quality of teachers and board as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2011

I am so proud that my kids (currently in 2nd and 5th grade) are part of the Menlo Park Family. The Principal and the teachers take extra efforts in helping the kids grow in a safe and nurtured environment. The new teachers coming on board are very tech savvy and it will ultimately help the kids in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2011

Menlo park is awesome ! Mrs. Guarnieri, Mrs Goldstein and Brazer are amazing. I am so proud to be part of this school. These teachers are so engaging and committed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2011

My daughter went to 2nd grade here, she had ms Lacasto and Ms Osinky and they were good.Of the 2, Ms lascto was excellent, ms Osinky needs a little more practice academically, else no one can beat her, caring wise. I wanted to know if anyone had any experience with Ms Giuffrida. Anythng one her is gud.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

This is such a great school academically. My child continues to flourish. Great teachers/mentors. The only problem is the physical facilities- the school can really use a new state of the art gym, a cafeteria. computer room with adeqaute number of computers and better outdoor landscaping including playground(s) and parking for parents/visitors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2010

my son started KG here, this is the best school. he loves his class. Ms. Kohut is the best of the best.. god bless her for giving such a great foundation to these kids. my rating will be 10/10
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2009

My child started her KG year in this school. I was worried like all other parents but was really happy after few weeks of her starting there. She has now finished her Grade -1; both the years passed so quickly as she had lot to learn. She enjoyed her school as her teachers were great. Also the principal of school is a warm lady who is so involved in school activites. My 2nd child will be starting her KG next year & i know she will be in good hands.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 25, 2009

I have 2 kids in Menlo Park, kindergarten and 2nd grade. They thrive at school and I personally find the academic level very good. The kids are nice and well behaved, the teachers are very competent and those my children had and currently have clearly love their students and their job. Lat but not least, Ms. Cotoia, is a wonderful principal, very involved, approchable and efficient.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2008

I loved Menlo Park School! When I was in Menlo I was a safety partol and it was awesome! My favorite teacher would probably be a tie between Ms. Feldman( or Zlotnick her maiden name) and Ms. Meirama. They are soooooo cool! I was so lucky to have them. Right now my sister is in there and she loves being a safety patrol just like me. Her post is a kindergarden classroom and she always tells me about them. I loved Menlo and I always will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 13, 2008

I have two children at Menlo. I couldn't be happier for my children. It's a very 'family-oriented' school. I think the principal does a great job running the school. My daughter is in Ms. Taylor's class this year. I am so thrilled for my daughter. Ms. Taylor is wonderful. She is great with the children. My daughter is having a great year so far. She has blossomed so much in the few months that she's been in her class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2008

The principal is terrific. very accomodating, smiling and very approachable. Teachers are very active, innovative and very encouraging just like their principal. My children were transferees and I noticed that they leap a lot on their education. i was so amaze by their transformation in just a few months to be with this school. Im so grateful to them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2007

Both my children are enrolled in Menlo Park Elementary School. Teachers encourage the kids to do their best. Ms. Taylor is the best first grade teacher. On the first day of school my daughter came home and said that my teacher is the best because she listens. I was surprised and happy that she got a good teacher. All the teachers in Menlo Park School is very good and encourage kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2007

School is overcrowded. Poor teacher/student focus. Individual children's needs are not met.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2006

High academic standards Music, art and sports programs are good Parent involvement is high
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

my son enjoys the special ed programs the school has to offer and has benefitted tremendously from the knowledgeable teachers.Regular and extra curricular activities are among the better ones the other schools in the district have to offer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2005

Both my children are enrolled in Menlo Park Elementary School. The school has integral approach and some of the activites are not found in the same district area. Each child is encouraged to do their personal best. The teachers are highly skilled and work hard to bring out the best in each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2005

The school has gotten terribly overcrowded,and there is extremely limited parent participation, especially from the more diverse ethnic groups at the school, who actually make up the majority of the school population.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

144 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students88%
Female97%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special education36%
General education92%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students91%
Female95%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Special education36%
General education97%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students86%
Female89%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students90%
Female88%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant90%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students95%
Female97%
Male92%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
White100%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged97%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant95%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students82%
Female89%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian86%
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant82%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Blackn/a
Asian96%
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Special education85%
General education99%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian 67% 9%
White 22% 52%
Hispanic 6% 22%
Black 5% 16%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

155 Monroe Avenue
Edison, NJ 08820
Website: Click here
Phone: (732) 452-2910

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






A B Z Academy
Metuchen, NJ


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT