Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ardena Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded | 435 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 24, 2013

We have two kids in Ardena. This is a wonderful school. Principal, Dr. Pennell, runs the school very well. All of my kids' teachers are great too, and they truly care about the students. In recent years, I see that the school has begun to adopt a couple of teaching principles, including "Seven Habits" and "The Leader in Me". Rather than just being lip service, these programs are instilled into our kids' study habits and daily lives. As parents, we are also reinforcing them at home. I truly believe that they will help our kids to do well and strive for greatness in the long run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2012

I've been working for Howell Township Schools for 12 years. During those 12 years I've worked in 7 of the districts 13 schools. Of all the schools I've worked at, Ardena School is by far the best! It is the best because the staff & administrative leadership truly care about the kids. Ardena staff members go above & beyond the call of duty, and their hard work shows. I only wish my kids went here!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 16, 2011

Class size is a joke, with all the taxes we pay. They ask for grants for the fluff stuff. How about asking for grants to hire other teachers and reduce administration. All the talk about tests interferes with real instruction. Even the kids notice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2011

There have been many changes in this school over the past year. All for the worst! It was once a great school and family oriented. Unfortunately, the budget cuts made class sizes larger and 1/3 of the lower grades will need an interpetor in order to teach causing the majority of student to lack an education at all. I would choose a private school if you are districted to go here.


Posted October 28, 2010

It is the best. There is a caring staff of great educators. The children that come out of that school have a reputation of being great students as they move on to middle school -- from the respect that they carry for others to the way that they approach their school work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2010

I love that Ardena teaches children about the importance of character in addition to academics. Our children need both to be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

My son transferred from another school to Ardena. We were concerned about the transition; Dr Pennell personally gave my son and I a tour of the school while it was in session so he could see the other children. She asked him what he was thinking during the tour and addressed his questions;his mind was put at ease. The other teachers were all supportive to his adjustment and communicated with me regularly throughout the school year with his progress. He said he liked Ardena more than his other school. The children at Ardena look out for the "new" kids, show them around school. He was so pleased too when he was invited to sit at a lunch table with his classmates. He said it made him feel welcomed. My questions were welcomed always--and there were many. He had a wonderful 3 years at Ardena.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2010

I have two children in Ardena and love it. All the staff are warm and friendly, my daughters love the family atmosphere, and I am thrilled with the quality of education they are receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2010

Teacher and Staff are rude, Principal doesn't care what the parents have to say
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2004

Ardena school is wonderful! This is my son's first year at Ardena and within a few months has made great strides! All of the teachers and staff are available to talk with the parents and work with the students at any time. This school really cares!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

I thought Ardena school was outstanding. The principal Ms. Lee was excellant. My daughter did extremely well and this school provided her with a great foundation.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

59 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students78%
Female80%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant78%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students93%
Female95%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
General education98%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant93%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students73%
Female84%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special education47%
General education83%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant73%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students85%
Female81%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education64%
General education91%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant85%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students98%
Female97%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White98%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education93%
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant98%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students76%
Female80%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
General education88%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students92%
Female87%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
General education100%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant92%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Below Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 51%
Hispanic 19% 22%
Black 8% 16%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr Deborah Pennell

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

355 Adelphia Road
Farmingdale, NJ 07727
Phone: (732) 751-2485

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Adelphia School
Freehold, NJ







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT