Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hackensack High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1740 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 31, 2013

Good teachers but terrible learning environment. The administration will push sports programs as the way to bigger and better; but, every kid is not an athlete nor wants to be. There's a big achievement gap going on at this school and folks need to pay attention to what's going on at this school. The general level classes are just mediocre so the only way to go would be the honors track. Provide your kid with enough resources even if you have to pay out-of-pocket to keep your child way above the average student at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2013

Two years ago I moved from New York City to Hacensack NJ and I couldn't have made a better choice..Excellent school, I am extremely grateful for all the team that works hard to bring the best to each student, Teachers, Counselors, Principals ,School Aides are always willing to help in the progress of each student.. both of my daughters have received much benefit with the After School Program , I am very grateful for all the support received, I have no complaint of Hackensack High School , and I think this is without a doubt the best High School in Bergen County.. !! Thank You !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2012

Hackensack is a generally great school as long as you long as you take advantage of the AP courses. Overall the CP (college prep) classes are jokes.The school offers and array of activities and sports which are always fun to join
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2012

Great school - Great teachers - kids well prepared for future endeavors. Both our sons graduated, went to college into honors programs and are doing extremely well. Hackensack, with its diversity, prepares kids for the real world. If you can't stomach what that entails, send your kids elsewhere and pay for it. Quite honestly, we don't need them or the criticism from whiny parents!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2012

This school desperately needs an overhaul immediately. My child was told due to a "re-organization" the current Freshman & Sophomore students are not required to take Physics as a graduation requirement. What kind of school is this? Most colleges want to see that students have taken Biology, Chemistry and Physics. When these students start applying to colleges they are going to find out that they need Physics and it will be too late and they will have to take it in college. This school doesn't prepare students for college. If it did, this school wouldn't be a "C" average school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

I think whoever said "if your child is an chiever this is the wrong school"- is definitely incorrect. I graduated with almost a 4.0, but this can be credited to students in my grade that were very competitive with grades and we all pushed eachother to do well. This school was absolutely amazing to go to. I couldn't have been more prepared for college and the diversity taught me a lot as well. I think that there are discipline problems in every school, Paramus, Ridgewood, etc., you just don't hear about them because their problems are kept under the radar. I think it is important to think before you judge, because this was a fantastic school to go to with absolutely wonderful teachers who I still keep in touch with to this day. I graduated college this May with a 3.9, after being well prepared from going to school at Hackensack High School. I am so thankful for the wonderful guidance counselors, and my experience at Hackensack High School.


Posted June 28, 2011

Hackensack High School is very diverse. The teachers are all one of a kind, very focused on the education of their students and provide individual support where needed. The School has a large array of social clubs as well as sports activities. There is a Fitness Center, Olympic Sized Pool, at least 3 gyms, one Football field, multiple baseball/soccer/field hockey fields, and a tennis court. The guidance counsellors are very dedicated and work with students to develop their futures. There is also a drop-in center for students who may need someone to talk to about personal concerns, or anything they want to discuss. There are many honors and AP courses provided to stimulate the minds of students.


Posted October 12, 2010

I love Hackensack high school for its diversity and great teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

The school, overall, is not environmentally safe for me. I can't really complete the given tasks due to the way the other students behave. Dicipline should be enforced. The teachers are good at teaching. In general the school is unsatisfactory for me, I might actually go to a different one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2009

Hackensack High School is a great school is very diverse, with a very good AP classes,more than 50 clubs great sports program HHS also have a pool, a lot of sports football, tennis, XC, swing etc. Remember any school need the parent's participation, overrall great, great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2009

Hackensack High School is diverse, and full of bright kids who are going to make a great difference in the world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter is getting a great education! We represent 52 different countries in our school. We are very diverse and proud of it! We offer many AP classes and have a lot of AP students! I could go on & on!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

Love this school Over 100 clubs Over 100 Ethinicities If you want to learn, the sky's the limit


Posted September 27, 2007

The school has one of the most complete offerings and facilities in New Jersey. If you work with your child and take the responsibility of a parent, they will receive an excellent education. The school has many honors and AP programs that tend to weed out the less serious parents/students. In summary, if you want your child to receive an excellent education with motivated peers, this school has what it takes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2007

This school needs to make serious changes. There are too many stuents here that dont care about school. The teachers dont care about the students. They need more guidance so they can succeed in the future.


Posted July 24, 2007

It is a great school and as long as you are motivated you can learn a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2006

Excellent school with excellent facilities with highly trained and motivated staff who care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 3, 2006

My daughter is a 9th grader at the school. So far I am very impressed with all of there programs. As with any school, you get out of it what you put into it. The school has alot to offer a child. They must be willing to take advantage of everything it has to offer. The sports program is good, but it can be hard for an incoming 9th grader to adjust to the new school and the sport.Both can be very demanding. We will see how it goes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

i think that this school can improve in so many ways. this school needs to improve in academics this school does have more then 60 clubs which is a good thing. parent involvement is very poor. just an fyi HACKENSACK is better than teaneck!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 5, 2006

Good help for students with disabilities of all sorts, but needs more teacher/consultants who can handle mainstream students. Teacher consultants need to learn and understand all learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
81%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black86%
Asian95%
Hispanic82%
Pacific Islandern/a
White96%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education53%
General education98%
English language learners29%
Not migrant88%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former29%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students77%
Female77%
Male76%
Black69%
Asian95%
Hispanic73%
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education14%
General education93%
English language learners14%
Not migrant77%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former14%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students67%
Female67%
Male68%
Black63%
Asian85%
Hispanic55%
Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education71%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

College readiness rating 20132What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

SAT participation

69%

SAT college ready

25%

Graduation rate

88%


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on composite SAT scores, ACT/SAT participation, and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 22%
Black 29% 16%
White 23% 51%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

First & Beech Streets
Hackensack, NJ 07601
Phone: (201) 646-7900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Bergen Academies
Hackensack, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT