Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hillside High School

Public | 9-12 | 840 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2013

In a very bad area. No diversity. Parents are seldom involved. Staffing isn't great. Would never put my kids in here. Constant fights breaking out. Bullying is a major issue here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2012

contu...... Its for the students so they can be in a comfortable learning environment. Its all about the students. Were here to learn. They dont care because they already went to school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2009

It's a wonderful school that gets you ready for your future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2008

I am a student at hillside high school. Im known there as Mr. Hillside or Mr. School sprit. I love this school it is great! We have your hard classes and easy classes it's like any normal high schol
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 16, 2007

hillside high isn't a bad school. one thing is that we need some more parent evolvement. The new principle is nice she isn't that controlling like other principles she give you a chance to voice your opinion. I'm only a freshman but I think that shes going to make this school a batter inviorment.I've meet a lot of people this school year and hope to meet more, if your a parent looking for a great school for your child then hillside high is a great school. For the students if your looking for a school where u get freedom and is basically allowed to do as you please then come to hillside high school
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2006

I am about to be a sophomore in September. I really do not think that this school is that bad. Ms. Raleigh, the new principal, is great. Since she's been here everybody has noticed the change in the students. Most of the students say that they can't stand her but they don't realize that she's doing it for there good. One thing that I do not like about the school is that it is falling apart. It really needs to be repainted and needs a lot of improvement, and they need to fix the air conditioning. Another thing that I do not like is that there aren't enough afterschool activities. We need more if we want to keep kids out of the streets. And last, we need more parent involvement. The like to complain about the school but yet they do nothing to help change it. Come to the meetings sometimes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2006

This school does not have enough activities for kids from my experience hopefully it will get better.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 27, 2006

this school is not a bad school its discipline is one of the best and so is safety if you want your child to become more prsentable this is the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 1, 2005

This school has many teachers that teach well, and there are many opportunities for a student to get a well-rounded education. However, the school itself is in bad condition. The paint is peeling and there are not enough resourses for the students, such as updated computers which require them. The building is basically falling apart.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2005

this school is a disapointment to getting an education. the classrooms are crowded and some teachers dont teach. at this school you have to work extra harder to get an A . on a scale of 1-10 this school is a 1 .
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2005

I am currently am a senior at Hillside High. Even though we have one of the best buildings in district it is falling a part. One day you have heat and the next you don't. Problems in the building go unfixed for years! The teachers do care about our future and education, even though most of the students don't. We don't have many after school programs, like other high schools. Our budget was passed last year after nearly 15 years of failing to to pass. The town is wasting the tax payers money.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 92% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

184 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students84%
Female86%
Male83%
Black85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special education41%
General education94%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant84%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former63%
Limited English Proficient Former82%

Math

All Students55%
Female50%
Male59%
Black53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
General education66%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former46%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the High School Proficiency Assessment (HSPA) to test students in grade 11 in language arts literacy and math. The HSPA is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. Students are required to pass the HSPA in order to graduate. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

196 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
21%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Students24%
Female21%
Male27%
Black23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
Pacific Islandern/a
White27%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantaged26%
Special educationn/a
General education29%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant24%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Former18%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 70% 16%
Hispanic 18% 22%
White 10% 52%
Asian 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A33%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1085 Liberty Ave
Hillside, NJ 07205
Phone: (908) 352-7664

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Benedictine Academy
Elizabeth, NJ






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT