Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12 & Ungraded
Public district
Jackson, NJ
Students enrolled: 1,762
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted May 25, 2014
- a parent
Both of my sons graduated from JMHS -- one in 2003 and the other 2007. I can say with certainty and from personal experience having interacted with their teachers and school staff that they truly care about the kids and their top priority is making sure they get a quality education and have a great experience in school that will prepare them for life. My sons are now both in grad school earning their PhD's in physics and math respectively and I have no doubt that the education they obtained at Jackson Memorial is in large part why they are such successful scholars and will go on to successful careers. Send your kids to this school if you can!

Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted June 24, 2013
- a parent
Well, as much as I hate to admit it (since I graduated from here in 1980 and never thought I would have my children go to this school), I am very pleased with JMHS. The teachers are engaged and there is little that is not offered to the students if they so choose. My daughter hates school, but she hates all school and the fact is she comes home smiling in spite of "hating it." The music department is exceptional, the art department is absolutely first class and neither would be if the teachers were not exceptional. I don't care about sports as much as the arts and JMHS certainly offers exceptional arts to those who are interested. Mainstream and Special Ed both have some fabulous teachers and the support is always there, without exception, for me. Ms. Jardot is the best-best-best math teacher! We have moved around extensively and have been in more schools than I can count or prefer to admit. JMHS has its problems but nothing out of the ordinary. Besides, just this year alone there are two students with PERFECT SAT scores- so truly, this has to be an excellent school, because that type of record does not "just happen."


Jackson Memorial High School 4

Posted July 17, 2011
- a parent
The majority of the teachers my sons had for their 4 years in school really cared about the kids and motivated them to learn. I also think the arts programs are great. I had one son in drama and one in marching band and both programs were outstanding, with exceptional parental involvement.

Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted January 01, 2009
- a student
I'm a Junior at Memorial now and it's a great school. The teachers as well as the principal and all the vice principals are great! The principal is always at school events and is a constant presence in the hallways during the the day. It seems he makes a point to be a part of all the students educations. The vice principals are the same. The teachers are always willing to help students and stay after. The sports programs are great as well as the extra-curricular activites. Since the other High School opened about four years ago the population of the school has gone down considerably, which makes going to classes so much easier!! JMHS is a wonderful school and I'm proud to be a player on two of the school's teams as well as a student!

Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted December 13, 2008
- a parent
Jackson Memorial H.S. is one of the best schools in Ocean County. The principal has a presence in the school throughout the day as he makes a point to be seen by the students when the classes are changing, at extracurricular activities such as football games, volleyball games, the play - everything. The kids love him and he loves them. The teachers are great also. They are around for extra help should the kids need it, they're involved in clubs, sports, etc. as well as the charity events that are constantly occurring at the school at any given time. The athletic department is top-notch and the kids are awesome! The kids are conscientious about their studies and are involved in all aspects of school life. It's a wonderful school and I'll be sad when my daughter graduates in 2010.


Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted April 04, 2008
- a parent
School is not crowded anymore because of the new school on the other side of town. Athletics is great, academics are above average, and the safety is not an issue anymore due to new security systems, and higher expectattions.

Jackson Memorial High School 3

Posted January 21, 2007
- a student
The school offers some great courses, but it is definitely overcrowded. Most of the teachers are excellent. There have been problems regarding saftey because of ongoing construction recently.

Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted May 25, 2006
- a student
This school is average with overall scores but i can honestly reccommend it.


Jackson Memorial High School 5

Posted May 08, 2006
- a student
Hello, i'm a junior here at jackson memorial HS, ive been in this school for 3 years, and over the years there has been an over population, but it isn't that bad, its not as bad as people say it is! Its a good school, i definately reccomend this school for anyone moving here, and this over population will end in sept. 2006 when the new high school is open(Jackson Liberty HS).

Jackson Memorial High School 4

Posted January 03, 2006
- a parent
Jackson Memorial High School is part of a very good school district. It is very overcrowded, but a new high school opening in Sept. 06 will alleviate that problem. They offer an honors program as well as many extracuricular and sports activities. School spirit is high. I am of the strong belief that if you take an active role in your child's education they'll will do well anywhere as long as there is opportunity and JMHS offers a quality education for those children who seek it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jackson Memorial High School
101 Don Connor Blvd, Jackson, NJ  08527
(732) 833-4670
Last modified Jackson Memorial High School is a Public school. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jackson Memorial High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top