Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Switlik Elementary School

Public | K-5 & ungraded

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

42 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2013

Both of my children are excelling in all subjects at Switlik. I've been lucky enough to be a class mom & in the PTN so I'm in the school on a frequent basis. It's evident that the teachers enjoy working there. The principal & asst. principal are easy to talk to if/when needed. So glad I moved near this school before I had my kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2010

Why are the little children - K and 1st graders in trailers? Why are the test scores for Switlik one of the lowest in all of Ocean County if the school is so 'great'?? I am zoned for this school and refuse to send my kids here until I hear about actual improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2010

Three of children attended Switlik Elementary and they had a great learning experience there. The teachers and staff were amazing.


Posted April 29, 2010

My 2 boys go to switlik and we love the teachers and the programs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

We love Switlik because the teachers not only teach our children but they nuture them as well providing them with the tools to become successful students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

Switlik has encouraged children to learn and they have succeeded. My nephews are at the top of their classes and enjoy school because of Switlik. They definately deserve the Kudos and the money to continue helping children broaden their education with their skills in teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love everything about Switlik, from the teachers and staff to the great education my daughter recieves!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Switlik is a wonderful school. The teachers and staff are caring and always looking out for our kids. You feel welcome and part of a family with Switlik.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Switlik is a great place to work every day. The staff is hard-working and dedicated, which shows as you walk through our building and peek in the classrooms. We do the best we can to make our students feel welcome and supported on a daily basis. Only the best is wanted for them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

I love the teachers at Switlik. They time and effort they put into to not only teaching our children, but being a part of their lives is very rewarding for our children. It is like an extended family at this school and I know my son flurishes in this atmospher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Switlik's administrators, teachers and support staff work together as a cohesive unit always striving toward the goal of 'excellence in education.' As a result of their dedication and a caring, loving atmosphere they provide our children with the foundation necessary to face life's challenges and responsibilities and better prepare them for their roles as the future leaders of this nation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Switlik may be an old school but it's one of the most spirit-oriented schools in town with character, charm, warmth and a caring staff. I've been at this school for over 10 years with three children and am sorry to have to say good-bye this June with my youngest graduating. Having served on its PTN for five years, I have grown especially attached to the students and staff at this special school. I will miss Switlik, its wonderful staff and all the great memories.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

The teachers and staff at Switlik school care about our children and their education. We're an older school with years of experience, go Switlik!!


Posted April 26, 2010

Switlik Elem School is a home away from home for me, and I am sure for staff and students too! There is a true sense of family. The staff is dedicated to helping each and every student that walks through the doors everyday! I am so grateful that I am apart of the Switlik family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It's the best place to work - the staff and students are the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Although the school is old and has had little cosmetic improvements over the years the staff and the children who go there work well together and everyone is very accepting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Switlik is a wonderful school with warm caring teachers/support staff who go above and beyond their job descriptions.


Posted April 26, 2010

Switlik teachers and staff are the best! Students are the first priority and are being given an excellent education at Switlik. There is a lot of parent involvement and an excellent PTN!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

the teachers and staff are awesome!!! amy slusak
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Switlik Elementary School is a school made up of terrific teachers, kind administrators, amazing parents, and outstanding children. It is a community that works together and makes our state a better place to live in.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

146 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students63%
Female72%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Special educationn/a
General education68%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant63%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Special education65%
General education78%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant76%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students67%
Female74%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Special education44%
General education70%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant67%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Special education94%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students96%
Female94%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White97%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Non-economically disadvantaged98%
Special education94%
General education96%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant96%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students62%
Female69%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Special education31%
General education69%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant62%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students83%
Female87%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White87%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Special education55%
General education90%
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrant83%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 58% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
General educationn/a
English language learnersn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) to assess students in Biology. The New Jersey Biology Competency Test (NJBCT) is standards-based, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 51%
Black 6% 16%
Hispanic 3% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 9%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 West Veterans Highway
Jackson, NJ 08527
Phone: (732) 833-4650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT