Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Jersey City, NJ

5 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Dominic Academy 1

Posted September 04, 2014
- a teacher
All this school wants is money they don't want what's best for your daughter. It isn't worth sending your kid there. All the teachers except maybe 3 are nasty and the administration is so disrespectful. I wouldn't waist my money.

St Dominic Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2014
- a parent
The decision to send my daughter to my Alma Mater, SDA , was one of the best decisions I have ever made. The high standard of education that my daughter receives by far surpasses the education offered at prestigious Bergen County catholic high schools. It's cultural diversity and Jersey City location prepares the girls for the real world experiences they will encounter by exposing them to so many different cultures. Anyone looking for a catholic high school for their daughter should definitely put SDA on the top of their list.


St Dominic Academy 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Decision to register my daughter as a freshman in SDA is the best. Decision we took. Teachers are wonderful. Also the mixed culture helps students to know each other very well. My daughter loves it so far and looking forward to see her growing wonderfully with SDA.

St Dominic Academy 3

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
Thrilled when my daughter entered freshman year. Not so much in her sophmore year for many reasons to list here.

St Dominic Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 23, 2009
- a community member
SDA has a tough curriculum that is hard to rival. It is also a place to build confidence and character. p.s. The uniforms were cute too.


St Dominic Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
I felt like it was my family! You cannot say about every other school!

St Dominic Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a parent
Saint Dominic Academy, empowering women for leadership since 1878, is a rare school. It is an all girls college prep high school that is centrally located in the urban city of Jersey City, NJ. The girls that make up the student body at SDA are as diverse as the city that surround the school. It is a Catholic high school with a multicultural view on teaching. I have never known a school that offers such a variety of activities for its students. The school itself lacks the ground and a gym but their students have never had to go with out. It is one of the few all girl academies left in Hudson County, and it survives through the help of its loyal Alumni. All who attend hold great pride in being known as a SDA girl. Saint Dominic Aceademy has an award winning glee club which performs regularly at Carnegie Hall, their dance team places at national levels, and their softball team, along with their track and swim team are county champions. As part of their graduation requirement, SDA students also volunteer in their community. This is rare school in a sometimes troubled city. You only need to look at the school's great Alumni support to see the great impact this Academy has on its students. I would only hope that when my daughter is ready for high school I will be able to send her to my Alma Mater, Saint Dominic Academy.

St Dominic Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.


St Dominic Academy 5

Posted September 21, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

St Dominic Academy 0
no rating

Posted September 21, 2009
- a community member
St. Dominic Academy prepares young ladies into women ready to take on any challenge they are faced with; academically or in life. The sense of family makes all current students and alumna proud to be SDA women.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Dominic Academy
2572 John F Kennedy Boulevard West, Jersey City, NJ  07304
(201) 434-5938
Last modified St Dominic Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
St Dominic Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top