Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Joseph Elementary School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Jersey City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $235,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,130.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

My daughter is going to this school and it is her first year. The school seem to be pretty good and school staff caring. I find pastor pretty hard to deal with. The office does not seem to listen to your concerns and all they concern is the money. If not to that I would have given this school a 4 star. They are kind of forcing the people to use the online system to pay for the tuition but if you look at the company to which you have to provide your bank information, you would not feel very comfortable. If it is bank to bank transfer then I would not mind. Here we have to go to a 3rd party which is run from a suite somewhere in NJ and provide them your bank account number and routing number along with other personal stuffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2012

Finishing up the above review - watch the kids leave the school at the end of the day. Then pick a random Jersey City public school and watch those kids get let out at the end of the day. You'll see the by product of the fact that the school teachers values as well as academics. And it's not just catholic parents sending children to the school. The values and attention your child gets at a school like this appeals to people from all backgrounds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Hello, I have two children in this school. One has attended St Joseph's since 2005 and the other since 2007. I am very happy with this school. First, let me say that the other parents are very involved and participate in the activities, meetings, and trips and concerts. They are of diverse cultures and professions. Lawyers, teachers, police officers, librarians, accountants... The type of people you can have inteligent conversations with! The non-professionals are very nice too. We all have something in common. We have our children in this school because it is meeting their needs to become productive, and caring individuals of society. The school is pretty old but that is something I can overlook...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

My daughter is enrolled at St Joseph's and she doing very well. I think we made a great choice. The calsses are small, and the diversity is a plus. We are glad our child has a chance to interact with many different cultures. We also like the way the parents are involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

St.Joseph is a safe and great school to send your children. The teachers are very caring and attentive with their students. Any problems the teachers are there to help the students and parents to solve the problem. The front doors of the school are alway locked. There are cameras in front of the building. Smaller class for each grade so the teachers can give their uninveted attention to each students. One class room per each grade, starting pre-k 3 to 8th grade. St. Joseph is a great school, I highly recommend it. If you want your children to get a better education, then St.Joseph is the way to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2008

This has been an absolutely wonderful school for my daughter. The small classes, attentive teachers and wonderful staff has made the transition from her daycare since birth; very easy and mostly comforting. The moment I attended the open school forum, I knew that this was the school for my daughter. I would receommend it over and over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

hello my son used to go to this school and I had to take him out of there they are no good please don't send your kids to St Joseph elementary school they only worried about the money the principal is no leadership and the teachers don't teach the kid right they just send them home with homework and never went over the work that they are doing. so please don't send your kids to that school
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 29% 20%
Asian 27% 8%
White 21% 52%
Black 17% 19%
Two or more races 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Newark
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

509 Pavonia Ave
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Phone: (201) 653-0128

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT