Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jotham W. Wakeman No. 6 Elementary School

Public | PK-5 & ungraded | 7 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2014

Had our child attend since Prek This is a great school used to be the best elementary public school in Jersey City! They have a honors class style program that starts at grade 3 and its plenty of work teachers are hard working and caring towards the children and their academic progress.We hope to see better things at PS 6.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2014

My kid attended Pre-K at this school, This school is good for PRE- K. Teachers are good, I notice my kid pick up good vocabulary, and positive thinking, developed attitude of respecting teachers and elders. Every day she admired her teachers. I noticed that the parent involvement is limited, they should have shared the ongoing activities and children feed back more frequently. A Monthly email notification of ongoing and future activities is what I would expect to as a parent. Other wise this is good and safe for Pre-K kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

I am glad to be parent of PS 6 school student. The students are growing in all areas. Teachers are excellent in bringing the kids up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

I'm not sure if i can rate the school but I can tell you that the my initial greeting was one of frustration. I was turned away and advised to come back at another time to register my child. they were rude and provided no help for those parents who so needed a better explanation or were unaware of this schools particular registration policies which differ from those listed on the board of ed handout. I've not heard from the principle's both were to busy to take my call--but I know one thing. My daughter deserves an education and I deserve to be treated with respect and if that means taking time to explain yourself a million times then thats what you do. No wonder our public schools are in so much trouble they treat their communities with a lack of respect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2007

the school has many actvities but yet it is not as strong in education ever scienec mr messano left
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2007

I agree with the person who posted the comment dated March 2007. The school has gone down in quality ever since Mr. Messano left. The new principal speaks to parents in a condescending tone, like we were children. He does not have my respect. The 6th grade teachers that my son has are leaving the students confused and not giving them any sort of guidance. I need to sit with my son to try and figure out what the assignments are. I am very disappointed this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2007

This school has gone down tremendously. The principal was changed, some teachers have been changed, the new middle school was not opened as promised and consequently it's not the same school it was in 2005. The teachers appear to be stressed and overloaded working int he conditions they are forced to work under. The conferences are now very limited in time and subject matter. My child definitely has not progressed. For classified students, the child study team is non-existent and the administration lies about services it claims to be providing when in fact they are constantly being caught not providing that which the I.E.P.'s mandate. It is now a real struggle to get them to do what they are supposed to do. It is disconcerting as a parent to be lied to by those to whom you entrust your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2006

J.W.Wakeman is great school! My child has been going to this school since the kindergarten.Now she is graduating next year.I am very happy I entered her in this school in the first place.There are so many activities.There are casper programs for little kids,and for the older ones they provide 21 century programs wre they have basketball,arts and crafts,computer classes,homework help,and also areobic classes.Choirs,band, and etc.If your child needs more help, they get the help they need! There is no need to worry about how your child is doing. There are inclusion teachers.There are parent teacher only meeting were parent can get the opprotunity to get to know there childs teachers more. Not only that wakeman school is very involved in there students education, but it is very safe! There are security cameras everywhere it needs to be! There are enough security guards to watch the student. This a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2006

The good news is that many of the teachers are themselves parents and bring some sensitivity to the need to deal with children a certain way. Also, there are some teachers who care about the level of curricular challenge they offer the students. Unfortunately, without an aggressive effort to seek them out (through referrals and such), you may find your child in a fruitless classroom. Students in grades 6-8 are in most trouble (like in many schools), and due to overcrowding and few options, the outlook isn't great for their high school preparedness.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2005

I am a graduate of number six and I truly loved it there. the teachers are great and its just great. my education received has helped me tremendously in high school and continues to. my teachers have helped me overcome my weakness and strengthened my strengths.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 13, 2004

J.W.Wakeman is one of the best kept secrets in Jersey City. The Principal and the teachers are outstanding. In all the years that my sons have been there, I have not encountered a problem that was too great to solve. The teachers and even the school nurse are so very caring and understanding. My son who is graduating this June 2004 has come a long way since Pre-k days and is taking his greatest memories from this school. Keep up the good work and thank you. (Special thanks to Math teacher Mrs.Breyer and Language Arts teacher Mrs.Ulivella. Many thanks to all of the teachers, Principal and Vice Principal with out you our school would not be a success.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 66% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
49%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 59% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 90% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

The state average for Language Arts Literacy was 61% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
47%
Math

The state average for Math was 80% in 2013.

99 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
77%
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students58%
Female61%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asian74%
Hispanic55%
Pacific Islandern/a
White35%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education14%
General education67%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant58%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students71%
Female72%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Hispanic68%
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Special education14%
General education84%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant71%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former36%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students55%
Female62%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asian66%
Hispanic50%
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Special educationn/a
General education60%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant55%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female84%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Hispanic87%
White77%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Science

All Students91%
Female94%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian94%
Hispanic89%
White85%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant91%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former100%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

Language Arts Literacy

All Students44%
Female62%
Male33%
Black39%
Asian67%
Hispanic35%
White46%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special educationn/a
General education52%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant44%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Formern/a
Limited English Proficient Formern/a

Math

All Students86%
Female92%
Male82%
Black85%
Asian100%
Hispanic80%
White82%
Other ethnicityn/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
General education93%
English language learnersn/a
Not migrant86%
Limited English Proficient Current Plus Former73%
Limited English Proficient Formern/a
Scale: % at or above proficient

About the tests


In 2012-2013 New Jersey used the New Jersey Assessment of Skills and Knowledge (NJ ASK) to test students in grades 3 through 8 in language arts literacy and math, and in grades 4 and 8 in science. The NJ ASK is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Jersey. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the New Jersey Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Jersey Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

25%
of schools in the state are Below average
48%
of schools in the state are Average
26%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20131What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20132What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 NJ ASK, HSPA, and/or NJBCT results from the New Jersey Department of Education.

2 This rating is based on 2012-13 Median Growth Percentiles in math and reading from from the New Jersey Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 50% 22%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 30% 9%
Black 10% 16%
White 8% 51%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 81%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Nicholas Capodice

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 St Pauls Ave
Jersey City, NJ 07306
Phone: (201) 714-4310

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St.Nicholas School
Jersey City, NJ




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT